Kaymmiv - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
1916: A Novel of the Irish Rebellion (Irish Century)
1916: A Novel of the Irish Rebellion (Irish Century)
Author: Morgan Llywelyn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 4/6/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I love Morgan Llywelyn writting, and I love the books all the more because I am a history buff and rarely (if ever) have I found myself disappointed by the accounts of history in her books. In most books that deal with any sort of historic fact or events I find myself frustrated or thrown off track in the middle of reading and loosing focus in the book because of inaccuracy or misfact. This can really detract from the experience of a story when your mind is yelling "no that's wrong", "no the time sequence is off- that hasn't happened yet", "no that was invented yet, this isn't realistic" or etc... since I don't have this issue with Llywelyn's books I'm able to sit down and really enjoy the creativity, story, depth of charactors and depth of emotion she spins into her writting.


2006 Wicca Almanac (Llewellyn's Wicca Almanac)
2006 Wicca Almanac (Llewellyn's Wicca Almanac)
Author: Llewellyn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The calender part of this book is obviously outdated at this point, but the actual content in the book went above and beyond my expectations. There are several inciteful articles in it I have enjoyed reading more then once.


Aphrodite's Secret (Aphrodite, Bk 3)
Aphrodite's Secret (Aphrodite, Bk 3)
Author: Julie Kenner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 4/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I just couldn't get into this book. I think it was because I did not read the prior books, but because of not being able to connect to this book I probably won't. The author did not provide enough info to understand the story & situation if you were just jumping in on this book. I read it about half way through and just gave up on it. If you read the first ones I suspect the book would be good though.


Birthing from Within: An Extra-Ordinary Guide to Childbirth Preparation
Review Date: 3/10/2012


I read this Book after preclampsia caused my first child's birth to be a rather harrowing experience. It paved the way for an amazing and peaceful second child birth three years later, at home in our garden tub with my my husband and midwives. It just a very well written, research backed book to make you think and understand what you need and want for your child's entrance into the world.


The Doctors Book of Home Remedies: Quick Fixes, Clever Techniques, and Uncommon Cures to Get You Feeling Better Fast
Review Date: 3/15/2012


I guess I was expecting a little more from this book in the way of recipes and home remedies and less off the shelf buys.


Everyday Success Kindergarten
Everyday Success Kindergarten
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/10/2012


We are homeschooling and legally need to keep a 'portfolio' of examples of our childs work throughout the year. This one work book currently provides the most up to date (with the national standards for kindergarten) and comprehensive worksheets on kindergarten learning I could find in one workbook.


The Feast of All Saints
The Feast of All Saints
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/9/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book is beautifully written. This is my favorite of all her works. I've read this story so many times I have it more or less memorised, so am finally passing it on. The feast of all saints leaves you believing in these characters; loving some, hating others- in the way that only an amazingly written book can do. It gives a unique and in depth look into the society, with all it's ups and downs of this often historically and literaturally ignored special class of individuals that arose from and where caught between in a society where the color of your skin, facial features and texture of your hair meant all the difference in your lot in life. This novel protrays a very real and often gritty view of these charecters world and lives. It touches on all aspects of their social scene with completely believable charecters, none of who are perfect. Absolutely wonderful book.


Good Christian Bitches
Good Christian Bitches
Author: Kim Gatlin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/15/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Funny fluff. This book was an excellent light read. I went into this book expecting a disappointment from the reviews (on other sites) but was pleasently surprised. It's not to be taken seriously & there's nothing deep or developed about it, it's just enjoyable funny fluff ;-)


Good Christian Bitches
Good Christian Bitches
Author: Kim Gatlin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/15/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Funny fluff. This book was an excellent light read. I went into this book expecting a disappointment from the reviews (on other sites) but was pleasently surprised. It's not to be taken seriously & there's nothing deep or developed about it, it's just enjoyable funny fluff ;-)


Good Christian Bitches
Good Christian Bitches
Author: Kim Gatlin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/15/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Funny fluff. This book was an excellent light read. I went into this book expecting a disappointment from the reviews (on other sites) but was pleasently surprised. It's not to be taken seriously & there's nothing deep or developed about it, it's just enjoyable funny fluff ;-)


Gotta Have God: Fun Devotions for Boys: Ages 2-5
Gotta Have God: Fun Devotions for Boys: Ages 2-5
Author: Lynn Marie-Ittner Klammer
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/13/2012


We are using this book for my two & five year old five days a week. The homeschool curriculum we are using for our five year old isn't faith based so this is how I'm including study of God and the Bible.

I really like that the Bible quotes that start each lesson are labeled, so each day we start the lesson reading the topic and quote, and then look the quote up in our Bibles.

The activities are a little old for my two year old but perfect for his big brother. I love that they are in sections (Gotta Know God's Wolrd, Gotta Obey, Gotta Learn, Gotta Be Safe) and all the variety of topics makes it easy to pick an appropriate one each day.

My only real complaint is that even though the book is 'Gotta Have God. Everything inside is attributed to Jesus, never using God. All prayers start with Dear Jesus. All Attributes are to Jesus (Every moment is a special gift from Jesus, knowing that Jesus is with us) never God. My husband and I are both cradel Catholics so this just doesn't work for us (knowing Jesus is one thing, but using Jesus in place of God always is another) for other Christian faiths it might be different. So I've just been making sure to emphasize that it's God who made us, the world, gives us gifts, is with us and that Jesus is with us through God.

Otherwise this book is a very nice set up and is working really well for us :)


Jerlayne
Jerlayne
Author: Lynn Abbey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 4/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Amazingly well written book where science fiction meets fantasy and old world tales meld into realistically into modern concepts in very unusual and unexpected twists. You are totally drawn into this book and the characters. I've read this book time and again and wholeheartedly wish it had been the start of a series. You cry along with Jerlayne when she feels she's loosing her daughter and smile with her happiness with the birth of her son. You cringe at the gritty look of modern inner city life and find yourself sighing in relief (and happiness for several of the characters) when things start to click into place. Anyone who is a sci-fi or fantasy (and especially both) reader will love this book.


Mistletoe Magic:  A Christmas Romance / An Outback Christmas / Sarah's First Christmas
Review Date: 9/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The first story, A Christmas Romance was very well written and a great story. Realy drew me and was a very enjoyable read. I would get this book just for that first highly readable and enjoyable story. The type of story and charecters that you think about for a bit after putting the story down. The charecters were well written and stuck with you. The other two stories lacked the spark the first writer's work had. They just weren't as well written in general and especially after how enjoyable the first one was were unfortunatly lacking. They are still ok romantical fluff, but if you get this book read the second two stories first and end on the first, save the best for last :)


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4019
Review Date: 3/12/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this books. I just finished it.

It was told from multiple points if view. These were- the mother, the father, the brother, the older sister, the younger sister, the attorney & the court appointed gaurdian.


The different perspectives, in my opinion, is what made this book smazing instead of merely a compassionate story. Being able to see from all points of view made the story whole in a way one point of view can't. It was a beautifully told story that actually rang true as if it really happened. I don't want to spoil by adding details from it but this was a truly great book. Imo by adding in things like the mystery of yhe lawyers ailment (which is mentioned in another review) it reminds us that real life is about everyone going through and dealing with different things. I really enjoyed all perspectives of the book.


The Pagan Stone
The Pagan Stone
Author: Nora Robert
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/7/2009


The first book in the trilogy Blood Brothers pulled me in and I read it in one sitting, I couldn't put it down and thought about it for months afterwards.

The Hollow (book 2) swept me along with with an excellent story-line, continuing an in depth look at the characters and the building relationships- although less of a pull you in book- since the grab was established in book one The Hollow drew me farther into the series and I cared about what happened to the characters. I couldn't wait to get The Pagan Stone.

I am so very disappointed with this book. Something seems to have fallen flat in the story, the writing seems to be forced and the excitement is hollow. I have picked the book up and sat it down 4 times now and after as many days & sessions as hours it took me to read Blood Brothers I am only to the seventh chapter of this book. The prolog started off great and up to par with the writing of the previous two in the trilogy. I have the feeling that she must have written more attached to the prolog and had it nixed or edited out and somehow that lost the flow of the writing into the third book and cut off the in depth view of Gage that would have carried the reader into this book that centers on Gage and Cybil's relationship. I am hoping that this issue somehow gets rectified as the story continues, because I will finish it just to see what happens. I'm disappointed though because I was greatly looking forward to a page turner like the first two and instead am having to struggle through a book I am only continuing because of wanting to see what happens after the first two.

I will update the review when I finish reading....

I put the book down for good on page 111. This is the first time I've ever not read one of Nora Roberts Books all the way through- especially when part of a trilogy/series, and I have around a hundred of her books sitting on my home bookshelf right now, all read, and I've read more then that- I rarely run into Nora Roberts books I haven't read anymore that aren't new books. The interchanges between the characters and situations were becoming less believable and while I've heard the book does get better shortly after the point I stopped at from others who also experienced my frustration with the first 100 pages or so, I will probably wait a few months before picking the book up again.

Not all of Nora Roberts books are GREAT, and not all the characters are wonderful or believable, and perhaps as this is a 'long awaited' book it's adding to my inability to stomach it, but this one was an unfortunate disappointment :(


The Pagan Stone (Sign of Seven, Bk 3)
The Pagan Stone (Sign of Seven, Bk 3)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 5/6/2009


The first book in the trilogy Blood Brothers pulled me in and I read it in one sitting, I couldn't put it down and thought about it for months afterwards.

The Hollow (book 2) swept me along with with an excellent story-line, continuing an in depth look at the characters and the building relationships- although less of a pull you in book- since the grab was established in book one The Hollow drew me farther into the series and I cared about what happened to the characters. I couldn't wait to get The Pagan Stone.

I am so very disappointed with this book. Something seems to have fallen flat in the story, the writing seems to be forced and the excitement is hollow. I have picked the book up and sat it down 4 times now and after as many days & sessions as hours it took me to read Blood Brothers I am only to the seventh chapter of this book. The prolog started off great and up to par with the writing of the previous two in the trilogy. I have the feeling that she must have written more attached to the prolog and had it nixed or edited out and somehow that lost the flow of the writing into the third book and cut off the in depth view of Gage that would have carried the reader into this book that centers on Gage and Cybil's relationship. I am hoping that this issue somehow gets rectified as the story continues, because I will finish it just to see what happens. I'm disappointed though because I was greatly looking forward to a page turner like the first two and instead am having to struggle through a book I am only continuing because of wanting to see what happens after the first two.

I will update the review when I finish reading....

I put the book down for good on page 111. This is the first time I've ever not read one of Nora Roberts Books all the way through- especially when part of a trilogy/series, and I have around a hundred of her books sitting on my home bookshelf right now, all read, and I've read more then that- I rarely run into Nora Roberts books I haven't read anymore that aren't new books. The interchanges between the characters and situations were becoming less believable and while I've heard the book does get better shortly after the point I stopped at from others who also experienced my frustration with the first 100 pages or so, I will probably wait a few months before picking the book up again.

Not all of Nora Roberts books are GREAT, and not all the characters are wonderful or believable, and perhaps as this is a 'long awaited' book it's adding to my inability to stomach it, but this one was an unfortunate disappointment :(


The Pagan Stone (Sign of Seven, Bk 3)
The Pagan Stone (Sign of Seven, Bk 3)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1006
Review Date: 5/7/2009


The first book in the trilogy Blood Brothers pulled me in and I read it in one sitting, I couldn't put it down and thought about it for months afterwards.

The Hollow (book 2) swept me along with with an excellent story-line, continuing an in depth look at the characters and the building relationships- although less of a pull you in book- since the grab was established in book one The Hollow drew me farther into the series and I cared about what happened to the characters. I couldn't wait to get The Pagan Stone.

I am so very disappointed with this book. Something seems to have fallen flat in the story, the writing seems to be forced and the excitement is hollow. I have picked the book up and sat it down 4 times now and after as many days & sessions as hours it took me to read Blood Brothers I am only to the seventh chapter of this book. The prolog started off great and up to par with the writing of the previous two in the trilogy. I have the feeling that she must have written more attached to the prolog and had it nixed or edited out and somehow that lost the flow of the writing into the third book and cut off the in depth view of Gage that would have carried the reader into this book that centers on Gage and Cybil's relationship. I am hoping that this issue somehow gets rectified as the story continues, because I will finish it just to see what happens. I'm disappointed though because I was greatly looking forward to a page turner like the first two and instead am having to struggle through a book I am only continuing because of wanting to see what happens after the first two.

I will update the review when I finish reading....

I put the book down for good on page 111. This is the first time I've ever not read one of Nora Roberts Books all the way through- especially when part of a trilogy/series, and I have around a hundred of her books sitting on my home bookshelf right now, all read, and I've read more then that- I rarely run into Nora Roberts books I haven't read anymore that aren't new books. The interchanges between the characters and situations were becoming less believable and while I've heard the book does get better shortly after the point I stopped at from others who also experienced my frustration with the first 100 pages or so, I will probably wait a few months before picking the book up again.

Not all of Nora Roberts books are GREAT, and not all the characters are wonderful or believable, and perhaps as this is a 'long awaited' book it's adding to my inability to stomach it, but this one was an unfortunate disappointment :(


Parent's Guide to Home Schooling: Learn all you need to know to home school your children now
Review Date: 3/14/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I was really dissapointed in this book, a lot of the things suggested in it on the legal &/or school board front went directly against what my state homeschooling association and uslda suggest doing in my state.

Like meeting with the school board, going over an acceptable homeschool curriculumn that the school board approves of, registering as homeschooled & etc. I understand if this was written as a 'what u may be required to do' but its not, it's simply written as part of what you need to do. If I hadn't done other research before picking up this book I might have made some serious errors in beginning my homeschooling journey in my state where meeting with or sending a letter of intent to the school board has in the past been the sole reason for cases of investigation being opened against homeschooling parents. Not to mention neither a letter of intent or registering is legally required or even advised.

It really doesn't get any better in my opinion, giving such advice as the main reasons families fail at homeschooling include the childrn being undisciplined or the parents being undisciplined. Personally the best advice I've gotten was the opposit, to relax, be flexible & remember to yourself and let your kids have fun learning.

The one thing I do agree with the author mentioned is to get in touch with your states home schooling organization. I would also suggest looking at hslda. . . & that you skip this book ;-)



The Princess Bride
The Princess Bride
Author: William Goldman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 4/27/2009
Helpful Score: 1


First for anyone that doesn't know this is not an abridged book, although almost all his readers were totally taken in by it- but that just goes to show how well written the book is :) That is part of the story of the book. Bill Goldman has no son and its all part of the fiction of the story. There is no Florin and there is no S. Morgenstern. There was no original book that he abridged and he was never read this book by his father. That too is all part of the fictional story Goldman has written with such realism that almost everyone who reads it is totally taken in as it being intirely believable. The sign of an amazing storyteller! The whole story is amazingly well and believably written to the point that for me the 'abridged' comments were so snarky and jerky that it really took away from the telling of the story for me. But I know for him and others those comments are part of the fun of the fiction of the book. Personally I was put off by the degrading comments towards his 'wife' and 'son' made time and again. These comments just really detracted from the feel of the book and experience overall for me became a negative feeling when reading the book. However it is amazingly written and beautifully done book and story!


The Shadow Queen (Black Jewels, Bk 6)
The Shadow Queen (Black Jewels, Bk 6)
Author: Anne Bishop
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 3/15/2012


I love this series, but this one is my favorite. Odd because it sees so little of the main characters in the rest of the books. This one was exceptionally well written and I enjoyed reading it.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: