Sheila P. (Osprey) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The Adventure of the Speckled Band and other stories of Sherlock Holmes
Review Date: 10/25/2011


Classic Sherlock Holmes! I wasn't one who grew up reading Nancy Drew & The Hardy Boys, so this was a big step outside my usual reading - but I thoroughly enjoyed it! I have read other Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and I love his style!


Beyond the Highland Mist (Highlander, Bk 1)
Beyond the Highland Mist (Highlander, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 671
Review Date: 7/20/2009


This was a good summer read. Part of the series that I am working through, and have not been disappointed yet.


Charlie Bone and the Castle of Mirrors (Children of the Red King, Bk 4)
Review Date: 2/23/2010


Great Read - so involving that I didn't want to put it down until I was done with it.


Charlie Bone and the Invisible Boy (Children of the Red King, Bk 3)
Charlie Bone and the Invisible Boy (Children of the Red King, Bk 3)
Author: Jenny Nimmo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 3/15/2010


The story picks up and carries on right from where book two left off. Very entertaining and involving story that has kept my 11 year old glued to this series.


Charlie Bone and the Time Twister (Children of the Red King, Bk 2)
Charlie Bone and the Time Twister (Children of the Red King, Bk 2)
Author: Jenny Nimmo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 2/27/2010


Great follow up to book one. The story gets more involved and harder to put down. Love It!


Encyclopedia of Tropical Fishes: With Special Emphasis on Techniques of Breeding
Review Date: 12/20/2008


This is isvery in depth for the serious tropical fish hobbist. It goes into great detail on the perfect living habitat for breeding a variety of tropical fish.


Enid Blyton Bedtime Stories
Enid Blyton Bedtime Stories
Author: Enid Blyton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/20/2008


This is a great book to read to children at bedtime. It is a collection of short stories, most only a few pages long. Some of the stories are: The Bird and the Bun, The Sneezing Donkey, Mrs. Dilly's Duck and Off to the Moon!


Hot Wheels To the Extreme
Hot Wheels To the Extreme
Author: Benjamin Harper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/20/2008


This is a wonderful Level 1 reader book, especially if the reader is a Hot Wheels enthuist. Large print, bright colorful cars and trucks that will encourage a new reader to turn the page to read on.


H.R.H.: The Man Who Would be King
H.R.H.: The Man Who Would be King
Author: Tim Heald and Mayo Mohs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/2/2013


This is a revealing book about Prince Charles. There are many interviews with friends and other people that give good stories about who the MAN is rather than who the Prince is. It was interesting to the right reader who wants to know more about the Prince of Whales. There are also lots of photos throughout the book.


Lefties: The Origins and Consequences of Being Left-Handed
Lefties: The Origins and Consequences of Being Left-Handed
Author: Jack Fincher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/3/2011


Great gift book for the lefty in your life.


Mishmash and the Venus Flytrap
Mishmash and the Venus Flytrap
Author: Molly Cone, Leonard Shortall (Illustrator)
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/2/2013


This is a hardback book. As the owner of a Venus flytrap, Miss Patch becomes suspicious when her dog Mishmash disappears. Great to read to young children, or for established readers.


The Missing Chums (Hardy Boys, Book 4)
The Missing Chums (Hardy Boys, Book 4)
Author: Franklin W. Dixon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/2/2013


In typical Hardy Boys fashion Joe & Frank are now in their hometown and something is fishy! Great read for young boys who love mysteries.


Monsters and Oil Wells Don't Mix
Monsters and Oil Wells Don't Mix
Author: Wilma Pitchford Hays
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/2/2013


Lon's discovery of a large, mysterious footprint leads to a search for a monster as well as oil on his grandfather's property.
I read this when I was in elementary school and it must have been a good book for me to keep it all these years, but it's now time to clean house. This would be good to read to kids.


Off-Roading (Hot Wheels) (Scholastic Reader Lev 1)
Review Date: 12/20/2008


Great Level 1 reader book who enjoys Hot Wheels reading about off-road racing in mud, snow and sand. Bright pictures, large print and a good story line will keep you beginner reader turning the pages.


On The Road (Scholastic Reader Level 1)
On The Road (Scholastic Reader Level 1)
Author: Nick Page, Wade Cooper
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/20/2008


Bright, colorful pages and pictures that simply explain all types of vehicles you find on the road. Easy to read text with a question and answer section in the back, along with "key words" and "useful words" pages for the new readers.


Pooh's wake-up song (Disney's Winnie the Pooh)
Pooh's wake-up song (Disney's Winnie the Pooh)
Author: Isabel Gaines
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/20/2008


This is a good book for first readers to read on their own. It has beautifully illistrated pictures of Pooh in the 100 Acre Woods on Pooh's morning routine. If you have a Pooh fan, this is one they will enjoy.


Pop-Up Nature Wild Animals
Pop-Up Nature Wild Animals
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/25/2013


A pop-up informational book full of danger and surprises. What is it like to be hunted by Nature's most ruthlessly efficient killers? What makes a successful predator so deadly? This pop-up experience puts you right in the action as you learn how top predators use their awesome skills to seek out and surprise their prey. Ingenious paper engineering and vivid artwork bring raw nature to life for young readers. Enter if you dare!


Prisoners at the Kitchen Table
Prisoners at the Kitchen Table
Author: Barbara Holland
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/2/2013


Two friends, one confident and the other timid, find their positions reversed when they must plot to escape kidnappers.
This is a "moral to the story" book about being kidnapped and how these kids were tricked by the kidnappers and how they escaped.


The Rescue
The Rescue
Author: Mary Cunningham
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/2/2013


Two friends, one confident and the other timid, find their positions reversed when they must plot to escape kidnappers.


Sleeping With the Fishes (Fred the Mermaid, Bk 1)
Sleeping With the Fishes (Fred the Mermaid, Bk 1)
Author: MaryJanice Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 657
Review Date: 9/14/2013


This was my first read from MaryJanice Davidson and I liked it. It was exactly what I thought it would be - a light, easy read. I read the whole book over the weekend by the pool/beach.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: