Sandra E. (Sandia) - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
Cut Throat
Cut Throat
Author: Lyndon Stacey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/14/2009


I'm a longtime Dick Francis fan and had read that this author is one of those vying for his reading audience. I enjoyed the book, though it was a little wordy for my taste, but well plotted. I'm hoping the author's later books (this is her first) will be a little more tightly edited. I'm looking forward to reading more from her.


The Cutting Season: A Novel
The Cutting Season: A Novel
Author: Attica Locke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/29/2016


This book started slowly and didn't build my interest. At about a third of the way through it, I found myself wishing it had been better edited, wondering if the author purposely chose certain words and if she couldn't have done better. I just lost interest, despite the very good reviews.


The Girl on the Train: A Novel
The Girl on the Train: A Novel
Author: Paula Hawkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 433
Review Date: 9/20/2015
Helpful Score: 11


What a waste of time! The premise of this book was intriguing, but the plot was unbelievable, repetitive and tedious. There wasn't a likable character, and they all became more unlikable as the story went on. And on. I actually finished it, but it was not worth the effort.


Gone Girl
Gone Girl
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 755
Review Date: 5/4/2013


I didn't really like this book, but I'm giving it three stars because the author did a brilliant job of creating and building suspense, the density of detail making a very complex plot and the unexpected twists and turns all too believable. And I thought the ending was pitch-perfect, allowing the reader to understand that the misery and psychological manipulation would endure for these unredeemed characters, no doubt with many more twists and turns. But the characters were so unlikable and the plot as a whole so unsavory that I wanted to take a shower after reading it!


Mad River Road
Mad River Road
Author: Joy Fielding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 11/29/2009


This was one of the most maddening books I've ever read - I won't read another by this author, though I'd previously read three or four of hers. Completely implausible plot, unbelievable characters... it just got stupider and stupider the further I got into the book. Don't waste your time.


Mad River Road
Mad River Road
Author: Joy Fielding
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 6/18/2009


I'd enjoyed a couple of this author's books, but will not read any again after reading Mad River Road - an absolutely ridiculous plot and the characters traipse into one stupid situation after another. A total waste of time.


The Watchman (Joe Pike, Bk 1)
The Watchman (Joe Pike, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Crais
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 4/30/2009
Helpful Score: 4


An excellent job of balancing suspense with intriguing peeks into Pike's past, peeling some of the layers of mystery away from this enigmatic character. Great action, balanced with tenderness. I've enjoyed the author's Elvis Cole series, and look forward to many more Joe Pike novels.


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 4722
Review Date: 6/25/2011


This book was well-written, but I wish I hadn't wasted my time on it. I've never liked circuses, but read it because of all the hype. It sure reinforced my childhood impressions of desperate people and poorly-treated animals. I have certainly kept thinking about it since I finished it, and unfortunately what sticks with me are the instances of cruelty to both animals and people.


1 to 8 of 8