Krista (berries674) - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 93 - Page:
Down Range: To Iraq and Back
Down Range: To Iraq and Back
Author: Bridget C. Cantrell, Chuck Dean
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/11/2008


Being the girlfriend of an Iraq war Veteran, this book was very helpful and insightful in understanding the effect of war and post-traumtic behavior. I would recommend it to anyone that is interested in a better undertanding of what happens to the men and women that go off to war and what effects such will have on them. This book was lent to me by my boyfriend (he has read it several times himself) as it is a reminder to those with PTSD that it is a normal reaction to what they endure and that each day moves them towards hope and healing.


Dream When You're Feeling Blue
Dream When You're Feeling Blue
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 12/5/2008
Helpful Score: 7


This was a great tale set in the 1940's during WWII when men were off fighting while the women stayed on the homefront and kept the country going. I love this era, so i thouroghly enjoyed this story. It involves 3 sisters who write to various men off at war. The story is heartwarming and bittersweet. Just some advice, DONT FLIP TO THE BACK OF THE BOOK and read the interview with the authour...as it basically will give away the ending. I did this by mistake, and was very discouraged as i read that i would know how it ended!


Drowning Ruth
Drowning Ruth
Author: Christina Schwarz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 682
Review Date: 9/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Wasn't too crazy about this one. While a fan of alternating narratives through past and present, such in this book were very disconjoined with an unsmooth transition. The plot was intriguing, yet predictable. No huge mystery solved in the ending for me either. Very flat in my opinion.


Elsewhere
Elsewhere
Author: Gabrielle Zevin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 4/25/2009
Helpful Score: 5


I read this book in less than a day. While being about the afterlife, Zevin's concept was very fresh and unique! It didn't dwell on any one particular theory or lesson, but was thought provoking and imagniative. HIGHLY recommended!


Everything Must Go
Everything Must Go
Author: Elizabeth Flock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 11/14/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I have to be quite honest. This was a quick read because the author has an easy flow to her writting. However, the book was, in my opinion very boring. It accounts the life of a teen boy who works in a clothing store, whose bright future was crushed by a family tragedy and breakdown. The tragedy doesn't even become apparent until the middle of the book....The back of the book leads you to believe it will be quite gripping, however i have to disagree... I hate giving "bad" reviews, but this one is just so-so. Still, I cannot wait to read Flock's other 2.. (Emma & Me and But Inside I'm Screaming)..i think they will make up for this one!


Expecting Adam: A True Story of Birth, Rebirth, and Everyday Magic
Expecting Adam: A True Story of Birth, Rebirth, and Everyday Magic
Author: Martha Beck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 3/11/2010


An absolultetly beautiful book...it unteaches what education and society teach us about life, love and normalcy. I adored Beck's honesty, wit, sincerity and style. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ANYONE WITH A HEART.


Eye Contact
Eye Contact
Author: Cammie McGovern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 11/21/2009


While I thought this was a great story and as I love reading books from different perspectives (or narratives), I was not a fan of the lack of chapters. The different views were hard for me to decipher, especailly in the begining as I was getting to feel comfortable with the characters and plot. It felt very disconjoined at first. The story, however and it's suspense along with the insight into Autism was fascinating. Overall, I guess the outline of the book was it's downfall for me...but again, that's just my personal taste. Definately give this book a shot!


Finding Fish: A Memoir
Finding Fish: A Memoir
Author: Antwone Q. Fisher, Mim E. Rivas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 3/14/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I really loved this memior. I truly felt as though I was sitting next to Mr. Fisher listening to him talk about his life. The narration was perfect, detailed, true, and from the heart. While suffering so much negativity from literally, birth, Antwone recounts all of his abuse while focusing on the good in the world. He so easily could have been a "statistic" that fell through the cracks. Antwone pushed through among self-realizations and optimism with barely any guidance or positive influence. He hung on to every word of hope that WAS offered to him througout his life and cultivated into a beautiful human being. He truly illustrates how it doesn't matter where you come from...it's where you're going and how you get there.

EDIT: I watched the movie as soon as I read the book. As ALWAYS- the book was much better. As I love Denzel Washington, the movie was excellent, but they are still two different animals...(the adaptation was not as detailed, and some things were added/left out for a purpose, im assuming) READ THIS EVEN IF YOU SAW THE MOVIE!!


Firefly Lane
Firefly Lane
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1027
Review Date: 1/24/2010


I enjoyed this book and loved the spanning of eras and "music", however I did not connect with it or the characters like I had antcipated. I hate to give what seems like a negative review, but I felt as though the middle might have dragged and I expected it to have more tumult to the storyline (sorry, I love reading about dysfunction). Overall, I would definately recommend this book as it is surely a heartwarming story of the endurance of a 30 year friendship.


From Baghdad, With Love: A Marine, the War, and a Dog Named Lava
Review Date: 11/13/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I am excited to be the first to review this book!!!...First of all, my boyfriend bought this book for me. He is a Marine who served in Iraq, which makes this book even more meaningful to me. Second of all, i LOVE animals and just had to have this book. It is a truly heartwarming read, where a bunch of "trained tough" Marines go through hell and high water to nurture and save the life of a little 2-month old puppy...while remaining focused on the war...(feeding/keeping ANY animal is also highly prohibited to boot). I would recommend this book to a serviceman/woman, an animal lover or anyone just looking for a great thing to come out of a horrible war...Bad news is: Not only is this one a keeper...as a gift, i will not part with this book!


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2081
Review Date: 5/16/2010


Great book...loaded with suspense and intrigue. Can't wait to read the next two and see the film!


The Girls
The Girls
Author: Lori Lansens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 8/27/2009


Great read on a set of unique characters--all around. Rose, Ruby, Uncle Stash and Aunt Lovey are a one-of-a-kind family. This book really brought to life the strengths and weaknesses of conjoined twins. Written in 2 different voices (fonts), they were so different in thier characters even though they live attached. Would definately recommend.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3404
Review Date: 4/4/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I don't feel as strongly as most reviewers do about this book. It was definately not the BEST memior I've ever read, however it was intriguing nontheless. Although the family's survival was enormously triumphant given the life they led, I felt as though the Walls children weren't given a chance by the parents whatsoever. Mrs. Walls was downright discpicable in my opinion. As for Mr. Walls, given he was a drunken, semi-parnoid dreamer, he at least was not as condescending and completely devoid of any parenting skills like his wife. Her character (and I say this, because this read like fiction to me) was just so self absorbed and delusional that I bore no pity for her at all. It was as though each day was worse than the next for this family, but it started to get redundant and I felt very aware that I was just trying to get through to the end. This was no doubt a stunning look at an impovershed life and quirky family values, but I wouldn't hail it nearly as great as most readers did.


Goldie: A Lotus Grows in the Mud
Goldie: A Lotus Grows in the Mud
Author: Goldie Hawn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 10/11/2008


I have always loved Golie as an actess, now i love her as a person...this is a great book. Goldie has done so much with her life and has experienced so much, this book is very insipring.


Happy Birthday or Whatever: Track Suits, Kim Chee, and Other Family Disasters
Review Date: 7/19/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Adorable, hilarious, light and quirky memior!!! Loved it!! Choi's humor is fresh, sarcastic and totally relatable!!! I liked her humor even more than Jen Lancaster. Her mother is a riot!! I love how she writes her broken English-Korean into the dialogue. Highly recommended!


Haunted Ground (Cormac Maguire and Nora Gavin, Bk 1)
Haunted Ground (Cormac Maguire and Nora Gavin, Bk 1)
Author: Erin Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 6/23/2009


Good mystery. Keeps you guessing and intrigued. Plot has many twists and turns that will definately keep your interest. The Irish setting and history are also interesting.


Heartsick (Archie and Gretchen, Bk 1)
Heartsick (Archie and Gretchen, Bk 1)
Author: Chelsea Cain
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 8/31/2010


ABSOLUTELY UNBELIEVEABLE!
I got this as a free download on my NOOK...WOW what a great book!
Awesome psycho-suspense, remnisicent of Silence of the Lambs, yet original and possibly even SICKER! Highly recommended for those looking for a totally twisted page-turner!!!
5 stars!!! Can't wait to read the next in series!


Helter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders
Helter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders
Author: Vincent Bugliosi, Curt Gentry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 8/18/2009


Bugliosi is a great prosecutor and a great author. His writing brought this case alive for me, as I wasn't around when it happened. I've always wondered about Manson's appeal to "The Family" and although I still don't quite see it, Bugloisi's fact-loaded count made it all come back to life for me. Surely there are other true crimes out there with a more modern appeal for this generation, but this classic should be read by anyone that is interested in them. It is, after all, the #1 BestSelling True Crime book ever!


The Heroin Diaries
The Heroin Diaries
Author: Nikki Sixx
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 10/18/2008


UNBELIEVEABLE book...I've always liked Motley Crue and Nikki Sixx, but this book documents a year of his life by diary entries and it's absolutely amazing that he is still alive. It really reminds us that fortune and fame don't bring peace or love to one's life, and that is what really matters...ROCKSTARS are not SUPERHEROS and this book really brings that into light


The History of Love
The History of Love
Author: Nicole Krauss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 493
Review Date: 3/28/2010


Sadly, I did not feel as most readers here do about this book. It was too disjointed for me and I didn't like the writting style or format much either. I skipped the middle 80 pages or so just to get to the end and I don't even think I grasped how it all "tied in" because the book lost my interest beyond the point of return. The good news is...I'll be passing it along to someone else who I hope enjoys it as others did. Just not my cup of tea.


21 to 40 of 93 - Page: