Robert L. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 97 - Page:
19th Precinct (Lt. Joe Dante, Bk 5)
19th Precinct (Lt. Joe Dante, Bk 5)
Author: Christopher Newman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/18/2006


An innocent bystander having been killed when he gave chase during a murder investigation, NYPD Detective Lieutenant Joe Dante is forced to publicly turn in his badge and go undercover to locate IRA terrorist Billy Mannion. Mannion may have been the hit man on the double murder at an elegant New York City hotel: high-tech magnate Ralph Kane and engineer Veronica Tierny, Kane's partner in bed and on a research breakthrough that could be worth billions. Dante poses as a construction worker to penetrate the Irish working-class community that might be hiding Mannion. Dante suspects that Mannion might have stole some of Kane's research and had contact with either Kane's widow or his daughter and company sales star--but proving it while going undetected by the Irish mob is tricky and dangerous. Newman ( Midtown North ) gives information away before Dante learns it, which cuts into the suspense somewhat. But the action hums along, with the well-paced emergence of the connection between the murder and possible theft of information, and threats of terrorist acts yet to come keep the pages turning effortlessly.


20 Years of Censored News
20 Years of Censored News
Author: Carl Jensen, Project Censored, Tom Tomorrow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book made me realize just how bad the situation is out there in the media. How controlled by corporate PR and government intervention our supposedly "free" media is. How could this happen in the United States of America?

I highly recommend this book to citizens who want to be better informed.


30 Discipleship Exercises
30 Discipleship Exercises
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/22/2007


Great book


3500 Good Jokes for Speakers
3500 Good Jokes for Speakers
Author: Robert Leiberman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The ultimate compendium of wit and humor for all occasions from business meetings to sales presentations to professional conventions to political rallies to rehearsal dinners--all organized by topic and fully indexed by subject.

A treasury of jokes, puns, quips, one-liners, and stories to start a speech off right, keep any audience chuckling, and add some welcome comic relief anywhere its required.


Air of Salvation: The Story of Christian Broadcasting
Air of Salvation: The Story of Christian Broadcasting
Author: Mark Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/11/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Christian broadcasting, according to the author, began in an Episcopal church, the most unlikely place of all.

And the people who seemed to have put it "out there" for all to taste was the Crawford family, who today owns a string of important radio stations througout the country.

I thought Mr. Ward did a swell job of collecting and presenting the information on the founding and growth of Christian broadcasting.


All Heads Turn When The Hunt Goes By
All Heads Turn When The Hunt Goes By
Author: John Farris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/11/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I found this to be one of the most fascinating books I have ever read. The opening chapter - in the chapel - is so astounding, so riveting, that I was fairly gasping when the scene ended. This book takes the reader on a journey where s/he must suspend all the rules of reality. I loved it. I will read it again. I think John Farris is one of the BEST writers of this genre, along with Peter Straub and Stephen King!


All Through the Night (Holiday Classics)
All Through the Night (Holiday Classics)
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 12/23/2006
Helpful Score: 6


This is a fantastic read. Short, but one of her best. Two sub-plots that do not hinder the other, tied together by a little girl named Star. The whole setting is easy to believe, so you can easily let yourself flow with the story. And it does flow; you will not wish to put it down. There are a couple things that are just too convient. But I guess you would need a much longer book to fit everything in. A good read for Christmas.


The American Night (The lost writings of Jim Morrison)
The American Night (The lost writings of Jim Morrison)
Author: Jim Morrison
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/18/2006


THE AMERICAN NIGHT presents Morrison's previously unpublished work in its truest form. WIth their nightmarish images, bold associative leaps, and volcanic power of emotion, these works are the unmistakable artifacts of a great, wild voice and heart.


Amethyst Dreams
Amethyst Dreams
Author: Phyllis A. Whitney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 1/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


AMETHYST DREAMS is about the mystery behind a missing person, Susan Trench. An old college friend of hers, Hallie Knight, is summoned by Susan's grandfather Nicholas Trench, to help figure out who killed Susan, and from there the novel begins. We learn about the people that meant most to Susan, and what Susan was all about. Who wanted her dead? And why?

Among the sub plots are Hallie's troubled marraige, Nicholas's relationships with his wife Anne, who was a famous artist now living on her own, and other various persons that lived on Top Sail Island and were somehow connected to Susan.


And One Wore Gray (Civil War, Bk 2)
And One Wore Gray (Civil War, Bk 2)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 12/23/2006
Helpful Score: 2


The Cameron Family saga continues. Jesses brother Daniel gets to tell his story in this touching romance. Daniel wears the butternut and gray and is prepared to die for the cause. He meets Northern Callie Michaelson who nurese Daniel after a battle that was fought near her house. Despite there differences regarding the conflict love blooms anyway. Jesses and Kiernan are also part of this story. The Civil War was a difficult conflict in our history Heather Graham does it justice.


The Aquarian Conspiracy: Personal and Social Transformation in the 1980s
Review Date: 11/12/2008


Much of the book is outdated (it was published over 20 years ago) but there are many areas where Ferguson was right on target. Workplaces have shifted away from the hierarchical "boss" mode to group teamwork. Holistic views of health care are now accepted by the general public and some branches of the medical profession. "Whole brain learning" -- using both the left and right halves of the brain -- has greatly enriched the curriculum. Intercultural understanding has increased, so that "white Christian Europe" is no longer seen as the only way for a human being to be "civilized." And most religions have recognized that people need inner spirituality as well as outward ritual forms.
Whether this is really a "new age" or simply a re-discovery of old principles is debatable. Native American tribes were working in circular groups and thinking "nonlinear" long before Ferguson suggested the idea. My own religion, Judaism, has had a mystical side for thousands of years. The Chinese were using acupuncture and herbal medicine when the Europeans were still in the Dark Ages. Perhaps the real "conspiracy" has been the sharing of all this knowledge, made possible for the first time through global communications such as the Internet


The Aryan (Reg Danson Adventure #3)
The Aryan (Reg Danson Adventure #3)
Author: Clint Kelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/13/2008


Archaeologist Reg Danson specializes in ancient artifacts,not international conspiracy. Like any good citizen , he is concerned by the rising tide of racial hatred and violence threatening the modern worl. But he has never seen himself involved in stopping a dangerous neo-Nazi movement bent on world domination. Fast pace action.


The Beast #2 (Fear Street)
The Beast #2 (Fear Street)
Author: R. L. Stine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/3/2006


Once again James and Ashley find themselves back in the 1930's at Firelight Park. But this time, they are dealing with a the barker of a freak sideshow who wants to put them in his show because they are from the future.

Great book, great story


Being Spiritually Minded:
Being Spiritually Minded:
Author: Casey Treat
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 11/13/2008


Casey does an excellent job in explaining the process of how you can make permanent change in your life. He explains that most of the decisions we make are not conscious decisions, but rather sub-conscious decisions, based on how we were programmed from childhood; and as adults we simply are living out those programs. He shows how we can change the programs in our sub-conscious(which the Bible calls the spirit of the mind.


Bermuda Triangle (Atlantis, Bk 2)
Bermuda Triangle (Atlantis, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Donegan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/3/2006


Mr. Donegan has done it again, this book fascinated me from beginning to end. The beauty of this book is that Donegan is giving the reader insight from two different perspectives and from different times. This is an excellent sequel and I do not believe any reader will be disappointed. This book has it all, from military to Norse mythology


Beyond The Millennium (Third Millennium, Bk 3)
Beyond The Millennium (Third Millennium, Bk 3)
Author: Paul Meier, Robert Wise
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/15/2006


In this riveting tale, Paul Meier and Robert L. Wise provide a glimpse behind the veil of time, into the eye of the storm to witness how angels and demons battle for people's hearts and souls.


Beyond the wall: The people communism can't conquer
Beyond the wall: The people communism can't conquer
Author: Hank Paulson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/6/2006


Beyond the wall vividly shows how the Communist philosophy has tried to stamp out religion throughout the Eastern European Communist nations.


The Bible Promise Book: One Thousand Promises from God's Word (New International Version)
Review Date: 2/22/2007


The Bible Promise Book is a wonderful resource for Christian Youth and Adults. The Table of Contents lists common concerns, such as fear, worry, anxiety, comfort, forgiveness, loneliness, guilt, help in troubles and many others. Scriptures from both the Old and New Testaments can be quickly found by turning to the pages indicated in the Contents. This small, attractive paperback book is a ready resource for the Christian seeking God's answers to their particular situation. I like to give this book as a gift to graduating Seniors as they begin their adult life. I also present it to Junior and Senior High School students in my Sunday School class.


BizBreak: Weekly Reminders for the Workplace
Review Date: 11/6/2006


The CORRECT title of the book is "BizBreak: Weekly Reminders for the Workplace" and the book is for both men and women.
(From the back cover)

Do you find yourself in a work environment that is intolerant of your Christian faith?

Is your work-a-day world disconnected from what matters most to God?

Do God's Word and His presence make a tangible impact on your daily thoughts, words and deeds?

This collection of reflections provides a message from the Word and lets you make the workplace application.

Those who have found these readings most helpful schedule a twenty-minute appointment with themselves midway through their workweek in order to read, reflect and pray. Others have found it helpful to follow up their private 'appointments' with a regular lunch or breakfast meeting with other believers to discuss and apply the week's reflection.


Black Wolf
Black Wolf
Author: Tom Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/12/2006


Another page turner, couldn't put it down! Once again his characters are so well written you feel as if you know them. I highly recommned his books. Once again you just never know how its all going to end! Your kept on your toes thru out the entire book!


1 to 20 of 97 - Page: