J.R. P. (TheBookaholic) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 46 - Page:
American Soldier
American Soldier
Author: Tommy R. Franks, Malcolm McConnell, TOMMY FRANKS
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/12/2013


I have read other books written by and about certain military soldiers. Some have come across as self serving, others as droll and monotoned. This book by and about Gen. Tommy Franks is a very interesting read about a general who truly cared for his men, who considered not just his branch of service but an all inclusive military where the agenda was not about what branch but about what was needed to see America and it's allies safe. Beginning with his work ethic learned from his dad in Texas and the Midwest, his wife who was his biggest supporter, his journey through Nam and his service under other leaders who cared for their men first and foremost, General Franks became a general who could get things done, whether as a grunt in Nam or a four star general leading coalition forces through the desserts of Kuwait and Iraq. Very interesting read and one that doesn't bore you with the way it is written, but has you moving page to page looking forward to reading what's next. Great read for anyone interested in either the general or in the way the United States has progressed militarily over the years. I definitely recommend this book.


Black List (Scot Harvath, Bk 11)
Black List (Scot Harvath, Bk 11)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/26/2012


I have enjoyed this author since being introduced to him in 2007. Love the character of Scott Harvath as he is very believable. While he has his Superman qualities, he does have his moments of failure which make him so much more believable. As for this book, Black List is a very believable and scary scenario from today's headlines. You hear about states asking people not to smile for driver's license so that facial recognicition programs can pick you out better from cameras and satellites. You hear about the government being able to track your credit cards, your phone calls and text even with the phone off. A very scary scenario that this book brings to the forefront. Love this character and the author. Already looking for the next one.


The Burning Wire (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 9)
The Burning Wire (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 9)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 7/11/2011
Helpful Score: 4


I have read every book that Jeffrey Deaver has written on the Lincoln Ryhme character and I must say this is my favorite yet. They have all been great but this one was above and beyond the usual. With all the twist and turns this book had along with all the technical expertise shown in the writing, it is a book that will keep any murder/mystery/techno fan enthralled throughout the book. I have read a number of other books written by Mr. Deaver and never have been disappointed but this one goes above and beyond what I have to come to expect from him. Bravo!


By Dawn's Early Light
By Dawn's Early Light
Author: David Hagberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/29/2007


Good suspense, fast read. Left me wanting a sequel, as it left a number of questions unanswered.


China Card
China Card
Author: Thomas Blood
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book ended up being totally different than what I expected. By the description of the back cover, I thought it was a spy/techno thriller. This book wound up being more of a political/murder mystery type book. After getting over the initial disappointment though, it turned out to be a very good book, with a surprised twist at the end that I didn't see coming. Basically, the whole book is about a hidden agenda by an international group, fronted by the Chinese, that is controlling things/world behind the scenes. The prize.......... 100 nuclear "suitcases" left in hidden places in America by Russia from the Cold War. Throw in a presidential election, a spy who also happens to be a sadistic killer, and you have the makings of a very good book.


Covert Warriors (Presidential Agent, Bk 7)
Covert Warriors (Presidential Agent, Bk 7)
Author: W. E. B. Griffin, William E. Butterworth IV
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/2/2013


Butter worth and Griffin has created another great read. I have enjoyed each of the Presidental Agent series books and this one is no exception. Though the writer uses quite a few characters in each of these books it is not overbearing or confusing as to who is what. The action is believable and the characters are enduring to where they are like friends and family. The premise of the book is of a Russian plot to undermine the presidency of the US by infiltrating agents into his cabinet to create issues that makes the president's decisions seem irrational and to create doubts and mistrust of his mental capabilities to possibly bring his downfall and impeachment to put their own man in place. It is left to Charlie Castillo and his band of special op agents to stop the Russians before they can succeed. A definite must read.


Days of Infamy (Pearl Harbor, Bk 2)
Days of Infamy (Pearl Harbor, Bk 2)
Author: Newt Gingrich, William R. Forstchen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/17/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Okay, another plug here for some more books I read. I am finishing up the second book in a two book series by Newt Gingrich (yes, that Newt) and William Forstchen. Basically it is an alternate history series about what would have happened had there been a third wave attack on Pearl Harbor? What would have happened had the Japanese destroyed the dry docks that were used to so quickly repair the fleet after the attack. What would have happened to the US had the third attack destroyed most of the rest of the ships, the submarines, and had even caught the aircraft carriers as they were coming back into port. A very believable, and scary, "what if" had it happened. Usually not into alternate histories but this is one that I had both books read in less than a week. Definitely a good read.


Dear John
Dear John
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 802
Review Date: 5/13/2008
Helpful Score: 6


I have read all of Nicholas Sparks' books, and while the endings usually have me wanting it to be different, I must say I do enjoy them. This one is no different. Unlike the other gentleman that reviewed this book, I must say that I totally related to this book. Be forwarned, there is a little betrayal in it, but when is there not in love? The characters were very believable. I related to this a lot more than most probably would have as I had something of this manner happen to me. John was a character I could relate to, someone who wasn't sure about what he wanted in life, but knowing he wanted more. When he meets Savannah, he has met his soul mate. While some people don't believe in such, I do, and I can relate to John's devotion to her, no matter what the circumstances, no matter what the betrayal, no matter how much it hurts. While I know that there has never been a sequel done on any oh Sparks' books, this is one that left me saying, no, don't let this happen, it has to be different. I wish he would do a sequel on this one. Definitely a book that requires a box of tissues nearby as it is a tear jerker. If you are looking for a book that will capture your heart, this is it.


The Death of WCW
The Death of WCW
Author: R. D. Reynolds, Bryan Alvarez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/1/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Bought this book more as a wondering what happened to a company supported by a billionaire, than anything. Explains what can go wrong when ego and stupidity get in the way.


Echo Park (Harry Bosch, Bk 12)
Echo Park (Harry Bosch, Bk 12)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 7/21/2007
Helpful Score: 5


I had never read anything by Michael Connelly until now, but after reading this book of his hero detective, Harry Bosch, I am ready to go back and look for others of this character. A fast pace murder mystery that has you guessing not only of who the murderer might be, but also who in the professionla ranks might be involved. A great story, and one I couldn't put down. One of the fastest reads I ever did.


Every Man a Tiger: The Gulf War Air Campaign (Revised)
Every Man a Tiger: The Gulf War Air Campaign (Revised)
Author: Chuck Horner, Tom Clancy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/29/2007
Helpful Score: 2


If you are into a lot of military jargon and tactics, especially if you are ex-military, this is the book. A casual reader will find himself bogged down and going back for a second reading to clarify what he has just read. Good history of the air war in the first Iraq war.


Foreign Influence (Scot Harvath, Bk 9)
Foreign Influence (Scot Harvath, Bk 9)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 8/13/2011


I was told about this author by a friend on here back in 2007 and have thoroughly enjoyed each book he bas written. Miss main character is very believable and the actoon ks nonstop. If you love tbe Dkrk Pitt character as portrayed by Clive Cussler among others you will love this book.


Forward to Camelot
Forward to Camelot
Author: Susan Sloate, Kevin Finn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/1/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I first found out about this book when I "met" the author on here while ordering another book. As she was from my home state and only a couple of hours away, we got to talking about books in general, and her books in particular. One she had published, Forward To Camelot, was an alternate history story that I thought I might like. Man, was I ever right about that. Imagine being able to go back in time to that very moment, the point in time which changed America: the day Kennedy was shot. So much has been written about this time, about all the conspiracy theories, about how America might be today had Kennedy lived. Well, imagine being able to do something about it, to right a wrong, and change history. I found this book to be very well researched and thought out. The characters were great, and it left me wishing it was true and Kennedy had been saved. Whether you have read a alternate history book or not, this is definitely a must read! Do yourself a favor and order this one. I went out and bought mine as I couldn't wait for it to be posted on here. Only can be bought online through Amazon and other on-line book sites. Wish it was out in the bookstores. Sure needs to be.


The Fourth Reich
The Fourth Reich
Author: Robert Van Kampen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Take Nazi Germany, fast forward 40 years, bring Hitler back as the antichrist with a one world government in the end times, and you have "The Fourth Reich"!


Funny Cars
Funny Cars
Author: Robert Genat
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/8/2008


Nitrofed blown hemis stuffed into a short wheelbase chassis, blasting out flames and a wall of noise that defies description, screaming to more than 330 mph in less than five seconds...all in a quarter mile. That's what funny cars are all about.

In Funny Cars, author Robert Genat traces the history of funny cars, then takes you inside a modern funny car racing effort with a detailed look at the blown 8,000 horsepower engines, the light but incredibly strong tubular chasis, and the sleek, lightweight carbon-fiber bodies. Drivers like John Force, Tony Pedregon, and Ron Capps describe what driving a funny car is like.


The Glory (Hope and the Glory, Bk 2)
The Glory (Hope and the Glory, Bk 2)
Author: Herman Wouk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/13/2007


The conclusion to the fact and fiction work of Herman Wouk. What began as the birth of Israel in 1948 in his first book, The Hope, is finished as the Camp David Peace Accords are signed. A brilliant weaving of the facts, along with what Wouk imagined might have happened, to bring a total history of modern day Israel. Order both books and enjoy!


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2854
Review Date: 2/3/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This book had me from the very beginning. I had never read anything by this author and wasn't sure how I would relate to this book. Thing is, had this main character been about a man I would have swore she had writtne it with me in mind. I could so relate to this book.

The whole premise of the book is about the main character, Cannie, and her old flame Bruce, and how she asks him to step back for a moment in their relationship to regroup, only to have him leave and end it. This was her soulmate, the man she had always wanted, though he had his faults. She never realized just what he thought of her until the day she opens a magazine and sees an article by him titled "Loving A Large Woman". Needless to say, she is devastated. Thus begins her journey into discovering who she really is, and where she is heading. Along the way you get to meet her mom who has come out of the closet, a sister who can't decide what she wants in life, a doctor of a "fat clinic" who befriends her......and he is just her caring doctor, right? It is a humorous and wonderful story of betrayal, of self-reflections, and of Cannie self-analyzing herself and her life and growing because of it. Of a self-discovery of a person that she didn't know was there and what her selfworth truly is. A great story, a book that I highly reccomend!


Headwind
Headwind
Author: John J. Nance
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 4/29/2007


Excellent thriller.


Honorable Enemies
Honorable Enemies
Author: Joe Weber
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 2/22/2008


Honorable Enemies paints a chilling post-cold war scenario that might be taken from today's headlines. Pearl Harbor has been attacked... again. This time, by a helicopter which strafes a Hawaiian cruise ship killing several Japanese tourists. The shock waves from the tragic attack go straight to Washington and Tokyo. In retaliation, American tourists are ambushed in Osaka. Relations between the two countries are deteriorating and threaten to escalate out of control. The White House assigns Steve Wickham from CIA and Susan Nakamura from FBI to get to the bottom of who is behind the attacks. They uncover a deadly conspiracy of enormous proportions reaching into the highest levels of the U.S. and Japanese governments.


The Hope
The Hope
Author: Herman Wouk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/13/2007


The first book of fact and fiction on the birth of Israel through the Six Day War. A great read for anyone who is interested in the birth of this perservering nation. Order the second book, The Glory, and have the set, bringing you into the 70's and the Camp David Accords, and Israel's raid on the nuclear power plant in Iran.


1 to 20 of 46 - Page: