Mary H. (ravenswing) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 92 - Page:
Alien Sex
Alien Sex
Author: Ellen Datlow (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/29/2007


This collection of stories by many of the modern masters of SF is "startling, provocative, outrageous and funny." 19 tales of SF and dark fantasy. Fun!


The Arcanum
The Arcanum
Author: Thomas Wheeler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/26/2009


This book is great fun, a real action packed romp. Featuring a blend of characters from Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, to Harry Houdini, H.P. Lovecraft and Marie Laveau, it is full of clashing egos and dynamic personalities. For lovers of mystery and fantasy alike.


Aunt Dimity Detective (Aunt Dimity, Bk 7)
Aunt Dimity Detective (Aunt Dimity, Bk 7)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 4/9/2007


A great series for cozy lovers. I recommend it!


Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 4/22/2007


First in the very popular Aunt Dimity series. This introduces you to the main characters and their situations very well. A must for those who want to know the beginning or begin at the beginning. Recommended!


Bad Cat: 244 Not-So-Pretty Kitties and Cats Gone Bad
Bad Cat: 244 Not-So-Pretty Kitties and Cats Gone Bad
Author: Jim Edgar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 2/4/2007


Hilarious! Any cat lover will identify with the antics portrayed here. Not all those cute kittens. These are the real thing and the captions and "hobbies" of the cats are priceless. Good condition with just a discreet fang mark in one corner of the cover from my own little scamp cat, Alchemy.


The Battle of Kadesh (Ramses, Vol 3)
The Battle of Kadesh (Ramses, Vol 3)
Author: Christian Jacq, Mary Feeney (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/15/2007


Exciting novel about Ancient Egypt. A hard to find series.


Birds of a Feather (Maisie Dobbs, Bk 2)
Birds of a Feather (Maisie Dobbs, Bk 2)
Author: Jacqueline Winspear
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 182
Review Date: 3/18/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Second book in the Maisie Dobbs series. Winner of the Agatha Award for best mystery novel of the year. Extremely clever plot.


Black Hills
Black Hills
Author: Dan Simmons
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/6/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I am a big fan of Dan Simmons and I enjoyed this book very much. It takes a novel approach to the Battle of the Little Big Horn and the last days of the Sioux nation. Simmons books often have mystical/supernatural overtones and in this case it suits the subject matter very well. It is an odd but appealing blend of accurate and realistic history juxtaposed with Native American culture and spiritualism. Very original. I would recommend it!


The Breathtaker
The Breathtaker
Author: Alice Blanchard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 8/1/2007


Very original and very good. I recommend it!


Calling Out For You (Inspector Sejer, Bk 4) (aka The Indian Bride)
Review Date: 1/5/2010


This is an excellent book, but I want to note that it was also published under the title "The Indian Bride." I bought it not realizing I had read it under that title. It is well worth reading and one of Fossum's better novels.


The Cat Who Blew the Whistle (Cat Who...Bk 17)
The Cat Who Blew the Whistle (Cat Who...Bk 17)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 3/18/2007


A very good "Cat Who" installment. If you are a fan, you will like this one!


The Cat Who Went Underground (Cat Who...Bk 9)
The Cat Who Went Underground (Cat Who...Bk 9)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 9/30/2006


A great entry in the popular Braun series.


The Cat's Pajamas : Stories
The Cat's Pajamas : Stories
Author: Ray Bradbury
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/4/2009


I am a huge Bradbury fan, so I really enjoyed this collection. A nice mix of stories that ran from sinister to nostalgic. He has not lost his touch.


Challenging Lateral Thinking Puzzles
Challenging Lateral Thinking Puzzles
Author: Paul Sloane, Des MacHale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/15/2007


Great for teachers, home schoolers and puzzle lovers.


The City of Falling Angels
The City of Falling Angels
Author: John Berendt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 4/28/2007


In the tradition of his bestselling "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil." This time Berendt writes of Venice, as city filled with masks, mystery and a series of riddles. Once again the book weaves stories of the city and the people into an atmospheric tale of magical decadence.


Classic Crocheted Vests
Classic Crocheted Vests
Author: Nancie M. Wiseman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/5/2008


Large brand new book with great full color photos and detailed instructions for variety of lovely vests for all ages.
A book, not a small craft manual.


The Complete Book of Pizza
The Complete Book of Pizza
Author: Louise Love
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/2/2007


Inspired recipes for both the crust and toppings. Lots of great ideas...


The Corrections
The Corrections
Author: Jonathan Franzen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 2/14/2007


One of the most talked about novels and writers in recent years. Many "best of" lists. A nice oversized edition. Try it!


Creepers (Frank Balenger, Bk 1)
Creepers (Frank Balenger, Bk 1)
Author: David Morrell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 4/9/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Highly original thriller. Very atmospheric. I think you will find it to be a real page turner!


Crime and Puzzlement
Crime and Puzzlement
Author: Lawrence Treat, Leslie Cabarga
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/15/2007


Great picture crime series. Good for all ages. See the crime scene and look for clues. A wonderful series. I will list a bunch!


1 to 20 of 92 - Page: