Reviews - Andrea B. (AndreaB)

1 to 20 of 43 - Page:
$100 to $1,000 Makeovers : Maximizing Your Decorating Dollars (Trading Spaces)
Review Date: 10/9/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Great low-cost solutions for complete home makeover, room-by-room. Lots of useful descriptions, observations & details."


Alias Grace
Alias Grace
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 10/7/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"If you like Margaret Atwood, you'll love this book. Especially unique."


The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
Author: Michael Chabon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 405
Review Date: 12/2/2006
15 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Now that I've finally read Kavalier & Clay, I'm astonished that it took me three tries to make it past the first few chapters. Press on, dear readers! This book is one of the most rewarding reads of the year for me. The characters are fascinating. And the story is part adventure, part historical fiction, part love story...and every twist and turn made me want to read more. Truly one of those books that I was sad to finish."


Art of Client Service
Art of Client Service
Author: Solomon Robert
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/7/2006


"A great guide for advertising & marketing professionals, filled with interesting observations and compelling suggestions for being a more effective leader."


Bikram's Beginning Yoga Class
Bikram's Beginning Yoga Class
Author: Biswanath, Bonnie Jones Reynolds, Bikram Choudhury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/7/2006


"An indispensable book for anyone interested in Bikram Yoga. Helps understand all the postures and how to improve."


The Brand Gap: How to Bridge the Distance Between Business Strategy and Design
Review Date: 11/7/2006


"A must for any professional who is involved with branding or repositioning a company or product."


By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept
By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept
Author: Paulo Coelho, Alan R. Clarke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/7/2006


"A very spiritual novel. Pilar, a young scholar feeling hopeless and worn down by life, is contacted by a childhood friend--who is now a charismatic spiritual leader. What follows is a moving story about the unfolding of their relationship, and the impact it has on Pilar. A delightful book."


Camp & Trails Cooking Techniques/a Treasury of Skills and Recipes for All Outdoor Chefs
Review Date: 3/3/2007


"From the back cover: The spirit of lore-filled, old time camp cookbooks has been combined with new ideas on equipment and healthier food to make this the most comprehensive camp cookbook available. It is packed with information, philosophy, recipes, illustrations and stories along with a good dose of humor. More than 180 recipes, from old favorites such as sourdough pancakes and campfire chili with rice, to vegetarian dinners."


Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 509
Review Date: 12/2/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book kept my attention, but didn't live up to my expectation. Because it revolves around three different story lines, I found it hard to really associate with any of the characters--at times, I found it hard to keep track of who's who. But, the end is creepy, and it's a quick read. If I had read it every day, I might not have found it quite as disjointed as it seemed. My review is atypical--everyone raves about it; so take it with a grain of salt!"


Clear Your Clutter With Feng Shui
Clear Your Clutter With Feng Shui
Author: Karen Kingston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 10/9/2006
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A small book that packs a lot of great information on how to create a better living space; provides insight on how feng shui can have far-reaching effects on your mental, emotional & spiritual state."


The Confessions of Max Tivoli
The Confessions of Max Tivoli
Author: Andrew Sean Greer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 6/30/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"One of the most moving books I've read in ages. It seemed too unbelievable at first. But then by the end of the first short section, I was drawn in and spent each day looking forward to getting back to the story. Tremendously romantic in the strangest of ways. The parallels to real life are many and deep--very thought provoking. Highly recommend."


The End Of Alice
The End Of Alice
Author: A. M. Homes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 10/7/2006
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A timely novel; shocking and unnerving, yet thoroughly engaging."


Find It Fast 5th Edition : How to Uncover Expert Information on Any Subject Online or in Print (Harper Resource Book.)
Review Date: 10/10/2006


"A bit dated, but gives lots of ideas on ways to use the internet."


First, Break All the Rules: What the World's Greatest Managers Do Differently
Review Date: 11/7/2006


"There are vital performance and career lessons here for managers at every level, and, best of all, the book shows them how to apply them to your own situation."


Gone for Good
Gone for Good
Author: Mark Childress
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/7/2006


"From the cover: Wondrously imaginative...brimming with magic and mystery...a modern-day fable with echoes of Alice in Wonderland, The Little Prince, Peter Pan, and The Wizard of Oz. A terrific summer read; meaty enough to make you think, but breezy enough to consumer with almost effortless delight."


How to Master the Art of Selling
How to Master the Art of Selling
Author: Tom Hopkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/10/2006


"Classis sales & motivational book."


How to Select Winning Stocks
How to Select Winning Stocks
Author: Paul Larson, Inc. Morningstar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/3/2007


"The trusted source Morningstar has published a series of books on the fundamentals of investing in the stock market...this is the second in the series after "How to Get Started". Complete with worksheets and detailed instruction, this book is an excellent guide."


Identity
Identity
Author: Milan Kundera
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 10/7/2006


"A thought provoking and highly engaging book about relationships. A quick read, but big in scope."


If You Want to Write: A Book About Art, Independence and Spirit
If You Want to Write: A Book About Art, Independence and Spirit
Author: Brenda Ueland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/7/2006


"As much a book about living as about writing; it seeks to help people find their creative center. Carl Sandburg calls it "the best book ever written about how to write". Thoroughly enjoyable."


In the Gloaming : Stories
In the Gloaming : Stories
Author: Alice Elliott Dark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/7/2006


"A gem, especially the best known story "In the Gloaming" as featured in The New Yorker"


1 to 20 of 43 - Page: