Julie S. - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2074
Review Date: 7/20/2007


What's all the fuss about? I wasn't impressed with the story or the characters. Shallow.


Emotional Intelligence: Why It Can Matter More Than IQ
Emotional Intelligence: Why It Can Matter More Than IQ
Author: Daniel Goleman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/20/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Great book. Very insightful. Would highly recommend to anyone interested in 'what makes people tick'.


Fodor's Escape to the American Desert, 1st Edition: The Definitive Collection of One-of-a-Kind Travel Experiences (Fodor's Escape to the American Desert)
Review Date: 7/20/2007
Helpful Score: 2


An absolutely gorgeous little book! Highly recommended for daydreaming! Even if you never go, you can still live vicariously through the author & photographer. Good advice, too.


The Girls He Adored (E. L. Pender, Bk 1)
The Girls He Adored (E. L. Pender, Bk 1)
Author: Jonathan Nasaw
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 2/10/2007


Bizarre story. The whole time I'm reading it I'm saying no way this could really happen, it's just too bizarre. But I couldn't put it down, either, which is why it got 4 stars.


Into the Wild
Into the Wild
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1035
Review Date: 5/26/2007


Jon Krakauer is an excellent writer. I really felt as if I got to know Chris McCandless and I have since saught out Krakauer's other books. One of those "can't put it down" books.


Letters from Motherless Daughters : Words of Courage, Grief, and Healing
Review Date: 3/20/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I lost my mom when I was 21. Any woman who has gone through this from the first five years of age and up is included, and can get something powerful and positive from this book (and also the original "Motherless Daughters", which I also highly recommend). Especially worth your time if you need to deal with 'mom died before I had a chance to tell her' issues.


Motherless Daughters : The Legacy of Loss
Motherless Daughters : The Legacy of Loss
Author: Hope Edelman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 3/20/2007
Helpful Score: 4


One of the better books for daughters who need to deal with their 'I lost mom before I had a chance to...' issues. Definetly worth your time. Make sure there is a box of tissues close by.


Old Jules
Old Jules
Author: Mari Sandoz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/20/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I am interested in frontier stories from every point of view and this is a fascinating one. Nebraska in the late 1800's and early 1900's.


Pompeii
Pompeii
Author: Robert Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 2/21/2007
Helpful Score: 4


What a great story! I thought to myself it's Pompeii, I know how it turns out, but it actually had a very interesting ending. Captures the time and place so well.


The South Beach Diet
The South Beach Diet
Author: Arthur Agatston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 369
Review Date: 6/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Pretty simple plan to follow and it works!


The Volumetrics Weight-Control Plan
The Volumetrics Weight-Control Plan
Author: Barbara Rolls, Robert A. Barnett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/24/2007


A good common-sense plan. Easy to follow. I liked it.


What Color Is Your Parachute? 2009: A Practical Manual for Job-hunters and Career Changers (What Color Is Your Parachute?)
Review Date: 1/11/2010


Loads of good advice and resources for those looking for a job, or trying to figure out whether to take the leap into a completely different career. Can't recommend it enough!


1 to 12 of 12