Karlene D. - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
Babies, Babies, Babies
Babies, Babies, Babies
Author: Kathy Wilburn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/4/2012


This is a good book that focuses on a day in the life of a baby do in cute little rhymes. It begins with "The bright sun comes up And brings a new day, The world sings to baby, "Please come out and play!" The illustrations are detailed and very nicely done. A great way to prepare a soon-to-be older sibling for life with a baby!


Easy-to-make Hands-On Models That Teach
Easy-to-make Hands-On Models That Teach
Author: Donald M. Silver, Patricia J. Wynne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/8/2015


This is an excellent resource for making a model of all aspects of the human body. It makes all parts of the human body come to life for students. For each section, it also has teaching guides of topics to discuss or information the students should know about each bone, organ, etc. I am using it for homeschooling my 7 and 10 yo who are both able to handle it and enjoy making the models to see how everything really works. The only downfall is that it requires a lot of photocopying in order to make the models.


Follow My Leader
Follow My Leader
Author: James B. Garfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/17/2015


This is an excellent book introducing children to what life is like as a newly blind child. The story follows the journey that Jimmy Carter takes as he becomes adjusts to being blind and as he learns to forgive his friend who caused the blindness by accident. I used this as a read aloud in my homeschooling and my 7 and 10yo enjoyed the book very much.


Journey to Jo'burg: A South African Story
Review Date: 1/17/2015


A great book that looks at what apartheid in South Africa looked like to young children living through it. It is the journey of siblings off to find their mother (who works in the city) so that she can help take care of their baby sister who is very sick. In the process they see subjugation and segregation that they were unaware of beforehand. Their worldview changes as they go through this journey together.


Kira-Kira
Kira-Kira
Author: Cynthia Kadohata
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 10/6/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book is a wonderfully written story of life for an immigrant Japanese family in the 1950s/60s. The tight bond between the two sisters is a central theme of the book. It is a wonderful book that I, as a parent, enjoyed reading.

For the age range recommended, there were a few things that I, as a parent, would want to know: there are some basic swear words/phrases used in it. A handful at most through the whole book. Also, there are references to a vague description of french kissing and reference to the noises involved in making babies (when the little brother is born). These are all within context of the story, however every parent knows what is or isn't ok for their child.


My Friend Flicka
My Friend Flicka
Author: Mary O'Hara
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/31/2014


The story draws you in. I enjoyed the book very much-it made me cry in parts. It is a wonderful story of how a family grows in just 1 summer...especially the 10 yo boy. Mary O'Hara knows horses and writes about them like very few authors do. However, I would not call this a children's book. Possibly teen. There are many adult themes... relationally between the mom and boy, the dad and boy, and between the parents themselves that would escape a child. Also, the dad is an ex-service man-one of the ways it shows is in his use of profanity (not a TON, but it happens throughout the book as it is a part of his character).


My Friend Flicka
My Friend Flicka
Author: Mary O'hara
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/31/2014


The story draws you in. I enjoyed the book very much-it made me cry in parts. It is a wonderful story of how a family grows in just 1 summer...especially the 10 yo boy. Mary O'Hara knows horses and writes about them like very few authors do. However, I would not call this a children's book. Possibly teen. There are many adult themes... relationally between the mom and boy, the dad and boy, and between the parents themselves that would escape a child. Also, the dad is an ex-service man-one of the ways it shows is in his use of profanity (not a TON, but it happens throughout the book as it is a part of his character).


My Friend Flicka
My Friend Flicka
Author: Mary O'Hara
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/31/2014


The story draws you in. I enjoyed the book very much-it made me cry in parts. It is a wonderful story of how a family grows in just 1 summer...especially the 10 yo boy. Mary O'Hara knows horses and writes about them like very few authors do. However, I would not call this a children's book. Possibly teen. There are many adult themes... relationally between the mom and boy, the dad and boy, and between the parents themselves that would escape a child. Also, the dad is an ex-service man-one of the ways it shows is in his use of profanity (not a TON, but it happens throughout the book as it is a part of his character).


My Kingdom for a Horse
My Kingdom for a Horse
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/17/2015


My horse loving 10yo daughter loves this book. The poems are fun, and all are about horses in some way. The pictures are more impressionistic in style-a wonderful introduction to a different style of art from the typical illustrations found in books.


Progress in Mathematics (workbook, grade 3)
Progress in Mathematics (workbook, grade 3)
Author: catherine letourneau
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/14/2014


This is the teacher's edition, for the student edition (before 2014 common core) look for: B002DW6P5W

Although we didn't use this, it looks like a good, solid math curriculum. Not a lot of distracting pictures, etc for the student, enough to keep them interested.


Red Sand, Blue Sky (Girls First, 2)
Red Sand, Blue Sky (Girls First, 2)
Author: Cathy Applegate
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/16/2014


I enjoyed this book. The story tells us of 2 girls learning to accept the differences in their cultures as they realize they have some things in common. It also gives a good glimpse into the life of the Aborigine of recent times.


The White Stag (Newbery Library)
The White Stag (Newbery Library)
Author: Kate Seredy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 12/21/2011


This book gives a good basic description of life in this nomadic tribe. There is not a lot of detail, however, about the day-to-day happenings. The focus is on the pagan worship and who's next in line. I would have preferred more detail about life within the tribes-it would have flowed better for me. I was not impressed with the flow of Kate Seredy's writing in this book.


Worth
Worth
Author: A. LaFaye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/29/2014


As a parent, I enjoyed this book. The story is one of redemption-for an entire family. It is a realistic look at what life was like in this time period, in the world of ranching in the west. Because of the time period and the accident, I found that the book focused on negative things-lynchings, fires that destroyed buildings and families, etc. For my 9yo these topics would give her nightmares. I believe they are good topics and need to be discussed and learned about. But, I would rate this book for 11/12-15 because of the topics brought up within the book.


1 to 13 of 13