Reviews - DARRELL S. (darrellsnodgrass)

1 to 20 of 68 - Page:
10,000 Dreams Interpreted or What's in a Dream
10,000 Dreams Interpreted or What's in a Dream
Author: Gustavus Hindman Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/20/2008


"I loved this book from my teen years. Just a fun way to see what your dreams mean. Because the book was written in the late 19th century, there are some subjects not covered so it can be annoying. Overall, its very fun."


After the Quake : Stories (Vintage International)
After the Quake : Stories (Vintage International)
Author: Haruki Murakami
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 9/9/2008


"This was a very quick read. I liked the six short stories, but I wish the character profiles would have come together better in the end. I think Murakami leaves reader's hanging and wondering the point of the back stories of the main characters."


The Amateur Marriage
The Amateur Marriage
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/6/2008


"Very good book about a marriage over many years."


As I Lay Dying
As I Lay Dying
Author: William Faulkner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 8/31/2008


"It was a good read overall but a little challenging understanding Faulkner's writing style. The main characters were so annoying with apologies and weaknesses. I wanted them to have a stronger backbone."


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 366
Review Date: 8/20/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Very very good. It had a great story line and came full circle at the end."


The Bartender's Guide
The Bartender's Guide
Author: Peter Bohrmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/20/2008


"This book is very eclectic. Some old and new recipes. It needed more traditional drinks and less of the exotic ingredients."


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: James Patterson, Peter De Jonge
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 740
Review Date: 9/6/2008


"Excellent quick read with a great twist towards the end."


The Black Dahlia
The Black Dahlia
Author: James Ellroy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 8/21/2008


"The Black Dahlia was a very good read but parts were gory and horrific. The first part was hard to get into without having knowledge of boxing terms. Also, later in the book a lot of police lingo and codes were thrown around, with meanings that needed to be explained. It was a great book overall and inspiration to pursue the truth."


Blindness
Blindness
Author: Jose Saramago, Giovanni Pontiero (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 8/21/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is one of my favorite books. It took me a few tries to get into the story because the style is very different. The most striking characteristic is that none of the characters have names. They are identfied by their titles such as 'The Doctor' and 'The Doctor's Wife'. This was a very dark pessimistic tale but with a great ending. Some scenes were so horrific that I had to read on just to see the purpose of them. Utter chaos and confusion were two very good motivaters for finding out what happens at the end."


Chalktown
Chalktown
Author: Melinda Haynes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 9/6/2008


"Another excellent book from Haynes. She made the character's pain seem so real. The characters also worked very well together in bringing out each others weaknesses and strong points."


A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1893
Review Date: 8/22/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is a very sad but true story of a child's path into foster care. Overall, it was a great insight, but I question some of the 'memories' and how accurate they are. As well as some of the adult reactions to certain events. Was it really their reactions or the author's childish view on their reactions? Some of the memories and events I took with a grain of salt."


The Cider House Rules
The Cider House Rules
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 486
Review Date: 9/9/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Great book. The movie did a good job at highlighting the important parts of the book."


Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 1414
Review Date: 8/31/2008


"I loved Confessions so much. It's a fresh and new way to look at the Cinderella tale."


Cry to Heaven
Cry to Heaven
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 8/20/2008


"This is by far my favorite Anne Rice book. The seduction of the main character is similar to the vampire seductions. The way Europe and the time period was described was like being right there with the eunichs. Great read."


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 8/31/2008


"I loved every page of the book. The secret societies and codes were what made it so fascinating."


Daughter of Fortune
Daughter of Fortune
Author: Isabel Allende
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 346
Review Date: 8/31/2008


"Excellent family saga story line. The ending pleasantly suprised me on how loose ends came together."


The Devil and Miss Prym : A Novel of Temptation
The Devil and Miss Prym : A Novel of Temptation
Author: Paulo Coelho
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/10/2008


"Excellent story with some great twists and great ending."


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 9/10/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I liked the premise of the book, but at times the story was hard to get into. I had to restart the book a few times because I wasn't sure where it was going so I put it down for awhile and then came back to it."


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 850
Review Date: 8/21/2008


"This was a good quick read about a girl who sold herself short but eventually came around. I liked the book overall, easy to read and identify with the narrator."


East of Eden
East of Eden
Author: John Steinbeck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 435
Review Date: 8/21/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is a great saga. I could feel the characters successes and failures as if I were in the family. Overall, it was a great book that I didn't want to put down until I finished it."


1 to 20 of 68 - Page: