Elizabeth B. (ebowen) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 47 - Page:
Administrative Office Management
Administrative Office Management
Author: B. Lewis Keeling, Norman F. Kallaus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/19/2014


This ISBN is the workbook - 0538722347.

This is NOT the textbook in a paperback binding.


American History on the Screen: A Teachers Resource Book on Film and Video
Review Date: 4/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book provides an in-depth look at one film for each period of American history.

The part that I like best is that it also provides a list of other movies set in the time period if you are not able to get the movie that they focus on.

They did provide a blank sheet for analyzing a movie on your own and included a glossary of movie terms that I didn't know. That was nice.

I would have rated it higher if they would have gone into more detail on the "other movie" list. If they could have given one or two pages to each of about 3-4 movies and let me pick and choose (even if I choose to do them all!), rather than dedicate several pages to one movie that I might not want to use or might not be able to get.


Anchor: A Handbook of Classroom Ideas to Motivate the Teaching of Intermediate Language Arts
Review Date: 7/13/2011


This small book has 7 sections(number of ideas):
Play with Words(45),
Word Analysis (with 3 subsections: Phonics(13), Spelling(8), Word Structure(9)),
Dictionary Skills(8),
Word Meanings(32),
Word Usage(10),
Word Puzzles and Brain Teasers(49), and
Activities for Special Needs(17).

Each idea gives a grade or span of grades for which it would be acceptable. Many of these ideas could be converted quickly and easily to a homemade worksheet, game, or bulletin board.

Cover says The SPICE Series.

Although there are few or no pictures, this would be a good book to use instead of The Mailbox Magazine.


Baby Bears and How They Grow (Books for Young Explorers)
Baby Bears and How They Grow (Books for Young Explorers)
Author: Jane Heath Buxton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/14/2008


32 pictures. Lots of photos. National Geographic Society


Better Reading and Spelling Through Phonics
Better Reading and Spelling Through Phonics
Author: Bernard and Smith, Eunice Moura
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/17/2008


28 pages just PACKED with ideas on word attack skills, spelling, and building vocabulary.


Cars the Old Classics
Cars the Old Classics
Author: Andrew Whyte
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/25/2011


Great coffee-table book that is thin enough (80 pages) to pick up and look at, but still packed with cool pictures of old cars! Great for a coffee table where a guy lives! Or cut out some of the pictures to stick in frames to make a wall collage!


Childrens Rooms
Childrens Rooms
Author: Sunset Books, Sunset Magazine Book
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/14/2008


Children's Rooms & Play Yards. Lots of pictures of great dream-rooms. Some tips and ideas.


Christmas: Activities for the Primary Grades (Teachers' Holiday Helpers)
Review Date: 10/16/2011


Christmas- Activities for the Primary Grades
Teachers' Holiday Helpers

Reproducible activities: Write to Santa, etc. All with a Christmas Theme.


Classroom Strategies for Interactive Learning
Review Date: 4/26/2009


I can't tell you how nice this book lays things out for you.

There are blank forms of the Graphic organizers in the back, but he also shows the organizers in use, so you can get kind of a "feel" for where you are supposed to put what.

I have seen Graphic organizer books that don't tell you when and where to use the things. This book gives you plenty of ideas!

In addition to the Graphic Organizers, he also gives you other teaching ideas. These can really keep your classes from becoming dull!!

This is a good addition to the bookshelf of any teacher or homeschooling mom.


Cricket's Cookery
Cricket's Cookery
Author: Pauline Watson
Book Type: Library Binding
  ?
Review Date: 8/1/2008


Contents include:
Tools of the Trade - What's Cooking - Disappearing Toast - Scrambled Eggs - Roly-Poly Pancakeds - Friendship Soup - Dumpty Deviled Eggs - Ya-Hoo Salad - Oh, Banana Bread! - Absent-Minded Pudding - Harvest Corn - Baked Potatoes - Grand Slam Chicken - Yankee Doodle Noodles - Bravo Bean Bake - Mighty Meatballs - Yum-Yum Stew - Tuna Pea Pie - Nutty Chocolate Cookies - Gold Star Oatmeal Cookies - Oh, My Darling Sugar Cookies - Sugar Crumb Pies - Apple Doodle - Rainy Day Popcorn - Celery Snack - Party Sandwiches - Merry Holiday Berries - Celebration Punch.

Many recipes' directions are written to music (common tunes - Oh Susanna, Alouette, Take Me Out to the Ballgame, I've Been Working On the Railroad, etc.) which is kind of cute & fun.


Cricket's Cookery
Cricket's Cookery
Author: Pauline Watson
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  ?
Review Date: 8/1/2008


Contents include:
Tools of the Trade - What's Cooking - Disappearing Toast - Scrambled Eggs - Roly-Poly Pancakeds - Friendship Soup - Dumpty Deviled Eggs - Ya-Hoo Salad - Oh, Banana Bread! - Absent-Minded Pudding - Harvest Corn - Baked Potatoes - Grand Slam Chicken - Yankee Doodle Noodles - Bravo Bean Bake - Mighty Meatballs - Yum-Yum Stew - Tuna Pea Pie - Nutty Chocolate Cookies - Gold Star Oatmeal Cookies - Oh, My Darling Sugar Cookies - Sugar Crumb Pies - Apple Doodle - Rainy Day Popcorn - Celery Snack - Party Sandwiches - Merry Holiday Berries - Celebration Punch.

Many recipes' directions are written to music (common tunes - Oh Susanna, Alouette, Take Me Out to the Ballgame, I've Been Working On the Railroad, etc.) which is kind of cute & fun.


A Day No Pigs Would Die
A Day No Pigs Would Die
Author: Robert Newton Peck
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/7/2008


Three tapes. Originally came with a "study guide" with vocabulary words, questions for thought.

Loved the book, loved having it read to us (me and the kids).


Edu-K for Kids
Edu-K for Kids
Author: Paul E. Dennison, Gail E. Dennison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/16/2011


I thought this book would help me help my child. It says: "The basic manual on Educational Kinesiology for parents and teachers of kids of all ages!" But I didn't find it easy to follow. It looks written by hand and from the child's view. There are some explanations interspersed into the text. The most useful part is in the back of the book with a list of what to do as a parent (or teacher), however, it is in "checklist" format, so sometimes you have to refer to other pages to "get" what you are supposed to do and they don't tell you what page to refer to. The useful part is the last 10-15 pages. 10 if you just want to know how to use it, 15 if you want to know why it works. I preferred the Orange Brain Gym book that also looks handwritten, but the diagrams and text are both together on the page.


The Everything Homeschooling Book
The Everything Homeschooling Book
Author: Sherri Linsenbach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/6/2008


Loaded with information. I had hoped for more ideas about record keeping, but there were some ideas and some of my questions were answered. I found some other useful ideas about organization, lesson plans, and field trips.


Exercises in English: Grade 8
Exercises in English: Grade 8
Author: Evelyn Rudolph, C.N. Hayes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/9/2008


Although the title includes "teacher's manual and answer book" this has the exercises for students. The answers are included on the first and last few pages. I think they intend for the teacher/parent to take the answers out and then have the student do the activities in the book. 64 pages


Exploring Cultures & Their Stories
Review Date: 3/11/2012


I found this to be useful. It says middle school and high school. I could see it used for younger kids if you read aloud or read together.

The cultures and their stories are:

Uganda - A Bride for a Hundred Cows

Bolivia - The Legend of Corn

Sri Lanka - The Jackal's Judgment

Korea - A Thirst for Knowledge

Bulgaria - Clever Peter and the Sultan

Germany - The Lorelei

Macedonia - Nasreddin Odjah's Clothes

This also has another few pages titled:
Exploring Many Cultures (Final Thoughts and Activities)


FAM FUN COOKBK              PB
FAM FUN COOKBK PB
Author: Cook Deanna F
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/18/2012


Family Fun Cookbook
250 Recipes
Pictures of most of the recipes (not all of the variations, though).

Table of Contents:
Getting Ready
Breakfast: Rise & Shine
Lunch Specials
After-School Snacks
Soup's On!
Breads We Love
Dinner's Ready
Side Dishes & Salads
Can I Have Dessert?
Home for the Holidays


The Family Manager
The Family Manager
Author: Kathy Peel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 7/6/2008


Time, food, finances, home/property, projects, kids, and more! I can't put all of the ideas in this book into use, but even adopting a few makes life run smoother. Having the lists that she has made available in her book means a few less lists I'd have to make on my own. This is one handy book!!


Frisky Phonics Fun 1 (Ga548)
Frisky Phonics Fun 1 (Ga548)
Author: B. Bachman
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 7/9/2008


Reproducible activities for reinforcing phonics for grades 1 - 3. Many have a "game like" quality that make the student want to "win" by completing the activity.


Grandmas Home Kitchen
Grandmas Home Kitchen
Author: Wanda Peterson Mango
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/24/2014


This book has recipes and little tidbits that make it interesting to read.

The recipes are mostly breads, pies, bars, etc. but there are some main dishes. (I count 25)

Each page has one recipe on it.

The table of contents:
Breads page 1
Salads and Other Family Favorites page 25
Main Dishes page 43
Desserts page 73

The Salads and Other.. includes coffee with an egg, pickles, jello salads, etc.

Very good book. I'm glad I found it.


1 to 20 of 47 - Page: