Reviews - Mary L. (maspaws)

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
The Baby Owner's Manual: Operating Instructions, Trouble-Shooting Tips, and Advice on First-Year Maintenance
Review Date: 8/19/2010


"This is a great book for any expectant father (especially) to read. My son in law thought it was very funny, and in an odd way helpful:)"


Beauty Sleep: A Glamorous Mother, a Secret Rival, and Her Mysterious Death
Beauty Sleep: A Glamorous Mother, a Secret Rival, and Her Mysterious Death
Author: Michaele G. Ballard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 3/2/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Boring, nothing interesting in this book at all. Too much repetition not really much of a story to tell."


Because You Loved Me
Because You Loved Me
Author: M. William Phelps
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/28/2010


"This is such a sad story and hard to believe that a daughter could be so cruel. I wondered if the daughter had some undiagnosed mental illness. This is the worse story of young love and its affects when the people involved and obviously mentally ill. Makes you wonder how two people find each other so randomly and cook up such a plan. This is a very good read, and I highly recommend it to true crime readers. It may not be an enjoyable read but it sure makes you think about young love in a different way."


The Best Democracy Money Can Buy: The Truth About Corporate Cons, Globalization and High-Finance Fraudsters
Review Date: 6/6/2011


"Wow?!!!!! Scary and maybe too informative,,, and I'm sure just the tip of the iceberg!!!!"


Blind Passion: A True Story of Seduction, Obsession and Murder (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Review Date: 5/9/2010


"I just finished this book a really easy read, and very interesting. The story is so bizarre I had to remind myself it was a true story. Very well written, if you are a true crime fan you will like this one. Read it all in almost 1 sitting it just traps you...."


Blood Will Tell : A Shocking True Story of Marriage, Murder, and Fatal Family Secrets (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Review Date: 8/19/2010


"This was a very strange story. Maybe you have to have lived in Palo Alto CA to understand how people live different than me. I still don't understand what caused the murder, just lots of speculation. I would love to find out what REALLY happened that day. A good easy read, not a whole lot of characters to keep track of:) Give it a try I think most people will find it interesting if for no other reason than insanity strikes again. I'm not sure even who I feel sorry for maybe the son???"


A Dance with the Devil: A True Story of Marriage to a Psychopath
A Dance with the Devil: A True Story of Marriage to a Psychopath
Author: Barbara Bentley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 2/18/2011


"An interesting story, BUT, I couldn't help but wonder why Barbara missed all the apparent signals that something was not right. She sounds like a smart woman yet she constantly overlooked the BIG signs that something was wrong. I really got tired of listening to her complain about her finances since she also enjoyed the trips, gifts and entertainment. She was part of the problem and lived quite a good life till he tried to kill her. She benefited greatly having him around and I was tired of hearing her complaints blaming him completely. He was a nutball for sure, but she also played a part in the mess. Just hard for me to understand her reasoning. Well written though and easy read. Just don't let her stupidity makes you crazy like it did me."


Dancing with Death: The True Story of a Glamorous Showgirl, her Wealthy Husband, and a Horrifying Murder
Review Date: 4/9/2012


"Good read, interesting story. Very sad what people will do for money. A woman that had it all, looks, money adoring husband and child and it just wasn't enough..."


A Date with Death: The Secret Life of the "Craigslist Killer"
A Date with Death: The Secret Life of the "Craigslist Killer"
Author: Michele R. McPhee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/9/2010


"Boring!!! I didn't really find out much of anything new then what was in the news. There is a lot of local politics involved that I could care less about. I think there really wasn't much to write about so the author added local political police department history. I read it quick skipped over some of the parts about the police department problems and find it less than entertaining."


A Deadly Affair (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
A Deadly Affair (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Author: Tom Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/7/2010


"Good book, a lot of detail about people you don't really care about. Very long court testimony and lots of repetition. Could have been much shorter ...:) Better than some but not the best read I've had..."


Death of an Angel: The True Story of a Vicious Triple-Murder that Broke the Heart of a Town
Review Date: 9/5/2010


"It is hard for me to believe that money would cause someone to kill a family. I finished this book feeling sad for the family of the deceased. The part that bothered me the most was that this was from outward appearances a "normal" person. No one had any reason to fear him. Just a bad businessman which there are many out there. Who would think it would turn into murder. Read if you like true crime, a interesting look into a mind of a killer. Who knew???"


Death Trap
Death Trap
Author: M. William Phelps
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 4/9/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Excellent writing but I am a fan of Mr. Phelps books. This one just proves people can be crazy, and easily manipulated. Almost scary that a persons mid can be so controlled they would commit murder for another. Go figure!!! All in all a good read for true crime buffs."


A Descent Into Hell: The True Story of an Altar Boy, a Cheerleader, and Twisted Texas Murder
Review Date: 4/20/2010
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I just finished this book in two days. It was very very good. I loved the author and once again I was not disappointed. A terrible story about psycho rich kids, but a book that is hard to put down. If you love true crime this one is for you."


The False Prophet: Conspiracy, Extortion and Murder in the Name of God
Review Date: 10/26/2010


"This is an incredible true crime read. It is almost so bizarre that it is hard to believe its true. I just couldn't stop reading. People are murdered and tossed away like trash. And the head of the gang does it all in the name of God!!! It's so sad to see how easily women can be manipulated by a good looking? man. How do these people find each other? And the family of these wackos seem normal, scary to say the least! Read it you won't forget it."


Honeymoon With A Killer
Honeymoon With A Killer
Author: Ronald E. Bowers, Don Lasseter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/9/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I just finished this book and thought it was very good. Getting through the first chapter or so was hard, but once the story developed it was really interesting. I loved the details that the author gave about the set up of the murder and all the motives involved. This was one of the better true crimes that I have read lately. If you are a true crime reader I think you will find this satisfying if not disturbing."


In the Still of the Night: The Strange Death of Ronda Reynolds
In the Still of the Night: The Strange Death of Ronda Reynolds
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 12/11/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I am a big Ann Rule fan, this ook not so much. I found it very repetitious and boring. Hard for me to get through and I read other books in between. Certainly not the quality story I expect fro her books."


Inside the Kingdom : My Life in Saudi Arabia
Inside the Kingdom : My Life in Saudi Arabia
Author: Carmen Bin Ladin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 8/31/2010


"Very interesting, helped me understand the Muslim beliefs. The story helped me understand the underlying issues and why we as Christians don't see things the same way. With all the terrorism on the news it helps to know more about the Muslims and how they are not bad people, just different in their outlook on religion. The author wrote a very direct, easy to understand portrait of the Muslim world. Highly recommend if you want to know more about the Middle East and why they live and believe a they do."


Mommy's Little Girl: The True Story of Casey Anthony and her Daughter Caylee's Tragic Fate
Review Date: 5/27/2010
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"If you kept up at all with the Casey Anthony story this is the book for you. I followed the story in the news and found the book fascinating even though I already knew a lot of the details. It's an easy read and makes you wonder what is wrong with that girl. A very sad story but made me think what where the parents thinking not to see the warning signs that their daughter was unstable."


My Forbidden Face: Growing Up Under the Taliban: A Young Woman's Story
My Forbidden Face: Growing Up Under the Taliban: A Young Woman's Story
Author: Latifa
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 9/12/2010


"Fascinating story of a young girls life before and after the Taliban took over Kabul. A sad story on how life changed so drastically for this family. Hard to believe people have to live under such violent inhumane conditions. Very good read if you want to know how the Afghan people are really living, and how lucky we are to live where we do."


The Neighbor (D. D. Warren, Bk 3)
The Neighbor (D. D. Warren, Bk 3)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 182
Review Date: 8/28/2010


"Wow what a great book!! I thought I would read just a chapter or two and ended up reading the whole thing. Very engaging and keeps you wondering till the end. A great example of how a mystery thriller should be written. Highly recommend!"


1 to 20 of 28 - Page: