Diana M. (Redheadreader) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Blue-Eyed Devil (Travis, Bk 2)
Blue-Eyed Devil (Travis, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 261
Review Date: 7/20/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I really liked this book. I loved Hardy but was somewhat conflicted over Haven. I just wasn't sure if her victim image was accurate. However, when you recall that she grew up with parents who were too into themselves to instill self-confidence, self-worth or give her love, it helps you to understand how she could fall for a narcisstic husband the first time around. Her mother tried to make her into what she thought she should be by degrading her to the point she controlled her which would explain how easily Haven fell into the victim role with Nick. Her father was too busy making money and trying to make wifey happy to help Haven develop these strengths or to even show he loved her. He even held her inheritance over her head to try to make her do what he wanted. After I thought about this part of her story, I realized I have known people like her and she became much more realistic to me. I really appreciate the way Kleypas wrote this real life situation into the book and admire Haven for overcoming the abuse and becoming a strong individual who could love again. Great story!


The Border Lord's Bride (Border Chronicles, Bk 2)
The Border Lord's Bride (Border Chronicles, Bk 2)
Author: Bertrice Small
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoy all of Ms. Small's books. The way she weaves her story through actual history really makes her books come alive for me. The Border Lord's Bride is no exception. The detail and development of characters makes me want the story to continue on and on.


Charmed (Rossmara Family, Bk 2)
Charmed (Rossmara Family, Bk 2)
Author: Stella Cameron
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 11/27/2006


Used bookstore label inside but book is in good shape


Desire after Dark
Desire after Dark
Author: Amanda Ashley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 3/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was the first Amanda Ashley book for me. It was okay. Antonio is a handsome hunk of a vampire, but a little to whimpy and sensitive for my taste. (No pun intended). Victoria is a flake most of the time. Maybe that is because she is so young. Overall I thought the story and the characters were rather shallow.


Devil Takes a Bride (Knight Miscellany, Book 5)
Devil Takes a Bride (Knight Miscellany, Book 5)
Author: Gaelen Foley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 8/3/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I love all the books about the Knight family.
The female main character in this book is Lizzie who grew up as a companion to the Knight brother's sister Lucinda. More like their sister than a companion, Lizzie really is part of the family. Intrigue plus love make for a good read. Thoroughly enjoyed it.


Glory (Florida, Bk 5)
Glory (Florida, Bk 5)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/29/2007


Rebel medic Julian McKenzie is at his wit's end with hunger and sickness running rampant through the ill-equipped Confederate army. But a miracle occurs - in the form of Rhiannon Tremaine. Branded a white witch because of her healing powers and second sight, the exotic beauty is also a Union sympathizer. In desperate need of her skills, Julian kidnaps Rhiannon and falls under the spell of a woman whose passion and courage nwill blur the battle lines of the Civil War and tear his heart apart.


Heart of the Jaguar
Heart of the Jaguar
Author: Roslynn Griffith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/29/2007


This is a fast paced western historical romance with a little supernatural thrown in. Louisa is a half Commanche spitfire that was loved and left by her one and only love,Sam,six years before. Now Sam has returned and they both are destined to enter an adventure that will take them into old Mexico, into the hands of a madman who thinks he is an ancient Aztec God.


His Wicked Kiss (Knight Miscellany, Book 7)
His Wicked Kiss (Knight Miscellany, Book 7)
Author: Gaelen Foley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 9/29/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This was my favorite of the Knight series. I enjoyed all of them but the characters and story line were great in this one!


I'll Be Home for Christmas: Christmas at the Red Chiefs / Once Upon a Christmas / Meltdown / You Can Count on Me
Review Date: 12/27/2006


Four intertaining Christmas love stories in one book.


Out of Range (Joe Pickett, Bk 5)
Out of Range (Joe Pickett, Bk 5)
Author: C. J. Box
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 6/16/2017


Another Great Joe Picket Novel. Love this author and his suspenseful stories.


The Promise (Devoncroix Dynasty, Bk 2)
The Promise (Devoncroix Dynasty, Bk 2)
Author: Donna Boyd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 12/4/2010


After reading the first in the series, "The Passion", I couldn't wait to read "The Promise". I'm not sure I liked the second book as well as the first, but I did like it. Ms. Boyd spins a great story of the werewolf.It isn't like any other fiction I have read about the fictitious creatures. She leaves the reader dangling and salivating (no pun intended) for book three.


Royal's Bride (Bride, Bk 1)
Royal's Bride (Bride, Bk 1)
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 4/6/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I Really enjoyed the book even though the lead male character, Royal, didn't ring quite true. Even though most of his adult life he appeared to be quite independent of his father and the British standards of living for the wealthy, he comes home and commits to an arranged marriage and continues to suffer and most of all makes the woman he falls for(not his intended) suffer to keep a promise to his dying father. A promise that has everything to do with wealth and title and nothing to do with love. In spite of this, I did like the story enough that I want to read the other two in the series - Rule and Reese's stories.


Sun Kissed (Kendrick/Coulter, Bk 7)
Sun Kissed (Kendrick/Coulter, Bk 7)
Author: Catherine Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 268
Review Date: 5/12/2008


I really enjoy Catherine Anderson's contemporary romances. This one is one of the newest in the Coulter Family series, about Tucker Coulter and his lady love, Samantha Harrigan. Through their shared love of horses, they find their own special love. Enjoyable read.


A Visit From Sir Nicholas (Effington Family & Friends, Bk 9)
A Visit From Sir Nicholas (Effington Family & Friends, Bk 9)
Author: Victoria Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 12/19/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed the book a lot. A fun book to read around Christmas time.


Winner Take All
Winner Take All
Author: Terri Herrington
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/21/2010


Logan Brisco was the smoothest, slickest, handsomest man Serenity,Texas had ever seen. From his Italian shoes to his movie-actor smile, he had them snowed. As far as Carny Sullivan could see, she was the only one in town who had his number. Carny had grown up in the zany world of a traveling carnival. Serenity had given her a home, a life, a child. She was determined to not let a man like Logan suck her town dry. And yet, as much as she hated those winning ways, there was a man behind that suave smile, a man who won her heart against her will. (From the back cover)


1 to 15 of 15