Diana V. (ezrinjaz) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
The Autobiography of Santa Claus
The Autobiography of Santa Claus
Author: Jeff Guinn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/12/2007


This is such a delightful book! I'm not a big Christmas fanatic, but I do think I may make a tradition of reading this book each December. It is a very fun, heartwarming story.


Bankruptcy 1995: The Coming Collapse of America and How to Stop It
Review Date: 11/25/2008


If you are curious about how we got into the current economic crisis (as of Nov 2008) this book is still contains relevant information about what we are facing and how we got into this mess. I definitely recommend it.


Comfort Food
Comfort Food
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 8/15/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I have a rule to give any book a chance by reading the first 100 pages. While I loved "Friday Night Knitting Club", I hated the first 100 pages "Comfort Food". It was painful to read for several reasons: it's cliché, slow paced, poor character development, and oh, did I mention cliché? I was bored and rolling my eyes from page 1 to 100. I really don't recommend this book unless you just want some generic brain candy.


The Dangerous Husband
The Dangerous Husband
Author: Jane Shapiro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/4/2007
Helpful Score: 3


The level of vocabulary that Shapiro chose to use in this book makes her come across as pompous and arrogant. She reminds me of Carolyn Gebhart in high school who was always trying to impress everyone with her extensive vocabulary in an effort to raise awareness that she was better than everyone else. In addition, I did not find any part of the book humorous. Shapiro attempted witty conversation, yet the dialogue of the book bored me almost to tears.


Eat, Pray, Love (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Eat, Pray, Love (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Elizabeth Gilbert
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 7/4/2007


This is such a wonderful book, read by Gilbert herself. I have found myself laughing out loud and crying during my listen.


Everyone Worth Knowing
Everyone Worth Knowing
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 241
Review Date: 8/8/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is a very cute, light read. If you love romance novels, you'll probably love this delightful piece of chic lit. Perfect for the beach or vacation.


Generation T : 108 Ways to Transform a T-Shirt
Generation T : 108 Ways to Transform a T-Shirt
Author: Megan Nicolay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 8/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Has some great ideas on ways to ramp up your old tees as tops, skirts, accessories. Not a lot of sewing skill needed for the projects. Definitely recommend it.


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2851
Review Date: 6/8/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book. I'm a huge Weiner fan, and for a debut novel for any author her talent for writing shines through. Weiner does a wonderful job of taking you into the mind of a larger girl and makes you laugh all the way through. It is definitely an escapist book with a little substance.


Review Date: 12/30/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I love this book! I ordered a copy about a year ago, have been trying the remedies and have not been let down yet. For example, I am easily susceptible to bronchitis that tends to last at least 6 months and becomes severe with no help from pharmaceuticals which just quit working over the years due to over-medication. Dr. Duke suggests honeysuckle tea and says it's been used in China for centuries, so I ordered some (from teacuppa.com) and it works! Within 3 days of drinking 2-3 cups a day I notice a significant improvement each time I use it. If I take at the first sign of minor bronchial irritation, the irritation is completely gone within 3 days; however, with a more serious bought of chest congestion due to a head cold, it's not gone after 3 days but I'm not hacking up a lung either like I normally would.


In Her Shoes
In Her Shoes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1110
Review Date: 6/8/2007
Helpful Score: 9


This is my favorite book. Weiner is a very talented writer. She does a wonderful job of paralleling the characters, using symbolism, and delving into the female psyche all while maintaining an uncanny sense of humor.


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 808
Review Date: 7/5/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is a wonderful story and a fast read. Can be slightly disturbing for anyone who is sensitive to sexual assault. I highly recommend this book.


Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1394
Review Date: 6/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This was such a fun read. After reading this book a little black lab pup was dumped on the dirt road next to my house. While he's not quite the hellian that Marley is, they do share a lot of the same characteristics. They are just too much fun!!! I highly recommend this for a light, fun, fast read.


My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands
My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 731
Review Date: 7/22/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I have to say I'm very disappointed in this book. I didn't find it funny at all. If Chelsea was a witty writer then it would have potential to be great but it reads like she believes that just because she put it down on paper it's going to be funny. I also don't find her funny on TV either. Now I do find Laurie Notaro hilarious. I highly recommend anything written by her.


The Odyssey
The Odyssey
Author: Homer, Robert Fagles (Translator), Bernard Knox (Introduction)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 7/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is a wonderful translation of a classic. It was easy to read, and I fell in love with the story. If you need to read this, I highly recommend this version.


Sex and the City
Sex and the City
Author: Candace Bushnell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 281
Review Date: 6/8/2007
Helpful Score: 3


While Candace Bushnell's other novels were readable, I had a hard time with this one. I found it rather boring and shallow, more so than her other books.


Shopgirl (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Shopgirl (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Author: Steve Martin
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I love this audio book. It's a type of depressing story with a happy ending. As I write this I've been suffering a bought of depression for a while, and this was a perfect compliment to my mood. I was able to wallow in my depression, while feel a little uplifted when it ended. It's a short listen at 3 1/2 hours.


Shopgirl (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Shopgirl (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Steve Martin
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/16/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I love this audio book. It's a type of depressing story with a happy ending. As I write this I've been suffering a bought of depression for a while, and this was a perfect compliment to my mood. I was able to wallow in my depression, while feel a little uplifted when it ended. It's a short listen at 3 1/2 hours.


The Smart One and the Pretty One
The Smart One and the Pretty One
Author: Claire LaZebnik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 5/3/2009


Perfect mindless read for traveling or a night in. Jessica W's review sums up the book: stereotypical characters, almost predictable plot, not a great novel but enough to capture attention.


The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5256
Review Date: 4/7/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is such an amazing story! I laughed, I cried, I wanted to go jump my husband. I have never read a book that is such an emotional roller coaster. Niffenegger is truly a very gifted writer. Make sure you have a box of tissues handy when you read this book (I didn't and my t-shirt is soaked with tears!!!).


The Wisdom of Little Women
The Wisdom of Little Women
Author: Louisa May Alcott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/10/2007


This is such a wonderful collection of inspirational quotes from one of the greatest American authors. Thank you, Isabel!


1 to 20 of 20