Amy H. (catholicrose) - - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
The Body in the Belfry (Faith Fairchild, Bk 1)
The Body in the Belfry (Faith Fairchild, Bk 1)
Author: Katherine Hall Page
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 5/19/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This was, in general, a good story, but not an excellent one.
For one thing, I found it very difficult to sympathize with Faith.
In a first book, I want an introduction to a character, allowing me to get to know him/her over time and grow to like him/her more as I find out more about them in each story. Instead, it felt as though the author was trying too hard to make Faith seem authentic--as if trying to force me to care about her--by squeezing all of her thoughts, complexities and personality quirks into one story. It was too much at once, and made Faith seem inconsistent and unreliable, rather than complicated and genuine. If not for Benjamin and Jenny, I would not even have cared too much about the outcome of the life-threatening predicament in which she finds herself.
However, even though it was somewhat difficult to keep them all straight, I did find that I liked many of the other characters, and am looking forward to finding out more about them. There are a few parts that even made me laugh out loud.
The mystery itself was full of red herrings, twists and turns. Once I got into the story a bit, I enjoyed it. I would have preferred a bit more "tidy" an ending, but perhaps that wouldn't have been as believable for other readers.
Although I liked the book, it just didn't feel as "cozy" as most other cozy mysteries I've enjoyed, so I give it 3 stars.


The Confession (Heritage of Lancaster County, Bk 2)
The Confession (Heritage of Lancaster County, Bk 2)
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 8/12/2013


Katherine Mayfield (aka Katie Lapp) sets out to find her birth mother. Time is short, and there is deception in the Mayfield-Bennett household. Meanwhile, Katie's adoptive family struggles to deal with the reality of Katie's harsh Shunning and her decision to leave the colony.

This is the second book in the trilogy; the first is The Shunning; the third is The Reckoning. I found that this book in the series doesn't stand well on its own; it really helps if you have read the first book.

A little "preachy" and too coincidental in parts, but overall, the series is an entertaining story about Katherine (aka Katie) and her loves, losses, and new life.


Confessions of a Slacker Mom
Confessions of a Slacker Mom
Author: Muffy Mead-Ferro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 4/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


An entertaining book that reads almost like a journal or a series of letters to a friend. There's more anecdotes and advice than information here, but it's an uplifting, fun read and a reminder that sometimes, Mother really does know best.


Forty Beads: The Simple, Sexy Secret for Transforming Your Marriage
Review Date: 5/15/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Though it's not going to work for everyone, I think the forty beads method will be helpful and useful to some married couples.
That said, I found the book was unnecessary because the method is easy enough to figure out on your own, and the book itself is... well, AWFUL.
The description says that it's supposed to be written in a "girlfriend-to-girlfriend tone." I didn't find it friendly, funny, or even very helpful. The author's "tone" is condescending, disrespectful, pushy, and snarky where she doesn't need to be. There is crude language throughout, as well, for no apparent reason other than the author doesn't have a better vocabulary. Or maybe she assumes that's the way women normally talk to each other when they're talking about their sex lives and marriage.
Regardless, if you use the method, I recommend that you skip the book. Out of 5, I give the method 3 stars, and the book half a star.


Improve Your Memory (Ron Fry's How to Study Program)
Improve Your Memory (Ron Fry's How to Study Program)
Author: Ronald W. Fry, Ron Fry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/12/2007


It takes time and some effort to utilize the skills in this book, despite its somewhat thin appearance (123 pages, not including the index). Still, most of the exercises and "tricks" used to improve memory are helpful, and the author does a good job keeping the tone light and interesting.


Mrs. Jeffries Learns the Trade (Mrs. Jeffries Omnibus, Bks 1 - 3)
Mrs. Jeffries Learns the Trade (Mrs. Jeffries Omnibus, Bks 1 - 3)
Author: Emily Brightwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 5/10/2012
Helpful Score: 1


The first three books in the series conveniently put together in one place, this is a really enjoyable "cozy mystery" series set in Victorian London. It's especially good for those who are new to the "cozy" genre.

It includes: The Inspector and Mrs. Jeffries, Mrs. Jeffries Dusts for Clues, and The Ghost and Mrs. Jeffries.

Each of these stories is a gentle, yet lively and entertaining read that draws you in with quirky and lovable main characters, villains and suspects you'll love to hate, and interesting plot twists. It often proves a bit of a challenge in figuring out the "whodunnit" and "how" until the last chapter--or even the last few pages!

I've read many books in the series, and I've found that I don't really need to read them in order to follow the stories, although it's helpful--and more fun that way! Most of the books stand on their own, yet also make me want to find out what happened to the characters before in more detail, and definitely what happens to them next!


Prophecy: Child of Earth (Symphony of Ages, Bk 2)
Prophecy: Child of Earth (Symphony of Ages, Bk 2)
Author: Elizabeth Haydon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 8/3/2007
Helpful Score: 4


A good sequel. However, if you have not first read Rhapsody, you may not understand what is happening in Prophecy; this part of the story does not stand well on its own. I've also enjoyed better writing, but the imaginative use of music and magic, and the interesting "sidekick" characters kept me entertained throughout.
Parents, please be aware that this series is NOT for children, as it contains adult situations and graphic scenes.


The Reckoning  (Heritage of Lancaster County, Bk 3)
The Reckoning (Heritage of Lancaster County, Bk 3)
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 262
Review Date: 8/12/2013


Katherine Mayfield (aka Katie Lapp) has the fancy "English" life she's always wanted, and a handsome suitor, as well. Yet something still seems to be missing...

This is the third book in the trilogy; the first is The Shunning; the second is the Confession. I found that this book in the series doesn't stand well on its own; it really helps if you have read the first and second books.

A little "preachy" and too coincidental in parts, but overall, the series is an entertaining story about Katherine (aka Katie) and her loves, losses, and new life.


The Shunning (The Heritage of Lancaster County #1)
The Shunning (The Heritage of Lancaster County #1)
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 8/12/2013


Amish woman Katie Lapp finds a fancy satin baby gown in the attic that changes everything. What are her parents hiding? Who is Katherine Mayfield, and who is the red-haired "English" lady looking for her? Katie must discover the truth, and finds herself in the journey.

This is the first book in the trilogy; the second is The Confession, and the third is The Reckoning.

A little "preachy" and too coincidental in parts, but overall, the series is a sweet, entertaining story about Katie and her loves, losses, and new life.


1 to 9 of 9