Bridget M. (bridget) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 37 - Page:
450 Knitting Stitches - Volume 2 (Harmony Guides)
450 Knitting Stitches - Volume 2 (Harmony Guides)
Author: Collins, Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/19/2006


This book as a variety of patterns, suitable for many skill levels. It's a great way to get creative with your knitting.


The 5 in 10 Pasta Cookbook: 5 Ingredients in 10 Minutes or Less
The 5 in 10 Pasta Cookbook: 5 Ingredients in 10 Minutes or Less
Author: Nancie McDermott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/31/2006


A wide range of pasta and noodle dishes from around the world.


America's Cheapest Family Gets You Right on the Money: Your Guide to Living Better, Spending Less, and Cashing in on Your Dreams
Review Date: 10/1/2007
Helpful Score: 17


This book didn't tell me anything new or anything I haven't considered. It's probably a very good book for people who are starting to be more frugal, but the same recommendations are available on Frugal Living websites, Tightwad Gazette, etc. It is good book with some good examples of how they handled things. However, it's not breaking any new ground for me.


At the Crack of the Bat
At the Crack of the Bat
Author: Lillian Morrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/2/2006


What a fun book for the young baseball fan. Poems about pros and little league. Color and sepia tone illustrations.


Atomic Bodyslams to Whiskey Zippers: Cocktails for the 21st Century
Atomic Bodyslams to Whiskey Zippers: Cocktails for the 21st Century
Author: Adam Rocke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Lots of fun drinks! A good addition the traditional Mr. Boston's.


Back When We Were Grownups
Back When We Were Grownups
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 8/14/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Very interesting characters and family dynamics. This is a nice easy read - I read it on vacation while riding in the car. I was afraid the author was going to take this in a rote direction, but thankfully she veered from that. An enjoyable book about past choices, the road not taken and self identity.


Better Off: Flipping  The Switch On Technology
Better Off: Flipping The Switch On Technology
Author: Eric Brende
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 6/18/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I absolutely loved this book. Brende moves with his new wife to a Amish-like settlement in order to escape technology. The book is a fascinating discussion of how life can work in a low-tech world. Community and family was essential to Brende's experience, and there is good discussion of spirituality and religion.

I was expecting more focus on the harrowing and hard aspects of living without electricity. But the book is much deeper and fuller than that.


The Big Rumpus: A Mother's Tale from the Trenches
The Big Rumpus: A Mother's Tale from the Trenches
Author: Ayun Halliday
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was a great read. It's a good alternative to the "Girlfriend's Guide To..." series. While my parenting theory and practice are a little different than mine, it a good reflection on parenthood. Recommended for all Gen X parents.


The Biggest, Best Snowman
The Biggest, Best Snowman
Author: Margery Cuyler, Will Hillenbrand (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/29/2007


My 2-year-old daughter LOVES this book. There's animals - rabbit, bear, birds and reindeer - and mean big sisters. The drawing are beautiful, and the story is cute.


Cajun-Creole Cooking
Cajun-Creole Cooking
Author: Terry Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/24/2007


This book is PACKED with the Cajun classics. Good, reliable traditional recipes.


The Center of Everything
The Center of Everything
Author: Laura Moriarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 12/14/2006


Great read with engaging, interesting characters.


Dancing Queen: The Lusty Adventures of Lisa Crystal Carver
Dancing Queen: The Lusty Adventures of Lisa Crystal Carver
Author: Lisa Carver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This collection of essays was very funny. I especially loved her recollections romance novels she read as a teen/pre-teen. They made me laugh out loud.
If you like the humor of David Sedaris, you might enjoy this. Not for people with rigid ideas about sex and gender roles.


The Elements of Style (Third Edition)
The Elements of Style (Third Edition)
Author: William Strunk Jr., E. B. White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 6/20/2007


This was required in my undergraduate journalism classes. I still use it today, 15 years later for business and school work. An excellent reference!


Family
Family
Author: Pa Chin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/13/2007


Please note this ISBN is also for the 1989 Reprint.


Fortune's Rocks
Fortune's Rocks
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 8/12/2007


Another wonderful book by Shreve. This story takes place at the same location as Sea Glass, but earlier, at the turn of the century. This book had an excellent, consistant pace, moving the story along nicely through all its 450 pages. Shreve mixes personal stories and the politics of the day (labor issues, immigration, class, religion) for a compelling story.


Giggle, Giggle, Quack
Giggle, Giggle, Quack
Author: Doreen Cronin, Betsy Lewin (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/14/2007


The Duck is up to his antics again when Farmer Brown goes on vacation and leaves his brother Bob in charge. We love the silly farm animals at our house. I don't know that the animals are standing up for their rights, so much as working the system to get pizza, bubble baths and movies while Farmer Brown is away.


Good Grief
Good Grief
Author: Lolly Winston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 284
Review Date: 1/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Really enjoyed this. Best chick lit I've read so far.


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2851
Review Date: 11/4/2006


A fun read.


Greek Tragedies, vol. 2
Review Date: 9/15/2006


printed 1961


Here on Earth
Here on Earth
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 415
Review Date: 8/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book really draws you into the scene with its descriptions of the Northeastern town and surrounding area. The characters are interesting and unpredictable. I couldn't stop reading the last third.


1 to 20 of 37 - Page: