Michele H. - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
All He Ever Wanted
All He Ever Wanted
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 8/10/2013
Helpful Score: 1


If you love history and have known an unrequited love then this is the book for you. I still remember this book years after reading it.


Back Roads
Back Roads
Author: Tawni O'Dell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 8/10/2013


Anyone who has lived in rural US can relate to this book. I really appreciate Tawny O'Dell.


The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
Author: James McBride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 550
Review Date: 4/29/2013


It goes to show your mother could be any color and if she is a good mother you will always love and respect her.


Daddy's Girl
Daddy's Girl
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 4/29/2013


My husband and son who are not even readers loved this book on audio CD. It was so captivating I listened twice..


Dear John
Dear John
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 493
Review Date: 5/3/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I'm really not a Nicholas Sparks fan. I know there are a lot of readers that probably disagree, but I find the plot often predictable and the characters sort of shallow. Sorry.


The Diary of Anne Frank (Critical Edition)
The Diary of Anne Frank (Critical Edition)
Author: Anne Frank
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/29/2013


A timeless classic that everyone should read.


Fitzgerald's: The Great Gatsby
Fitzgerald's: The Great Gatsby
Author: Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/29/2013


A classic everyone should read or at least see the movie. The costumes should be gorgeous.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3376
Review Date: 5/3/2011


I have worked for an agency that deals with child abuse, and I know it may be hard to believe, but Jeanette Walls' type of childhood goes on more often than most people know. I really enjoyed this book.


The Known World
The Known World
Author: Edward P. Jones
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 4/29/2013


I loved this. I thought I knew about slavery in the south but I really had no idea. Please read for the sake of everyone.


Miracle at St. Anna
Miracle at St. Anna
Author: James McBride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/29/2013


Based on a true story I really enjoyed this war story set in Italy.


Mystic River
Mystic River
Author: Dennis Lehane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 4/29/2013


I liked this book because I could relate to the after effects of Dave's trauma. But I didn't want to believe that he couldn't change and make a better future for himself.


The Pillars of the Earth
The Pillars of the Earth
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1159
Review Date: 5/3/2011


I have loaned my two copies of this book to many of my friends, and they have all returned them with rave reviews. The amount of history gleaned from this tome blew my mind. This is a real page turner with lots of action.


The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5256
Review Date: 5/3/2011


I loved this book, but it may not be for everyone. I think you have to be open minded or you may put down the book before you are finished.


Truth & Beauty: A Friendship
Truth & Beauty: A Friendship
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 4/29/2013


This is a wonderful story of friendship. It reminded me of my own best friend.


1 to 14 of 14