Krista (berries674) - - Reviews

41 to 60 of 93 - Page:
Homer's Odyssey: A Fearless Feline Tale, or How I Learned about Love and Life with a Blind Wonder Cat
Review Date: 2/15/2010


Right up there with Marley, Dewey and Wesley. I love books about pets!!!!
There are great lessons to be learned though Homer, a beautiful soul who never lived within the boundaries of his blindness. Sorry, this one's a keeper...I can't bear to part with it. Read it, you'll see!


The Host
The Host
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1193
Review Date: 8/8/2009
Helpful Score: 7


Not my cup of tea. I don't even know why I dabble with Sci-Fi. I guess I did because alot of reviewers loved this book even though Sci-Fi wasn't a favorite of thiers. I also asked for this book as a gift while I was reading the Twilight Saga, figuring I'd love to try anything Meyers wrote. The first few chapters make me think "OK, I could get into this...it's kind of intriguing". After about 200+ pages...I was slogging through the pages hoping it would get better for me. It never did. I skimmed the next 200 pages and then absolutely SKIPPED chapter among chapter to the end. I'm sorry, but I truly wish I put it down at pg. 200!!

Oh well. That's my story, and I'm sticking to it. I'm done with Sci-Fi no matter what!


I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
Author: Maya Angelou
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/15/2009


Good classic book about growing up an African American girl. Great autobiography, my first Maya Angelou book...I'd surely read another!


I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl
Review Date: 11/15/2009


While she definately has a great sense of humor, I wasn't a big fan of this book. I know it is more or less a compilation of events in her life, but I felt no investment and no desire to pick this book back up after putting it down. She seemed obnoxoius, overly critical and like someone else said..."over the top". Just a little much, in my opinion...it got annoying. I think I'm more apt to enjoy a memoir that actually has a story line to it. But if you are a Jen Lancaster fan, I imagine you'd love Laurie's narrative and sarcasm, as they are definately laughable.


If I Am Missing or Dead: A Sister's Story of Love, Murder, and Liberation
Review Date: 4/8/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I have to use plagerism here and quote another reviewer because I've never agreed more with another review:

"I didn't really care for this book and found it somewhat misleading. By the title, it is sounds like it is supposed to be about her sister, but it is more about her life.

I also found it hard to read because she doesn't use quotation marks to denote someone speaking. Maybe it's just me, but I found myself re-reading several lines to figure out if what was being said was spoken out loud."

That being said, I still found the book compelling and read it rather quickly.


The Interpretation of Murder
The Interpretation of Murder
Author: Jed Rubenfeld
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/2/2009


Although I don't read much historical fiction, I'm trying to do so more often. This book reminded me of Criminal Minds meets Sherlock Holmes. The Freudian views, as said in other reviews were not overwhelming, but enough to keep it interesting. As the focus is on a murder mystery, at the same time it gives a fact-based glimpse of Freud's FIRST and ONLY visit to America. The book did seem about 50-100pages too long, but it kept my interest nontheless. Well written and researched!


Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 1)
Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 12/31/2008


I feel like an outcast in that i did not love this book....
It took me almost 2 weeks to read, and i only finished it because it's my pet peeve to leave a book unfinished.

I did like the sense of education i got from it in the whole realm of vampirism, but i found it to be very drawn out and boring. A little too "historical" for me. I think i'm more drawn to modern paranormal...such as Twilight or Southern Vampire Series, which i'm going to tackle next year (which starts tomorrow!)

I will hold onto this book in case i want to re-read it, as my taste may change...you never know!


Josie and Jack
Josie and Jack
Author: Kelly Braffet
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Although I believe it was the author's intention to be vague, much was left to the imagination. Josie and Jack's lives were pretty much just a sick cycle of dysfuntion that kept going around like a merry-go-round. The big question I know a lot of readers ask is "Did they, or didn't they?" Their relationship was far more intimate than that of normal brother and sister. I would have to say that as I do like the premises of Braffet's books, ~like Last Seen Leaving~ it just feels a little too unresolved and anticlimatic in the end. Although the ending here left me a little awe-struck. Worth the read, but nothing ground breaking!


Julia's Chocolates
Julia's Chocolates
Author: Cathy Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 9/26/2009


This book was awesome! I wasn't sure if it was going to be too "fluffy-frilly-girly" for me, but I really enjoyed it!!! What a loveable, eccentic cast of characters!!! I felt like I just wanted to be a part of thier little circle. Great story lines, with just enough suspense to keep it juicy!! You'll be rooting for every single character in this adorable book (well, maybe not all, but most...and the others will add just enough grit to make the book interesting)...Highly recommended!!


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5708
Review Date: 1/27/2009
Helpful Score: 7


This book was magnificent! It embodied every single emotion, value and lesson possible!! As an American, it was humbling. As a human being, it teaches so much...the value of friendship and loyalty, the horror of guilt and betrayal, and most importantly the power of redemption!!! Although it was set in Afghanistan (which added to the dramticism and taught me plenty) this story applies to any and every culture, illustrating that we all have something to fight for, honor, appreciate and believe in!!!!! Verry powerful read!!! Still contemplating whether to relinquish it to my bookshelf or keep it forever!


Last Seen Leaving
Last Seen Leaving
Author: Kelly Braffet
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/22/2009


A very quick paced, suspensful read. I liked the "weaving" of past/present/point of view. Both Miranda and Anne are easily related with. Ends leaving a bit to the imagination...Can't wait to try Josie and Jack, which is the author's debut novel!


The Law of Similars
The Law of Similars
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 9/2/2009


Good book. I wouldn't know what category to put it under, but I guess if you like suspense, sticky situations and bear any interest in homeopathy, you'll like this book. I read Bohjalian's Midwives, and I wouldn't say I liked it AS much, but it definately held my interst.


The Liar's Diary
The Liar's Diary
Author: Patry Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 5/23/2009
Helpful Score: 6


5 stars!!!! WOW! A true hidden jem, I found this in a used bookstore...This book left me breathless. An AWESOME entanglement of psychological supense, family secrets, and seductive mystery!!!! As it literally left me guessing til the very last chapter, I was so caught up in the author's flow, the twists and turns, that I actually felt anxious as it neared the end! I don't know if it's because I didn't want it to end, or if I just couldn't believe how good this book was!!!!! Liar's Diary set a new standard in what I'll expect out of a supense novel!!! This is Francis' first book, I hope she writes again soon!!!!


Living Dead in Dallas (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 2)
Living Dead in Dallas (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 2)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2656
Review Date: 6/29/2009
Helpful Score: 11


Well, I gave this book a chance after not really loving Dead Until Dark. I just cannot get into this series. I don't feel invested in the storyline; the characters just don't do much for me as I feel very detached while reading through this. I will admit I read 230 pages and skimmed the last 50 just to finish the book. Sorry for the negative review, but that's what they are here for!


Marked (House of Night, Bk 1)
Marked (House of Night, Bk 1)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1185
Review Date: 11/6/2009


I was hesitant to start another Vamp series after reading Twilight (liked it) and Sookie (bored to death, didn't finish series). Although the beginning was slow for me, I found it necessary for the overall understanding of the House of Night and how it works. After I got over that hump, I breezed through this book and found it more appealing than Twilight. Not only does it have more adult content, I just liked how it was less frilly than others I've read. The charatcters behaved more suitable for a vampyre tale. I also really enjoy the Mythological references and information...it's a great touch in keeping the readers interest.


Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1405
Review Date: 11/14/2008


Who didn't love this book???


Me  & Emma
Me & Emma
Author: Elizabeth Flock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 287
Review Date: 1/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


After being unaffected and bored by Flock's "Everything Must Go"....all i can say is WOW! WOW! WOW! As harrowing a tale this is, it was such an great read and i fell in love with Carrie and Emma. I loved the narative which was in the voice of a "smart-for-her-years" 8yr old. I cannot get over the ending, which i thought i had figured out, as it left me absolutely speechless...i could go on and on about this...but all i have to say is...read the synopsis, read the book and i KNOW you'll feel the same!!!! A++++++ to Flock's redemption with me as a GREAT author!


Me Before You
Me Before You
Author: Jojo Moyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 239
Review Date: 9/30/2016


This book is absolutely perfect. I haven't been so moved by a book in quite some time. I'm not "the romance type" but this book is so much more than that. I loved the characters...and felt all of thier feelings and points of view. Wonderful writing, and also a wonderful movie (I watched immediately after) but as usual the book is SO MUCH MORE, especially with this one. A lot was cut out...while not critical...reading the book was that much more satisfying. I would recommend this to ANYONE. If you've contemplated it, then read it. Beautiful.


Memoirs of a Geisha
Memoirs of a Geisha
Author: Arthur Golden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2682
Review Date: 4/11/2009


So many adjectives describe this book. It is an intensely rich, intricately woven memior filled with such a detailed look into life as a geisha and the Japanese tradition. I was so naive, and what I thought I knew about geisha was sooo wrong. The book read slowly for me, but not in a negative way. It took me almost a week to finish because it just had to be read slowly and thoughtfully as to not miss a single thread of the fabric of each page!!! This very review reflects how I was taken back by Sayuri's narrative...(i loved her analogies). Although this is fiction, it is expalined by Golden that it's historical facts are completely accurate, and boy did he do his homework!!! I feel like I've been to Japan and back. I honestly can't explain it, this book MUST BE READ!!!!


Midwives
Midwives
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1155
Review Date: 10/20/2008


Great book...suspenseful, quick read. I especially liked that it was told through the midwife's teen daughter, yet the author is a MALE...interesting, well written...would definately recommend!


41 to 60 of 93 - Page: