Melissa H. (missyh) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 86 - Page:
All Shook Up
All Shook Up
Author: Susan Andersen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 244
Review Date: 10/23/2011


This was my first book by Susan Anderson and i liked it. Really funny at times. I loved the Hero.


Bad Boyfriend (Bad in Baltimore, Bk 2)
Bad Boyfriend (Bad in Baltimore, Bk 2)
Author: K. A. Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/9/2012


So, this is the sequal to Bad Company, which I loved. Well, if possible I loved this one even more!

This is the story of Eli and Quinn. Eli, who I fell for while reading Bad Company, is outrageously flamboyant. This is usually a turn off for me, but for some odd reason I fell for him anyway and it works for him. A lot of it is to cover up his sensitivity and vulnerability, I think, which just makes me love him even more. Quinn is more than ten years older than Eli, and a very 'manly' man. He spent more than 10 years with his live in boyfriend and then the said boyfriend screwed him over. He hooks up with Eli to try to somewhat 'get back' at his ex, but as surprising as it is for everyone involved, the two seem to be perfect for one another.

I had a never ending smile on my face while reading this book. Lots of LOL moments, just like the first one.

Lots of that smokin' sex again, with just a tad bit of BDSM thrown in for good measure!

It was also good to re-visit Nate and Kellan in this one too.

KA Mitchell is fast becoming one of my FAVORITE m/m authors.


Bad Company (Bad in Baltimore, Bk 1)
Bad Company (Bad in Baltimore, Bk 1)
Author: K. A. Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/2/2012


This is only the second book ive read by KA Mitchell but i really enjoy her writing. Loved this one. Really sweet but strong characters and smokin' sex!

I loved that the two men were childhood friends that were seperated and then reunited. This is one of my favorite themes.

I loved Eli, one of the secondary characters and just learned that there is a sequal with him! Yay!!


Bared to You (Crossfire, Bk 1)
Bared to You (Crossfire, Bk 1)
Author: Sylvia Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 7/13/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I loved everything about this book! I see it compared to the Fifty Shades trilogy a LOT. Its hard not to compare the two. I love them both, but the one thing I will say is the writing of this one is a hundred times better. LOL

I hear its supposed to be a trilogy too, so the one sucky thing was that now we have to wait until October for the next installment. :(

Gideon is Oh So Sexy, and I adored Eva. They are both haunted by their own demons and trying hard to make their relationship work. I cant wait to see whats in store for them next!


Behind Closed Doors (McCloud, Bk 1)
Behind Closed Doors (McCloud, Bk 1)
Author: Shannon McKenna
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 7/17/2012


This was a fabulous book! The first in the McCloud Brothers series. I cant believe I put off reading it for so long.

Talk about an Alpha male...man Seth is ALL ALPHA. Raine is very strong herself. Of course she would have to be to put up with Seth's uber alpha, cave man, mannerisms. LOL

This one had tons of action, tons of sex, lots of bad guys, and a great introduction to the McCloud brothers. Makes me want to move the rest of the series to the top of the TBR!


Between Sinners and Saints
Between Sinners and Saints
Author: Marie Sexton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/30/2012


I fell in love with this book from the very first page. The characters are so very 'real' that you come to care so much for them. You root and root for them to finally find happiness. Levi is SO sexy, and Jaime is adorable and is full of such dry humor. Jaime has some serious issues to overcome and Levi is determined to help him do just that. The two characters were developed superbly and you get to see the friendship and love and trust between them build over time.

Levi's family is Mormon, and I found this aspect of the story extremely interesting. I learned so much. You can most definitely tell that Sexton did some studying.

Simply said, this book was just perfect. It couldnt have been any better. Its right up there with her other title, Promises, that is one of my very favorite M/M books.


Big Temptation
Big Temptation
Author: Robin L. Rotham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 8/18/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I really liked this one. Smokin' hot sex, an uber hot, alpha male, and even a little suspense thrown in!


Black Hills
Black Hills
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 273
Review Date: 10/23/2011


Loved it! It was really fun getting to know the h and H while they were kids, then adolescents, and again when they come together as adults. Thats one of my fave romance themes. I also really enjoyed the h's family.


The Boy Who Sneaks In My Bedroom Window
The Boy Who Sneaks In My Bedroom Window
Author: Kirsty Moseley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/29/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This is a book that, based on reviews i've read on Amazon, people either hate it or they love it. Well if thats the case then yep, i loved it. That being said, it is severely in need of editing. There were mistakes on what seemed like every other page, almost to the point of distraction.

Liam is one of the sweetest Hero's i've ever read in a book. Oh my...i LOVE him! Amber was another heroine that i wanted to smack more than once and tell her to wake up! But she grew on me. Jake was the best, coolest big brother ever. I would love it if the author went back and wrote a story for him. Only with LOTS more editing than this one, LOL.

I will say, just in case someone is looking into this book for their daughter or something, this is a YA book but i would recommend only to older teens. The actual sex is not described, but there are LOTS of heavy makeout scenes that are described, and in pretty explicit ways for a YA book.


Caught (Gemini Men, Bk 1)
Caught (Gemini Men, Bk 1)
Author: Jami Alden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 2/2/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This was a really great story. Its always fun to see the drop dead gorgeous guys (you know the ones...arrogant, beautiful and knows it, cocky, smart, panty dropping smile) fall for the plain jane geeky girl. Toni was the perfect heroine. Ethan was drool worthy. The suspense was intriguing. The sex was hot. A big thumbs up!


Chasin' Eight (Rough Riders, Bk 11)
Chasin' Eight (Rough Riders, Bk 11)
Author: Lorelei James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 8/19/2012


This was another awesome installment of the Rough Riders. Ive loved them all! I liked how the H and h really developed a friendship first, especially seeing as how Chase was such a woman/sex addict. LOL These two were really sweet friends and then HOT lovers! And we're even introduced to a new McKay brother. Mmmmmm....more to look forward to in the future!


Chasing Nikki
Chasing Nikki
Author: Lacey Weatherford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/4/2012


A beautifully tragic love story. I couldn't put it down!


The Christmas Box Collection : The Christmas Box / Timepiece / The Letter
Review Date: 10/23/2011


Beautifully written and heartwarming. Loved it.


Collision Course (Florida, Bk 2)
Collision Course (Florida, Bk 2)
Author: K. A. Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/21/2012


Loved it! I really enjoyed Joey when we met him in Diving In Deep and was excited for him to finally get his HEA. He's a very happy go lucky, wears his heart on his sleeve type of guy. So sweet. Oh and he's a social worker. Well his guy turns out to be a snarky, smirky, cocky, know it all, paramedic that you want to hate but you just cant. Oh and he despises the whole social working system, for very real reasons of his own. So yeah, thats interesting. LOL

There is smokin' sex in all Mitchell's books but theres a LOT more sex in this one than in others. Not that im complaining. ;)


A Crack In Forever
A Crack In Forever
Author: Jeannie Brewer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/9/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I really, really loved this book. It was so incredibly sad, but so good. Definitely no promises of forever and absolutely no happily ever after, but i'm still so glad I read it.


Cracked Up to Be
Cracked Up to Be
Author: Courtney Summers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 8/25/2012


This books was not at all what I expected. Looking at the cute cover, one would assume it to be a laid back, quick, fun, young adult read. Not so much. It is full of suspense, tension, and all kinds of teen angst. From the very beginning you wonder, why is this character so awful? She is horrible to everyone she's around, and it just makes you wonder, why? Well you get little snippets here and there through out the book and when its all put together, you know. And its nothing that I would have guessed. Great book.


Daisy's Back in Town (Lovett, Texas, Bk 1)
Daisy's Back in Town (Lovett, Texas, Bk 1)
Author: Rachel Gibson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 305
Review Date: 10/23/2011


This was the first book ive read by this author and it wont be the last. I loved it. It was sexy, funny, and at times heartbreaking.


Develyn's Tale
Develyn's Tale
Author: Shannon Bailey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/30/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This is the 2nd in the trilogy. I didnt really think it was possible but i liked it even less than the first. I still cant make myself like any of the characters. And the story's still boring to me.


Diving in Deep (Florida, Bk 1)
Diving in Deep (Florida, Bk 1)
Author: K. A. Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 7/21/2012


Ok so Ive loved everything Ive read by KA Mitchell. That being said, it took me awhile to warm up to Cameron. Something about him just kept rubbing me the wrong way. Noah, on the other hand, I just adored. He is the brother of Cam's best friend, and he has loved Cam since he was 15 years old. He tried soooo hard for soooo long to get Cam to give him the time of day. When he finally does, its sexy hot!


Duma Key
Duma Key
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 313
Review Date: 2/2/2012


One of my favorite Stephen King books. Loved it!


1 to 20 of 86 - Page: