Shirley P. (booknookchick) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 97 - Page:
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Author: Mark Twain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 9/7/2017


The ISBN 1559029838 was used by Wal-Mart to publish a series of classic books.

Since the PBS database cannot link multiple titles to a single ISBN, hand-enter your book to the PBS inventory if your book has a different title.


The Age of Turbulence: Adventures in a New World
The Age of Turbulence: Adventures in a New World
Author: Alan Greenspan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/22/2016


Enjoyed reviewing all of the historical highlights, both nationally and internationally, that affect government or consumer finances. Written in an easy to understand style for a complicated subject, this book is an excellent starting point for understanding relationship of the Federal Reserve and the Treasury Dept. with the the President and Congress.


All He Ever Wanted
All He Ever Wanted
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 12/20/2005
Helpful Score: 1


The story is set in the late 1800's and early 1900's. Nicholas is a very unlikeable character. This is a story of a man who will lie, twist facts, and manipulate anyone willing (but ignorant) to get what he wants. He manipulates Etna, who he met by chance during a hotel fire, into marriage, uses his daughter to destroy a perceived rival's reputation and ultimately destroys his marriage and his family. Etna's character speaks few words and she is often a mystery -- is she a victim of the times she lives in, unable to resolve her feelings over a lost love, or is she at times depressed? You're just never really quite sure. If you enjoy books set in this era, you'll probably enjoy this one as well. This book has the same writing style and similar heartbreak evident in Fortune's Rock.


Authorized Personnel Only (Figueroa and Bennis, Bk 4)
Authorized Personnel Only (Figueroa and Bennis, Bk 4)
Author: Barbara D'Amato
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoy d'Amato's writing and appreciate that she does extensive research around the topic of her books. Character development and the plot are adequate in this book. This book doesn't have a higher rating because the story backs in and out of several subplots and none of them were suspenseful enough to want me to finish the book quickly to find out how the story ends.

Perhaps D'Amato was trying to portray the day-in-the-life of a cop, however, the lack of depth to each mystery leads to some pretty obvious choices of who did what and how the book would end.

White Male Infant is also an excellent D'Amato read.


Best Home Businesses for People 50+
Best Home Businesses for People 50+
Author: Paul Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/27/2007
Helpful Score: 4


70 business profiles include the nature of the business, relevant skills to be successful and advice from someone who started that business after age 50.

Especially helpful is a grid with the headings: minimal, moderate, or more than most which categorizes the importance of start-up cost, overhead, potential earnings, computer skills required, deadline or scheduling pressure, flexible hours and overall stress for each business venture.


Black Sands (Aloha Reef, Bk 2)
Black Sands (Aloha Reef, Bk 2)
Author: Colleen Coble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 7/25/2010


After reading the first book in the Aloha Reef series which I thoroughly enjoyed for being a fast-paced, suspenseful story, I was anticipating the same in Black Sands. My only disappointment was the overuse of cliches in the dialogue.

Coble is an excellent Christian writer because she encourages the reader to consider how the character's conflicts might affect their own lives and the decisions one makes.

I also appreciate that the author incorporates religion into her stories without resorting to having the reader feel 'preached to'.


The Blue Bistro
The Blue Bistro
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 12/1/2009


Took a break from literature like "The Shadow of the Wind" and "The Book Thief" and selected "The Blue Bistro" for a quick read about a summer vacation locale rather than my reality of the onset of winter.

Character development was strong enough to keep me interested, although the plot is fairly predictable and you won't find any subplots going on to make the story more interesting. If you are a fan of the chick lit genre, or want to give it a try, I'd recommend this book.

This was my first book that I read by this author and I would be interested in reading another.


The Book of Bright Ideas
The Book of Bright Ideas
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 7/12/2011


I enjoyed this 'rural' chick lit very much.


Burnt Orange : Color Me Wasted (True Colors, Bk 5)
Burnt Orange : Color Me Wasted (True Colors, Bk 5)
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/15/2015


Very surprised by the ending .. a style typical of Jodi Picoult.

First time reader for this author. The protagonist in the book is 18 and the conflicts and choices she was faced with were appropriate for that age. However, I felt the writing style was actually more appealing to an audience 3-5 years younger.


Carry Me Home
Carry Me Home
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 4/24/2007
Helpful Score: 5


16 yr old Earl Gunderman reminded me of Forrest Gump. His perceptions about life are very funny and had me laughing out loud a few times. It's a fast read with a cast of enjoyable characters.

The story, narrated by Earl, is written in a style that reminded me of The Memory Keepers Daughter written by Kim Edwards.

My FIL served during WWII. This book also reminded me we should not forget the sacrifices Americans made fighting or supporting that horrible war.


Cat o' Nine Tales: And Other Stories
Cat o' Nine Tales: And Other Stories
Author: Jeffrey Archer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/10/2008


I've always enjoyed Archer's short stories. There are some real gems in this collection which are stories based on 'characters' he met in prison. Most of the stories end with an unusual twist.


The Children's Hour
The Children's Hour
Author: Marcia Willett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 8/20/2008
Helpful Score: 7


I didn't take to this book right away. Some British terms weren't familiar, the story switches from the present back in time through memories and I just wasn't sure where the story was going. Half-way through the book I caught on and was hooked. One of my favorite quotes from the book, which is repeated several times, "Everyone has a right to their own history." There is a show of strong loyalty and unconditional support among the siblings and extended family, especially as old family secrets are revealed.


Close Your Eyes, Hold Hands
Close Your Eyes, Hold Hands
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/22/2016
Helpful Score: 2


Emily, aka Abby, has a complicated personality, with an equally complicated family life, and more so after her father is blamed for a nuclear reaction accident, that caused the death of 19 people including both her parents.

Without immediate or extended family where they live, Emily is evacuated with the rest of the community without money or possessions. Afraid to reveal her identity among strangers since her father is blamed for the disaster, Emily continually re-invents who she is to remain anonymous.

Emily is 16 and homeless, forced to do just about anything she must to survive. Readers will have to decide if confronted with similar circumstances, whether they would do the same.


The Coal Tattoo
The Coal Tattoo
Author: Silas House
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/18/2011


Venetia C's review of the book expresses my sentiments also. For most of the book the setting is timeless, until the last third when events from the late 1960's are mentioned. The visual descriptions and the family values toward the land reminded me of Wendell Berry's writing. The life experiences of the two sisters tugged at my emotions as much as "Cold Mountain" did. I'll be reading Clay's Quilt next.


Cohousing: A Contemporary Approach to Housing Ourselves
Review Date: 7/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I've always been intrigued about community co-housing and enjoyed reading about the history of established communities in Europe and the start-up process of the North American communities profiled in the book. Also included is information on community and dwelling layouts, planningi logistics, community 'legislation' and much more.


Colliding Forces (Foundation, Bk 2)
Colliding Forces (Foundation, Bk 2)
Author: Constance O'Day-Flannery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 4/19/2015


I'm not a regular reader of romance or paranormal novels and just happened to read "Colliding Forces" on a fluke. It's an enjoyable, interesting read: hot romance, intrigue, life-changing events, and characters you want to 'live happily ever after'.

The plot involves a political conspiracy theory which was a surprise. My only criticism is poor editing. Too many slips where a word made no sense where it was used, like what instead of which, which would be easily missed if using electronic spell-check.


Dancing in the No-fly Zone: A Woman's Journey Through Iraq
Dancing in the No-fly Zone: A Woman's Journey Through Iraq
Author: Hadani Ditmars
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/6/2014


First book I've read about occupation in Iraq. The author's writing style is very visual. What an eye opener this book was to learn how devastating sanctions are to the general population, what a difficult life that past few decades have been in Iraq, and how vulnerable women are because of poverty, poor health, violence, and no options for professional careers.


Danger in the Shadows  (O'Malley, Prequel)
Danger in the Shadows (O'Malley, Prequel)
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 3/11/2017


This book had a suspenseful plot and written well-enough to keep Christian Romantic Suspense readers entertained.

Having read a another book written by this author, I've come to the same conclusion for my reading taste: there's just not enough depth to the characters or setting to really want me to invest my time. Two authors that came through for me are: Hannah Alexander and Colleen Coble.


Dangerous Depths (Aloha Reef, Bk 3)
Dangerous Depths (Aloha Reef, Bk 3)
Author: Colleen Coble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/8/2015
Helpful Score: 1


This is the third book in the Aloha Reef series that I have read. Other than catching up on each character's relationship to one another, this book could be a stand-alone read.

The plot is suspenseful, in a lush setting, with interesting characters defined well enough to create an entertaining story.

There is one subplot I felt wasn't strong enough to involve so much of the book which was about Bane, the jilted fiance, trying to find out why Leia broke off their engagement and his attempts to convince her to change her decision distracted a little much from the suspense. Otherwise I would have given 4 stars.

There are subtle Christian references which I prefer and a good balance between dialogue and description.


Deafening
Deafening
Author: Frances Itani
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/27/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Frances Itani, a Canadian writer, uses sparse visual scenes replaced with slowly- and well-developed relationships within a community of characters. You will often feel as if you lived in one of the houses just off Main Street, in Deseronto, Canada.

While reading the story, you easily fall into Grania's world of silence and feel her frustration, loneliness, and confusion as she struggles to learn adequate skills to communicate in a world dominated by spoken language.

The parallel story begins with Grania living and working at the hotel her parents own while Jim, her newlywed husband, is serving as a stretcher bearer during the long months at war. Their love for each other is conveyed through their thoughts and letters -- separated by time, space, and sound. The graphic, horrific visualization about the brutalities of WWI is difficult, described as it likely was -- a horrendous, relentless war almost a century ago.

Books like Cold Mountain and My Sister's Keeper brought tears by the turn of the last page. Deafening is a powerful, sensitive story of the same caliber. This is a book I'd recommend for book club discussion.

Itani's experience and thorough research makes the events and places in this story very believable. The town where Grania was sent to school is Itani's home town. Her grandmother was deaf and raised 11 children. Itani was named to the Order of Canada (Feb. 2007). Deafening won the Commonwealth Book Award in 2003.


1 to 20 of 97 - Page: