Lori S. (GroovyGlitterGirl) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 46 - Page:
Are You There God?  It's Me, Margaret
Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret
Author: Judy Blume
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 2/20/2008
Helpful Score: 2


One of the best books that I have read for girls 11-12 years old. I just shared it with one of my neighbor's daughter who is 11 going on 12 and she loved it as well. Timeless, seems like the story of being a girl at that age is the same whether you are 42 like me or 11 like her :)


Asking for Trouble
Asking for Trouble
Author: Elizabeth Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 243
Review Date: 12/31/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Well now we know how "Open mouth, Insert foot" works out, or at least you will know once you read this humorus account of one women's tale of doing just that. A delightful and quick read.


The Baby Farm
The Baby Farm
Author: Karen Harper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 1/1/2008
Helpful Score: 9


It's not about breeding babies, like you might think... a midwife, an outcast doctor and the small town that surrounds their story, read it and fall into the small town "every one knows every one story," and then be surprised by how it all turns out.


The Bathroom Trivia Book: Nuggets of Knowledge for America's Favorite Reading Room
Review Date: 1/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


What's not to like, trivia in short busrts for every man's favorite reading room :)


Because it is Bitter, and Because it is My Heart
Because it is Bitter, and Because it is My Heart
Author: Joyce Carol Oates
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Very impacting novel involving racism and moral ambuigity. Well written and stays with you for quite a while after you finish the book!


Because of Winn-Dixie
Because of Winn-Dixie
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 4/4/2009


A wonderful uplifting story about making friends in a new town with the help of a stray dog named Winn-Dixie. It made me laugh and it made me cry...to me that is a good read :)


Bimbos of the Death Sun (Jay Omega, Bk 1)
Bimbos of the Death Sun (Jay Omega, Bk 1)
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 1/27/2008
Helpful Score: 2


More wacky satire in a short whodunit fashion! I love Sharyn McCrumb's wit and often find myself reading parts of it outloud to my husband just to share a giggle :)


The Black Dahlia (L.A. Quartet, Bk 1)
The Black Dahlia (L.A. Quartet, Bk 1)
Author: James Ellroy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Very dark and a bit hard to get started, but hauntingly intriguing once you do.


Children's Letters to God
Review Date: 1/1/2008
Helpful Score: 2


So sweet, it may make your teeth fall out, but at the same time, prepare to be teary and reflective and hopeful that we all can be a part of this innocence.


Dead Even
Dead Even
Author: Brad Meltzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 5/25/2008


Fabulous read! The conflict that is set up between an wife and her husband, both attorneys for different sides is a wild ride! A must on anyone's TBR list!


Dead of Night (Doc Ford, Bk 12)
Dead of Night (Doc Ford, Bk 12)
Author: Randy Wayne White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 12/31/2007


Doc Ford (a great reoccuring character) is a Florida resident faced with a very big dilemma that poses ecological consequences to the nation and the world. A great, quick read with lots of great character development!


Deadly Grace
Deadly Grace
Author: Taylor Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 5/25/2008


This is a fabulous book full of turns and twists. Jillian is searching for her mother's past as a member of the French Resistance during WWII and finds out that some things are not always as they seem. A page turner!


Faithless (Grant County,  Bk 5)
Faithless (Grant County, Bk 5)
Author: Karin Slaughter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 354
Review Date: 1/1/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Medically accurate, turn the page reading and a couple that makes you pull for their success in a "not my type" couple of people that should not be together, but still can't stay away from each other and somehow make you understand that "not my type" pull :)


Fall on Your Knees
Fall on Your Knees
Author: Ann-Marie MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 503
Review Date: 9/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Dark, very dark... not the best family dysfunction story, but a good one :)


The First Counsel
The First Counsel
Author: Brad Meltzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/2/2008


WOW! Fast paced, page turning, gut wrenching, wonder who is on my side, mystery :) One of his best!


Flirting with Pete
Flirting with Pete
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 5/25/2008


A page turning look at one young girl's tortured life and the unexpected gifts of a good man comingled with a story of another girl's relationship with a father she never knew. This is a great book!


The Greatest White Trash Love Story Ever Told
The Greatest White Trash Love Story Ever Told
Author: Rhett Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 5/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the book description:
Book Description:
The Greatest White Trash Love Story Ever Told is simply amazing-- a completely unexpected joy and a gem of a book that made me weep and smile. It is about a "white trash boy" who loves a "white trash girl," how she responded to it, and how that love found its way through the pains of life in the white ghetto. While the story is full of romance, mystery, and good humor, it is mostly about the heart knowing its true course. The main characters are rough, uncultured, hard headed, and hard to understand, but they only want the things we all want-- love, freedom, the right to be themselves. Their dreams are our dreams, and sometimes, just sometimes, dreams come true! (But not in the way you would expect-- truly an amazing story!)

I really enjoyed it and the agree with the description about watching the workings of true love run it's course :)


I Know This Much Is True
I Know This Much Is True
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 9/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I read this book the first time when it was first published. I decided to reread it and could not believe how fast 900 pages could go by. A twin brother's story of learning to forgive and become whole by accepting the truths in his life. This is a great story loaded with lessons to take into your own life. "Love grows from this rich loam of forgiveness;that mongrels make good dogs;that the evidence of God exists in the roundness of things." I highly recommend this book!


If I'd Killed Him When I Met Him (Elizabeth MacPherson, Bk 8)
If I'd Killed Him When I Met Him (Elizabeth MacPherson, Bk 8)
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 11/30/2007
Helpful Score: 6


A great laugh out loud mystery by Sharyn McCrumb. This book has one of the best lines in it that I have ever read, I laughed so hard when I read it(the 2nd time, because it almost got by me because I read her books so fast), that I actually wrote it down. I'll give you a hint... The First Assembly of God Church... It's funny without being crass, not a lot of guts, gore, or sex, just an enjoyable quick read. I like this whole series featuring Elizabeth McPherson and her wacky relatives :)


In My Mother's House
In My Mother's House
Author: Elizabeth Winthrop
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/25/2008


A three generational look at one family's women and the consequences of keeping secrets. A great novel full of family dysfunction!


1 to 20 of 46 - Page: