Tammy B. (dreamer616) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 543
Review Date: 9/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was one of those books that I just could not put down. Well written and likable characters. I can't wait to read the other books in this series. Definate read!


Alpine for You  (Passport to Peril, No 1)
Alpine for You (Passport to Peril, No 1)
Author: Maddy Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 9/21/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This was one of the funniest mystery books that I have read in a long time. I laughed out loud. You would'nt think that being a tour guide for a seniors tour of Switzerland would be that interesting. I cannot wait to read the next one.


And I Don't Want to Live This Life
And I Don't Want to Live This Life
Author: Deborah Spungen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/7/2010


This book was wonderful. I read it in 2 days, could not put it down. I never knew the pain and mental anguish that Nancy and her family went through.


Bad Boys Online: Hard Drive / Press Any Key / User Friendly
Bad Boys Online: Hard Drive / Press Any Key / User Friendly
Author: Erin McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 8/2/2007


Hot and steamy! Fun fast read!


Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, Bk 1)
Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, Bk 1)
Author: Jamie McGuire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 8/1/2012
Helpful Score: 10


I have one word for this book..AMAZING. In some parts it was like watching a train wreck. I just couldnt put it down. I know there are several bad reviews for this book but I think it is awesome. The characters are so well written and you feel like you are eavesdropping on their life. And girls, you have to admit, everyone has fallen in love with a bad boy at some point. That is what makes this book so appealing.
Abby is one of the main characters in this book. She is the good girl running from a bad home to start life anew at a far away college. Travis is the all-american bad boy. He can have any girl he wants except for Abby; who seems resistant to his charms. When she looses a bet to him, just how far will he go to keep her.

Reading this book will sometimes make your head spin. It is full on all the time. There is so much information packed into it. Sometimes Travis doesnt always make the best decisions and saying he has a temper is quite an understatement. You have to admit though he does love her and love makes us do crazy things. Please read this, you wont be sorry.


Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 418
Review Date: 9/21/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I read this book in 1 day. Much better than the first one, if possible. I love the mystery and romance.


Bloodroot
Bloodroot
Author: Amy Greene
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 6/8/2011
Helpful Score: 3


This has got to be the best book that I have read in a long time..

This is not normally the type of book that I would purchase for myself but it was recommended to me by a friend. It took me a little while to get into it with the going back of forth of characters and the time periods.

At the end, I could not put it down and was sad when it ended. The characters grip you and it is amazing how everyones lives interact at some point. You will not be disappointed with this book!!


The Catastrophic History of You and Me
The Catastrophic History of You and Me
Author: Jessica Rothenberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/28/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars

First, I love the cover of this book. It is beautiful! That is one of the reasons that I bought it. I wanted to love this book but I just could not get into it that well.

The story is too cutesy for me. Brie literally dies of a broken heart after her boyfriend dumps her. On the other side, which happens to be a pizza place, she meets Patrick. Patrick is a fellow deadee that is going to help her come to turns with her death. (think Tom Cruise in Top Gun)

At first it is fun and games to visit her family and friends. When Brie plots to get back at the people who have wronged her; we find out that things aren't always as they seem. With everything falling apart the best things in life are with us all along.

The writing style was really good. The characters were well thought out. I enjoyed the twist and turns. It seems that everyone was keeping a secret; from dad to the ex. Even though this did not float my boat I will read more books by this author..


Catering to Nobody (Goldy Schulz, Bk 1)
Catering to Nobody (Goldy Schulz, Bk 1)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 8/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


First book in the Diane Mott Davidson's Goldy Bear cooking mysteries. Quick, fun read with some great receipes. I have really enjoyed this series.


Dark Companion
Dark Companion
Author: Marta Acosta
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/25/2012


I received the ARC of this book from a friend. The tag on the front says "Recommended reading for teen/gothic vampire fiction fans as well as for Jane Eyre fans of any age." I do love vampires and I do love Jane Eyre. When I started reading this book though some of that did not apply but it is still a very interesting read.

Jane is a poor, foster kid who has lost her best friend and getting by the best that she can in the hood. She is watching her other friend fall deep into drugs and prostitution and the only way out for Jane is her education. She gets accepted to the exclusive Birch Grove Academy. Suddenly all of her dreams are coming true. She has money, a nice home, and wonderful new friends. Seems too good to be true.

Jane finds herself drawn to the headmistress gorgeous son Lucian, but wonders why the other son Jack wants nothing to do with her. I smell a love triangle here. Jane discovers that things are not always what they seem. After witnessing a shocking scene, Jane runs back to the hood to find nothing waiting for her. Her only hope is to go back to Birch Grove and finish her education.

I have never read any book by Marta Acosta and I enjoyed this one very much. The characters are wonderfully written with just enough information but not too much. I absolutely love Mary Violet. We have all had loud and fabulous friends like her. I laughed out loud at some of her poems. There may be more room for another book about Jane. I hope so.


The Doctor's Wife
The Doctor's Wife
Author: Elizabeth Brundage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 663
Review Date: 6/8/2011


I am probably the only person who did not like this book. I was so excited when I started reading it but that quickly changed. It was very predictable. There was no mystery what so ever. The characters were unlikable and the writing was not that great.


A Dose of Murder (Pauline Sokol, Bk 1)
A Dose of Murder (Pauline Sokol, Bk 1)
Author: Lori Avocato
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 9/10/2007


First book in th Pauline Sokol Mysteries. It took me a while to get into this book. It was slow at times. I was hooked at about the middle and could not wait to find out who done it. Stick with this one. Can't wait to read more in the series.


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 7/19/2010


I really wanted to like this book. I got through the first part okay. Loved the stories of Italy and then it fell apart.


Eve's Bible: A Woman's Guide to the Old Testament
Eve's Bible: A Woman's Guide to the Old Testament
Author: Sarah S. Forth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/26/2010


I was very excited to read this book. I enjoy Bible study and was expecting to learn from this book. The first two sentences of the book put me on guard, "The Bible is a dangerous book. Written by men for men, it has been used for thousands of years to keep women in their place." Excuse me?!

It does have some nice parts (very few) and tells you were to find women in the New Testament of the Bible. It also tells you not to believe all parts of the Bible and to read it as a work of fiction. Being a Christian, I take the Bible as a whole truth and do not pick and choose scripture.

I felt ashamed to even own this book and will not be listing it to trade. It has found a home in my trash can where it belongs..


Fatal Fixer-Upper (Do-It-Yourself Mystery, Bk 1)
Fatal Fixer-Upper (Do-It-Yourself Mystery, Bk 1)
Author: Jennie Bentley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 7/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a wonderful book. Fast and fun read. Great story line with just a hint of romance involved. I was guessing who-done-it until the end. Can not wait to read more by this author!


Gone Girl
Gone Girl
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 742
Review Date: 3/25/2014
Helpful Score: 2


This has got to be one of the worse books I have read in a long time. The characters are awful, unlikable and by the end you really don't care what happens. Shocking ending, not a good shocking! I was so mad that I wasted my time reading this.


Grave Sight (Harper Connelly, Bk 1)
Grave Sight (Harper Connelly, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 784
Review Date: 7/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Many people have loved this book but I could not get into the story line. I love the Sookie Stackhouse books but I would not recommend this series. The characters are unlikable. The story line is blahh.


The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rock Star
The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rock Star
Author: Nikki Sixx
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 6/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Great book for any Nikki Sixx fan. Some parts are a little hard to stomach. It makes me sad for someone to choose to do that to themselves and live the way that he did. I guess that is all part of the rock and roll glamour. Even in the grips of heroin he was still a great songwriter. Now I know why my parents never wanted me to listen to Motley Crue..

It is all about Nikki. Don't read it if you want a Motley Crue biography. Some of the photos are a bit graphic. Good times!!


I Burn For You (Primes, Bk 1)
I Burn For You (Primes, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Sizemore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 7/23/2007
Helpful Score: 1


First book in a series. I really enjoyed reading this book. A little slow at times but I loved the characters. Sexy and romantic. Can't wait to read the rest of the series!


Look Again
Look Again
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 409
Review Date: 4/5/2011


Very good book! It was hard to put down and I read it in two days...Wonderful storyline that keeps you guessing throughout the book with a surprising twist at the end of the book...I definatly recommend this book..


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: