Kathy W. - - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
The Apprentice (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 2)
The Apprentice (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 2)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 528
Review Date: 7/27/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Although this is marketed as the second book in the
Rizzoli and Isles series, it is actually the first on in which Rizzoli is a main character. I love the show on TV and love the books. Jane in the book seems a harder edged character than Jane on TV, but the suspense is wonderful in the book! I am eagerly awaiting the arrival of Book 3 and can't read them fast enough.


Bad Girl Creek (Bad Girl Creek, Bk 1)
Bad Girl Creek (Bad Girl Creek, Bk 1)
Author: Jo-Ann Mapson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 3/31/2010


What a wonderful book for anyone who is questioning the decisions they have made in their life. Anything is possible!!


The Dark Tide (Ty Hauck, Bk 1)
The Dark Tide (Ty Hauck, Bk 1)
Author: Andrew Gross
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 5/28/2010


I loved this book. Truly one that kept me on the edge of my seat. The detective isn't actually believable, not bigger than life as is the case with so many books.


Exclusive
Exclusive
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 250
Review Date: 2/22/2010


A thriller that is filled with unexpected twists and turns. My favorite kind!! The setting is a fast-paced newsroom and the White House. How many times have we wondered about the news we get from the White House via our reporters and Sandra Brown's book will make us see layers we never knew existed. Plus enough sex and romance to add some fun.


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 494
Review Date: 9/9/2011
Helpful Score: 7


My favorite book, since first hearing it read aloud by my teacher as a 3rd grader has been THE SECRET GARDEN. Who would have dreamed that this book was a grown-up version with the same breath-catching excitement. The character's histories are woven together beautifully as the author skips from one viewpoint and point in history to another. Love, love, love this book!


Garden Spells
Garden Spells
Author: Sarah Addison Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 11/27/2013


I love these fanciful tales that Sarah Addison Allen writes. A little dysfunction, a little love, a little magic spun together in a relaxing fun read. This is her first and it is good, her second is great!


Kindred in Death (In Death, Bk 29)
Kindred in Death (In Death, Bk 29)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 4/20/2010
Helpful Score: 3


Edge of the seat, couldn't put down! Lieutenant Eve Dallas never disappoints me. Such a great mystery plus the wonderful romance of a happily married although not in any way ordinary couple. I want a fabulously wealthy husband who drops everything to be by MY side. LOL


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3369
Review Date: 5/26/2011


Most thought provoking book I have ever read.


The Mermaid Chair
The Mermaid Chair
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 1000
Review Date: 9/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Beautiful narrative that speaks to all women who look for their place in the world of husbands and children.


Middlesex
Middlesex
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2505
Review Date: 8/21/2011


This book was not at all what I expected. It is a wonderful history of an immigrant family woven together beautifully with the current time and challenges. All the characters were fascinating and well developed.


The Mortician's Daughter
The Mortician's Daughter
Author: Elizabeth Bloom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/24/2010
Helpful Score: 3


Elizabeth Bloom's work is a new discovery for me. I love her style. The main character is believable and the trip to her home town to help a friend in need will bring back memories for all of us. I didn't grow us as the Mortician's daughter, but aren't we all defined in many ways by our family business. I am the Farmer's daughter. LOL


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 338
Review Date: 9/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Jewels of wisdom flow from the mouth of this child! Great reading.


Playing for Pizza
Playing for Pizza
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 524
Review Date: 3/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


What a refreshingly different book from Grisham. Just as I had decided I couldn't handle another lawyer/courtroom story my dental hygienist recommended Playing for Pizza. If you are a football fan you will probably LOVE it. I'm just a football widow and the last thing I would have believed was that I could enjoy a football story. I guess if you are John Grisham you can make anything exciting and hard to put down.


Promise Me (Myron Bolitar, Bk 8)
Promise Me (Myron Bolitar, Bk 8)
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 489
Review Date: 7/21/2009


Absolutely fantastic book!!


To Dance With the White Dog
To Dance With the White Dog
Author: Terry Kay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 9/14/2009


If you have an elderly person in your family that you love and care about then you must read this book!


Transfer of Power (Mitch Rapp, Bk 1)
Transfer of Power (Mitch Rapp, Bk 1)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 399
Review Date: 11/30/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Edge of the seat thriller. With the recent breach of security at the State Dinner by party crashers it makes you wonder if the scenario in this book is possible!


Walking in Circles Before Lying Down
Walking in Circles Before Lying Down
Author: Merrill Markoe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 218
Review Date: 8/23/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This is one of the funniest books I have read in a long time. We all imagine that we know what our dog is thinking--but do we. Perhaps their logic and reasoning are much different from what we imagine. All this wonderful dog wisdom is sprinkled throughout the family drama that can only be considered typical in today's mixed up world.


1 to 17 of 17