Cas R. - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Against Medical Advice: One Family's Struggle with an Agonizing Medical Mystery (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 9/25/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent! I sell nutrition for Tourette's Syndrome and have talked with hundreds of parents whose children suffer with this condition but never did I have a true understanding of it until I heard this story. What I found to be interesting is that I suggest to parents to take their children off video games because it does seem to stimulate tics and this man's tics were first noticed after playing video games and he also became very computer literate throughout his life. Very well written and very well told. I wish everyone would read it to understand just a glimmer of what children/adults with these conditions deal with on a daily basis.


Carry Yourself Back to Me (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Carry Yourself Back to Me (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Deborah Reed, Tanya Eby (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/31/2013


My friend and I both really enjoyed this book. It kept us both listening on each of our trips going out of state. It's not a literary masterpiece but it has love, family, suspense, and relationships and a strong woman character. I would recommend it to a friend to listen to. It's the story of a woman singer and song writer, Annie Walsh, gets kicked in the guts when the man she loves passionately leaves her and she doesn't know why.


The Christmas Train
The Christmas Train
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 12/10/2014


Delightful book with a surprising ending. The kind of books that I enjoy between heavy reading.


The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1890
Review Date: 11/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Although this was not the best written book and the characters not developed enough, the story was delightful and I read the whole book in just three "stop-the-clocks, I'm reading" sessions. It has a touch of struggle, romance, mother and daughter relationships, and the development of true friends so that in the end, the book does work for a light but enjoyable read. I look forward to reading more of this author.


House of Sand and Fog (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 6/13/2009


I found this to be plausible and therefore very disturbing to think how small actions and different view points can lead people to places that no one would expect themselves to go. This book has stayed with me and I think about its very well delivered lesson. It was well developed and kept me very interested without my mind wandering as I listened to it.


The Island (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Island (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Elin Hilderbrand, Denice Hicks (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/3/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This was a good hammock reading book. Nice and light but I was never bored with it and enjoyed it.


Juliet, Naked
Juliet, Naked
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/3/2011


I liked it and enjoyed listening to it but it didn't stay with me. Only a month after listening to it, I had already forgotten what it was about when PBS asked me to rate it. It's got humor and although maybe a bit slow, it kept my attention and I liked the ending.


The Jury  (Sisterhood, Bk 4) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 2/6/2010


If you like a mystery where women are the the main characters and are very strong, this is it. Revenge is on their minds and they go for it. Easy to stay focused when listening and exciting.


Light on Snow (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Light on Snow (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Anita Shreve, Alyson Silverman (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/10/2013


I enjoyed the story and the style of writing and the reader. All in all, a very enjoyable experience.


LIPSTICK JUNGLE (UNABRIDGED)
LIPSTICK JUNGLE (UNABRIDGED)
Author: CANDACE BUSHNELL
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/6/2010


I enjoyed this light book where nothing terrible happens except girlfriends grow up from their 20's when they start their careers in a hard man's world but climb to the top. It was a very easy story to keep focused on while traveling and I found myself laughing and yet feeling their pain. I would lend this to a friend for easy listening. I gave it three stars because it was light and not stupendous. If I was rating it for enjoyment only, I'd give it four stars.


Mad Dash (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Mad Dash (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Patricia Gaffney, Laural Merlington (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/15/2014


I enjoyed the story but the reader didn't quite get a couple of the characters right in my opinion although she did get the main character perfectly. I'd recommend it to a friend for a light but enjoyable read.


The Owl & Moon Cafe
The Owl & Moon Cafe
Author: Jo-Ann Mapson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 9/25/2009


I really enjoy Ms. Mapson's writing and this was no exception. It was a bit too predictable for me but i enjoyed the reading and the characters. It's not a 5 star like most of her others that I have read though. I loved the four generation of women and how they all love each other but lives are made from reacting to one another. An enjoyable read.


True Colors (Audio CD) (UnAbridged)
True Colors (Audio CD) (UnAbridged)
Author: Kristin Hannah, Sandra Burr (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 1/1/2014


I enjoyed this 12 cd book. A small town where everyone knows everyone and a family's history in the community is important. Then comes what the town sees as trouble. Sisters who are very close and an authoritarian father have to try to learn what family really means. Kristin Hannah draws good stories with her writing. I enjoyed this one.


Why Do I Love These People?: Honest and Amazing Stories of Real Families (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 9/25/2009


Lots of small stories to learn from. I enjoyed them and they were captivating.


Winter Garden (Audio CD) (UnAbridged)
Winter Garden (Audio CD) (UnAbridged)
Author: Kristin Hannah, Susan Ericksen (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 12/15/2014


Oh my gosh, this book has really stayed with me. Not necessarily a happy go lucky book though. I am keeping it for awhile until I get most of my friends to listen to it. Very powerful although sometimes I wanted the author's to stay with the plot a bit more.


The Zookeeper's Wife
The Zookeeper's Wife
Author: Diane Ackerman
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/31/2013


I learned a lot about the holocaust in Poland including the horrors and the goodness of the non-Jews. It was very well written.


1 to 16 of 16