Kathy J. (KathyJ) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 61 - Page:
America's Best-Loved Community Recipes, Volume 2 (Better Homes and Gardens)
Review Date: 11/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a huge book! Very nicely done. Each recipe has a photo of the completed dish and 1-3 smaller photos showing different steps. As the title suggests, each recipe was selected from cookbooks published by churches, Junior Leagues and other philanthropic organizations; commonly known as community cookbooks.
Each recipe has earned the BHG Test Kitchen Seal of Approval by meeting its high standards for quality and flavor. The contributor's name, organization, city and state are given along with either information about the organization, recipes origin, or tips about the recipe. Tips from the BHG Test Kitchen are also given.
Nutritional analysis and number of servings are given for each recipe.
Beside the photos, the ingredients, along with the contributing tips are highlighted off to the side of the recipe, making it easy to see the ingredients at a glance.
The Broccoli Salad is very good - even my husband liked it!


Amish-Country Cookbook (Amish Country Cookbooks (Bethel))
Amish-Country Cookbook (Amish Country Cookbooks (Bethel))
Author: Sue Miller
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/20/2008


I love this cookbook - it's probably one of my favorites. I've ate at the restaurant a couple of times and the food is always really, really good. My copy was my Mom's and I wouldn't ever get rid of it.
The recipes look as if they were printed as they were written by the contributors with some instructions being as simple as "Bake at 350 20-30 minutes" for a cake recipe. I guess they assume you know the basics of cooking and baking. Throughout the book are quotes, sayings, jokes, old-time wisdom, weather advice and bible verses. Those are always fun to read.

There are now four volumes.

Recipes I like include Taco Salad, Confetti Salad, Marshmallow Brownies, Red Velvet Cake, and Zucchini Bread.


An Echo in the Darkness (Mark of the Lion #2)
An Echo in the Darkness (Mark of the Lion #2)
Author: Francine Rivers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 2/12/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely LOVED this series. Total of three, but the third can be read on its own. Worth reading a second time.
Francine always makes you think in addition to telling you a good story. Set in Roman times when they were using Christians vs lions as entertainment.


Annuals (Garden Guides)
Annuals (Garden Guides)
Author: Derek Fell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/12/2008


this is a nice small spiral-bound book. easy to take along to the garden center in your purse.
from the American Garden Association.
has a color photograph of each plant.
information includes latin name, common name, family, description, height, color, hardiness, culture (sun), and uses.


Antique Dinner Recipes: For all seasons: An 18th century Selection
Antique Dinner Recipes: For all seasons: An 18th century Selection
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/15/2008


Here's the introduction to the book which I will quote:
Here's a bouquet of culinary delights from prosperous, romantic 18th century Britain. Celebrated traditional dishes and new creations from the hands of native cooks and imported French chefs. Temptations and promised pleasures for late twentieth century palates. Dinner in that leisured world was very generous in quantity and high in quality. Appetites were larger than those of today and a typical meal comprised at least two elaborate courses of assorted meats, fish, fowl, vegetables and sweets. Artistic presentation of each dish was also a requisite. Our collection of recipes comes from cookbooks published in England and Scotland between 1700 and 1800. Many Colonial American families were familiar with the recipes.

The contents page shows two courses for each season - Spring, Summer, Autumn, and Winter - with each course having six dishes.
Some recipe names include:
Spring: A Thatched-House Pye, A Fricasey of Kidney Beans
Summer: Fry'd Crabs, Chicken with Pease and Lettuce
Autumn: Cabbage Pudding, A Fine Saffron Cake, Souffle of Rice and Apples
Winter: Petit Patties, Cheese and Almond Cakes
Drinks: Lamb's Wool

As you can tell from the names, they have kept the original spellings of the recipes, however, they updated the ingredients and the directions to contemporary language and spellings. I think I would have preferred them to be original. Although, I must admit, it
is nice to have clear measurements and directions. It also has a reference page in the back listing the cookbooks they consulted.

This book is a joy to read. Some of the recipes actually sound good and surprisingly simple. Even to me, who is not a gourmet cook by any means. (But I could be wrong on the simple part.) There are quite a few recipes that I would like to try.


Any four women could rob the Bank of Italy: A novel
Any four women could rob the Bank of Italy: A novel
Author: Ann Cornelisen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/13/2007


liked it-entertaining read.

During an Italian summer of kidnappings and robberies, career women El and Lacey find themselves being waved through roadblocks by Italian police who assume that females are incapable of any premediated crime. At first, it is a kind of joke to pass the time. Then it evolves from "what if we did?" to "let's do it".


The Best of Sunset:  Low-Fat Cook Book
The Best of Sunset: Low-Fat Cook Book
Author: Sunset Books
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/12/2008


published by Sunset.
not all recipes require purchasing non-fat or low-fat items at the store, although some do. a lot of fresh ingredients.
A few of the recipes I plan to try: (I have a second copy of this book) Warm Wild Rice & Asparagus Salad; Roast Pork with Date & Fig Sauce; Creamy Peach-Yogurt Pie; Greek Chicken Pockets.


Black Wind (Dirk Pitt, Bk 18)
Black Wind (Dirk Pitt, Bk 18)
Author: Clive Cussler, Dirk Cussler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 225
Review Date: 10/30/2006


Two World War II Japanese subs carrying a biological virus threaten the world.
Once again, the Pitt's come to the rescue. This story involves mostly Dirk Pitt Jr. although his father does come into the picture. It was a little confusing at first, with the two Dirk's, until I realized it was Jr.
As always, lots of action and unbelievable exploits....


Bleachers
Bleachers
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 631
Review Date: 3/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


have always loved John Grisham's novels in the courtroom and wasn't sure if I would like this one.
I shouldn't have been worried.
awesome story.


Blood on the Plains: An Epic of the Kansas-Missouri Border Wars
Review Date: 2/13/2007


pretty good read. slow in places, but I like westerns.

Western.
Two West Point cadets, sent by the President himself on a secret mission to the burning Kansas-Missouri border, are swept into the maelstrom - friends turned enemies across a thundering landscape of savagery, courage, and war.


The Bread Lover's Bread Machine Cookbook
The Bread Lover's Bread Machine Cookbook
Author: Beth Hensperger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/15/2008
Helpful Score: 6


I finally got into the craze last year baking bread in a bread machine. One of my co-workers decided he wasnt going to ever use his bread machine, so he gave it to me. For 2-3 months, my house smelled great! Then one thing after another, I stopped using it. Then I got The Bread Lovers Bread Machine Cookbook.

It starts off with having you get familiar with your machine the cycles and settings. Then you get educated on the various ingredients, the process and what to do if something comes out wrong.

Then come the recipes 300 of them.
Daily Breads white breads, potato bread, english muffins, egg breads;
The Earths Bounty whole wheat, whole-grain, and specialty flour breads;
Traditional Loaves country breads and sourdough breads;
Breads made with the Produce of the Garden, Orchard & Creamery herb, nut, seed and spice, vegetable and fruit, cheese breads;
Circles, Squares and Crescents pizzas and other flatbreads;
Sweet Loaves chocolate, fruit, and other sweet breads including sticky buns;
Express Lane Bread no-yeast quick breads;
and finally a chapter on making Jams, Preserves, and Chutneys in your Bread Machine (requiring a jam cycle on your machine).

The recipes are easy to read in a brown print with the ingredients highlighted in a light green box off to the side. Theres a brief paragraph that describes the bread or where it came from. However, theres no nutritional information, so if youre watching carbs, calories, or whatever, you dont know if you can have one slice or two. Most recipes are for the 1 ½-pound and 2-pound size loaves. Obviously, some of the recipes only use the machine to mix the dough and for the first rising. Then its taken out of the machine, formed into the appropriate shape, left to rise again and then baked in the oven.

Throughout the book are highlighted boxes with bread machine bakers hints, bakers glossaries, techniques, the right ingredient, and leftover bread cookery hints. I wish the boxes were in a chapter by themselves instead of interspersed throughout the book. They would be easier to find later. Theres also an appendix called Bits & Pieces tells of the uses of day-old bread for croutons, toasts and such. A 2nd appendix includes recipes on what to eat with your bread flavored butters, cheeses, pates, and spreads.


Cape Refuge (Cape Refuge, Bk 1)
Cape Refuge (Cape Refuge, Bk 1)
Author: Terri Blackstock
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 5/9/2007


Book One in the series written by Terri Blackstock
good mystery story


Chill Before Serving: A Mystery For Food Lovers
Chill Before Serving: A Mystery For Food Lovers
Author: Cynthia Lawrence
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 5/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


good culinary mystery... no recipes though :(


Come to Grief
Come to Grief
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/7/2007


I've always liked Dick Francis' style of writing. Always a very good story.
Sid Halley, ex-jockey turned investigator, is back.


The Confession (The Heritage of Lancaster County, Vol 2)
The Confession (The Heritage of Lancaster County, Vol 2)
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 2/27/2007


2nd book in "The Heritage of Lancaster County" series.
1st one is "The Shunning", 3rd is "The Reckoning".
Shunned from her home, Katie Lapp, now Katherine Mayfield, sets out to find the ailing birth mother she has never known.


Cookie Book
Cookie Book
Author: Betty Crocker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/16/2007
Helpful Score: 2


can't go wrong with Betty Crocker for cookie recipes.
This one includes bar cookies, rolled cookies, drop cookies, molded cookies, refrigerator cookers, pressed cookies, and even fried cookies. also has hints on how to freeze, store and mail them.


Delightfully Dutch: Recipes and Traditions
Delightfully Dutch: Recipes and Traditions
Author: Carol Van Klompenbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of my favorite dutch cookbooks. After I lost my recipe for banket staven, I found one in here and now use it every year, though I add an extra egg to it as my recipe had called for. Has some dutch history in it also. My personal copy is falling apart - that's how much I love this book.


Devotions with a difference
Devotions with a difference
Author: Stephen A Bly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/13/2007


each day, you'll examine a word - such as price, guilt, inferiority, or maybe dating. Sixty-two in all. Read what the Bible has to say about these words.


Diary of a Rose Lover
Diary of a Rose Lover
Author: Henri Delbard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/7/2008


If I grew roses, I would keep this book. But it will be a while before my rose garden happens. Then, I will probably be looking for it again!


The Dig
The Dig
Author: Alan Dean Foster, Sean Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 11/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this was a great read. loved it. almost want to keep it!
sci-fi adventure.
a mile-wide asteroid will hit earth unless it can be nudged out of the way. Part of the team starts investigating the asteroid's surface and are transported (it's not really an asteroid) to the planet Cocytus. There they must learn by themselves what happened to the population and how to get home again.


1 to 20 of 61 - Page: