Ericka (fancier) - - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
Amish Patchwork : Full-Size Patterns for 46 Authentic Designs (Dover Needlework Series)
Review Date: 6/7/2009


Amish Patchwork is a book full of 46 authentic patterns. While it gives hands on instructions, it also includes easy to see patterns that are ready to be used. I haven't personally made any quilts from this book but I wish I had taken the time to try a few out, as it doesn't seem very hard at all.


The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Bk 1)
The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Bk 1)
Author: Lemony Snicket
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 587
Review Date: 5/28/2009


The Bad Beginning is the first installment in the 13 book series from Lemony Snicket. The reason it's a favorite is because it's taken on many different turns, but not so much to become confusing. It's definitely one I will be keeping on my bookshelf no matter how much dust it collects!


Because of Winn-Dixie
Because of Winn-Dixie
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 6/9/2009


Kate Dicamillo does a wonderful job in this book, and completely meets the standards she has set within her other books.
Because of Winn-Dixie does in no way fail to be exciting, fun to read, or interesting for adults, young adults, and children. Wonderful book for children to begin reading chapter books with, and also great to read to children at bedtime. They'll fall completely in love with Winn-Dixie, and her human India Opal.
I loved this book at 17, my younger brother enjoyed this book at 12, my little sister adored it at 6, and my mother thought it was fabulous (but I'll keep her age secret!).
This book is the entire reason we purchased more of Dicamillo's books, and would've sooner if we would've known they were so great! I'd recommend to any animal lovers, or people who enjoy a good story of friendship and loyalty.


The Best of James Herriot: Favorite Memories of  One of the Most Beloved Writers of Our Time
Review Date: 6/9/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I loved reading about Dr. James Herriot's favorite memories throughout his life as a vet, and husband. He cares for creatures, and it shows in this memoir... Anyone who loves animals would love to read this book. It is some extensive reading but wonderful summer with lemonade, or rainy weekend curled up with some tea. My advice would be to find this book, and cherish it!


Broken Trail
Broken Trail
Author: Alan Geoffrion
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/9/2009


Unlike most western books and movies of today, Broken Trail delivers something a little different. Alan Geoffrion writes of a story entwined with wit, adventure, survival, and of course women. Don't get confused by the women, because it starts out in a different way than expected but ends even better.
A western 'business' woman sends for five young ladies to be sent to America from China to work under her as prostitutes in her hotel and bar. Two unlikely men become part of this story when they decide to drive a humongous herd of mustangs for the army down into a western state together. Along the way the men end up meeting with many different characters who mean well, and some who only mean trouble.
Eventually these two men, Print Ritter and Tom, cross paths with these five women and finally come to the conclusion that they cannot allow for harm to come upon them.
Is there love between one of these five women and either Print Ritter, or Tom? Of course there is, but it's true love... not the kind of 'love' where two only want to sleep together.
But the most fantastic part of this story is, it's a true story... and it will keep you laughing, crying, and turning every page unstoppably until you are finished wanting more.


Broken Trail (Western Series)
Broken Trail (Western Series)
Author: Alan Geoffrion
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/11/2011


A beautiful story filled with cowboys, adventure and romance. This is not your mother's western story! This book has a special twist involving oriental ladies shipped over as purchased by a brothel.


Chasing Vermeer (Chasing Vermeer, Bk 1)
Chasing Vermeer (Chasing Vermeer, Bk 1)
Author: Blue Balliett, Brett Helquist (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 5/28/2009


This puzzle filled action packed book will keep you or your teen/child busy for hours, it's just the kind of book you don't want to put down! I randomly found this book at walmart and was instantly drawn to it because of the illustrator, Brett Helquist (also the illustrator for Series of Unfortunate Events).
The story is great, the puzzles are captivating and time consuming (great for busy mother with children!), and the illustrations are fun, and creative.


A Coal Miner's Bride: The Diary of Anetka Kaminska (Dear America)
Review Date: 6/7/2009


This book is a heart tugger, that will keep you turning page after page in an unstoppable kind of way. I read it in one day and had to reread it afterwards because it was such an amazing book. Ms. Anetka Kaminska was a very brave girl, and even though all of the happenings in her life weren't the most ideal of situations she finds a way to have a life that flourishes after all. I highly recommend this book and will never (personally) get rid of my copy! Thank you so much to the paperbackswap member who gave this book to me, it's very special to me.


The Dangerous Book for Boys
The Dangerous Book for Boys
Author: Conn Iggulden, Hal Iggulden
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 6/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Make a bow, build a tree house, learn to skip rocks, read about other boys... just a few of the numerous adventures for boys of all ages contained within the pages of The Dangerous Book for Boys! There is so much information that I'm surprised they were able to fit it into just one book.
It's a trip back in time, to the days where video games, and electronics weren't so vast in existence. "Recapture Sunday afternoons and long summer days". But don't let yourself believe that this book will only bore your children to death, they will have so many things to do to keep them active they'll forget about their video games and get lost in the outdoors.


The Gallic War (Thrift Edition)
The Gallic War (Thrift Edition)
Author: Julius Caesar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/7/2009


The Gallic War is the perfect book for anyone who loves being perfectly informed about something. This book has completely detailed maps from Caeser's own plans. It isn't hard to get into if you are one who is very interested in this era in history!


A Journey to the New World: The Diary of Remember Patience Whipple (Dear America)
Review Date: 5/28/2009
Helpful Score: 3


A Journey to the New World is a fantastic addition to the Dear America series. It's an emotional story, but makes you think about how lucky we are to live in this age. I learned so much through the reading of this 'diary' as I do when I read any of them.
They're explorers upon the Mayflower looking to find a land that is safe from England, and it's King. Where they will be free from his laws, and happy together. Though the trip is rough, and many souls are lost they find a way to find what they're looking for, and be happy even though they have lost so much.
Everyone should read it!


Killing Mr. Griffin
Killing Mr. Griffin
Author: Lois Duncan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 6/9/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I read this book when I was about eleven years old, in a week on summer when my friends went away to day camp. Fabulous reader though, I especially loved the unexpected twists and turns the story took every character through. Their way of scaring the teacher goes sour, but the main story here doesn't. I recommend it to any young adult reader who enjoys mysteries, and/or thrillers.


A Line in the Sand: The Alamo Diary of Lucinda Lawrence, Gonzales, Texas, 1836 (Dear America)
Review Date: 5/28/2009


Ms. Lucinda Lawrence definitely lived a life of chaos during the time of the battle of the Alamo. But she's a courageous one who will steal your heart and leave you wanting more at the end of the book. And with that comment I must say it will have you crying, and crying, and crying. But it's yet another of my favorite books and I'm glad to have it on my shelf.

This book is one of those that you keep because it's special, one that you'll read over and over and over and never get tired of it. It's one that little girls will see and immediately want to read it. My little sister had this one read to her and absolutely loved it, and she was only 7 years old.

The way Sherry Garland wrote this book will make you believe you are there right along Ms. Lawrence and her friend and family. But let me tell you Texas was not the place to be at that time!!!


The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
Author: Frances Hodgson Burnett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/9/2009


Characters in this book will keep you interseted through every page of this book. Great for reading to younger girls, it will be greatly enjoyed!


The Tolkien Reader
The Tolkien Reader
Author: J.R.R. Tolkien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 6/9/2009


This is not one of Tolkiens best books... but it has some good parts to it as well. But the whole point about this book is that it isn't a book, it's a reader. And a reader is mostly just a book put together with a whole bunch of short stories, poems, lyrics, drawings, etc. That's what this book is, a reader. Maybe to some it could be appealing, but it wasn't as interesting to me as I thought it was going to be.
Nice book for casual reading on the weekends or so though. Would recommend for a collector, but maybe not for someone who was a Tolkien fan.


Wayside School Is Falling Down (Wayside School, Bk 2)
Review Date: 6/9/2009


I read this book when I was in the 1st or 2nd grade (or had it read to me). I know at that time I loved the story, and especially loved each character and the way they were illustrated and depicted in the book. Wayside school is definitely a wacky place to be educated, but leads to awesome adventures for the characters as well as readers.
Eventually, we read this book to pieces and unfortunately lost it in a big move. I missed this book, I really really wanted to read it over and over again. One day I found it in a Goodwill and bought it for a dollar or so. Once I brought it home and began to read it I was overwhelmed with all of the memories this book held for me.
Yes, it's a younger person's type of book and I am 19... but this is one of those books that children don't forget, it's the kind they beg to be read to them over and over.


The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook
The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook
Author: Joshua Piven, David Borgenicht
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 6/7/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I found this little handbook to be a great reader, and informative guide as well. If I ever get stuck in a cab with a pregnant woman I'm confident I'll be able to deliver it - as well jumping from a roof into a dumpster. Although the situations in this book don't seem entirely possible, you never know. But I am glad I got it, and I plan on keeping it.


Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: College
Review Date: 6/9/2009


Although I am not a student at a large university, private college, or even a more normal college I still enjoyed this book. I attend a Technical College, which has smaller classes, no dorms, and less time spent at school. This means that most of the information within this book was unneeded by myself. Regardless, it was well written, and hilarious! I read the entire thing, cover to cover, and plan on keeping it within my collection. This makes me look forward to reading all of the Worst-Case Scenario handbooks!


1 to 18 of 18