Abi D. (abilee30) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
Armies of Pestilence: The Impact of Disease on History
Armies of Pestilence: The Impact of Disease on History
Author: R. S. Bray
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/28/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I really wanted to like this book... but I found it very dry and overly factual(more a spewing of facts, rather than recreating them to tell a story.


Baby Not on Board: A Celebration of Life Without Kids
Baby Not on Board: A Celebration of Life Without Kids
Author: Jennifer L. Shawne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Wicked cute and funny. Much lighter than the reading material I've had lately.


The Bean Trees
The Bean Trees
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 518
Review Date: 8/3/2007


Fantastic!


Big Big Love: A Sourcebook on Sex for People of Size and Those Who Love Them
Review Date: 8/13/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Super fantastic book. There is a true vaccume of books for plus sized people who want to feel sexual and be recognized as sexual beings. Just because your fat doesn't mean you are not worth loving or being sexual.

This book deals with self imaging, the "de-fettishing" of people who desire plus size lovers, self love, sexual health and sexual positioning for couples. Written for all types of lovers; straight, gay, transgendered, etc.


The Catcher in the Rye
The Catcher in the Rye
Author: J. D. Salinger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1930
Review Date: 8/28/2007


Utter crud... end of story.


The Count of Monte Cristo
The Count of Monte Cristo
Author: Alexandre Dumas, Robin Buss (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 8/28/2007


Great book, and although so much longer, the unabridged version is so much more detailed and worth the read. I would say one of my top 5 books of all time.


Cut the Clutter and Stow the Stuff : The Q.U.I.C.K. Way to Bring Lasting Order to Household Chaos
Review Date: 8/28/2007
Helpful Score: 3


So far, so good. Very practical and breaks it down based on the type of organizer/disorganizer you are.


Eleanor of Aquitaine : A Life
Eleanor of Aquitaine : A Life
Author: Alison Weir
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Very engaging, however the book is more about the actions surrounding her. Not too suprising though, as there is so little known about her. I love this author, and I find her books to be well researched.


Freedom from Tyranny of the Urgent
Freedom from Tyranny of the Urgent
Author: Charles E. Hummel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was a life changing book for me. I used this as my catchphrase for years and it really did help with prioritzation at work and at home. I also felt this helped me more than the "don't sweat the small stuff" books, because sometimes the small stuff is urgent.


Henry VIII : The King and His Court
Henry VIII : The King and His Court
Author: Alison Weir
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I love this author, and I find her books to be well researched. Her writing is very engaging.


Holy Blood, Holy Grail
Holy Blood, Holy Grail
Author: Richard Leigh, Michael Baigent, Henry Lincoln
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 8/6/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Although there are some paralells in this and Dan Brown's book, their take is TOTALLY different. There are some things that make you think, "hummm, interesting thought". Then, some of it seems just pulled out of thin air- the "man when they do math 2+2 must equal 5, because this doesn't make sense".

Sadly, it was very dryly written and way too verbose.


How to Be Organized in Spite of Yourself: Time and Space Management That Works With Your Personal Style
Review Date: 8/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I liked how it broke down different organizational styles and providing advice based on those styles. However, the few tips seemed overly simplistic or things that seemed way too complicated to put into practice.


I Never Promised You a Rose Garden
I Never Promised You a Rose Garden
Author: Joanne Greenberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 7/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Really good book, you can really relate to the main character. One of the earlier, more descriptive books about mental illness and mental hospitals.


Jane Eyre (World's Classics)
Jane Eyre (World's Classics)
Author: Charlotte Bronte
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 7/26/2007


I read this at least once a year. FANTASTIC!


The Jesus I Never Knew
The Jesus I Never Knew
Author: Philip Yancey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/26/2007


Great book for all people who want a pragmatist view of Jesus.


Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right
Review Date: 7/26/2007


Meh. Some funny parts, but it moved too slowly to keep my attention.


The Life of Elizabeth I
The Life of Elizabeth I
Author: Alison Weir
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I love this author, and I find her books to be well researched. Her writing is very engaging.


Little Women (Children's Classics)
Little Women (Children's Classics)
Author: Louisa May Alcott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/26/2007


Ever girl should read this, but more in the late teens. A classic for good reason!


Looking For Mr. Right
Looking For Mr. Right
Author: Bradley Trevor Greive
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/6/2007


Cute! A friend of mine got this for me after a particularly bad rant. No solutions or anything, just cute pictures...


My Cousin Rachel
My Cousin Rachel
Author: Daphne DuMaurier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/26/2007


This author is INCREDIBLE... Also pretty easy to read.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: