D. B. - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 193 - Page:
100 Ghastly Little Ghost Stories
Review Date: 1/11/2007


From Our Editors
This collection spans a century and a half and includes ghost stories by such masters of the genre as H.P. Lovecraft, Ambrose Bierce, Steve Rasnic Tem, H.F. Arnold, H. Warner Munn, and Darrell Schweitzer.
From the Publisher
Be warned - not only good things but sometimes fear comes in small packages; or in this case, short packages.

Although much contemporary fiction dealing with ghosts runs to novel length, the short story continues to entertain readers around the world. In fact, one of the attractions of the short ghost story is that it uses a minimum of elements to captivate its readers, and because of its length, evokes a powerful response before the tenuous air of suspense has a chance to dissipate. Proof of the ability of the ghost story to entertain readers can be found in 100 Ghastly Little Ghost Stories which brings together a century-and-a-half of ghost stories by the masters of the genre.

Some of our finest writers have used the short story to explore a variety of human emotions and behavior, including revenge (H.P. Lovecraft's "The Terrible Old Man") honor (Ambrose Bierce's "The Stranger"), jealousy (Steve Rasnic Tem's "Daddy"), duty (H.F. Arnold's "Nightmare"), and, of course, Love (H. Warner Munn's "A Sprig of Rosemary" and Darrell Schweitzer's "Clocks").

As your editor reminds you, "fear comes in all shapes and sizes, and although those ghosts are small, they will loom large in your memory."

~Barnes & Noble


23 Minutes in Hell
23 Minutes in Hell
Author: Bill Weise
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 2/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this book! In fact, I'm keeping my copy! Very easy to read, has TONS of scriptural references that you can highlight in your Bible. Made me think that is for sure!


Aftermath (Aftermath, Bk 1)
Aftermath (Aftermath, Bk 1)
Author: Charles Sheffield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 9/14/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This was a great book! It starts off a little bit slow, but once it gets started it is very enjoyable. I really liked the characters, and the very end has a twist that is worth the read.


The Age of Louis XV
The Age of Louis XV
Author: Alvar Gonzalez Palacios
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A must have for the interior designer, those interested in the grand monarchies prior to the french revolution and those who love to look at full colour pictures of precious items from that age..


The Age of Louis XVI
The Age of Louis XVI
Author: Alvar Gonzalez Palacios
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A very cool book with lots of full-color pictures of art and furniture etc. from the days of Marie Antoinette.


Alien Encounters
Alien Encounters
Author: Chuck Missler, Mark Eastman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/28/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book! It starts off laying the ground work to really help the reader grasp what a multi-dimensional universe really is, how we fit into that universe and then it picks up steam from there! This book is very well-researched, has many quotes and statements by leading politicians, religious leaders, researchers and UFO experts. I'm keeping my copy! But if this book is available for swapping GET IT! A must for anyone who has ever wondered if we are all alone in the universe, how we got here, and if we share our universe with anyone else.


All Hell Breaking Loose (Daw Fantasy Anthology)
All Hell Breaking Loose (Daw Fantasy Anthology)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/4/2006
Helpful Score: 2


An interesting idea overall. The various short stories are enjoyable and interesting. Some of the stories present a quirky twist on the traditional "hell"


The Anthrax Mutation (Original Title: Project Dracula)
The Anthrax Mutation (Original Title: Project Dracula)
Author: Alan Scott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/8/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is an interesting book which deals with an ultra-secret lab in England. It experiences an accident and the surrounding towns are hit with nerve gas. Then it just gets worse.... turns out the lab was making anthrax as a weapon and it also is loose! Follow the story of an American who is caught up in the middle of all this...


Are We Living in the End Times?
Are We Living in the End Times?
Author: Tim F. LaHaye, Jerry B. Jenkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 9/22/2006
Helpful Score: 4


A very good book, it outlines what is really going on in today's world, why things are going so wrong and what is going to happen next.


Arslan
Arslan
Author: M. J. Engh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This is a weird one folks. I like the overall story line, and it does make one think. It is almost a post-apocalypse type of story. The ONLY thing I didn't like about the book is it has some content which is for adults ONLY! (ie: homosexuality, sexual violence, violence etc).

For the mature/adult reader who isn't easily offended or put off by the above mentioned content, it is a book that you finish and find yourself thinking about it for awhile afterwards.


The Assignment
The Assignment
Author: Mark Andrew Olsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 12/27/2006
Helpful Score: 4


This was a very enjoyable book! It starts out with a fast-pace and doesn't let up! Imagine if a man couldn't die. Imagine he had a mortal enemy who he pursued thru centuries of time! Very good book!


At the Drop of a Veil
At the Drop of a Veil
Author: Marianne Alireza
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/13/2009


This is an interesting read, a true story of a woman who married an arab and moved to Saudi Arabia. Her experiences there and what eventually ended up happening to her and her children. True story and this came out prior to not without my daughter etc.. interesting.


The Atheist
The Atheist
Author: Will Oursler
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 1/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This novel is the story of a man who defies the most unchallengeable conformity of all in a suburban world of conformers- a belief in God.

When Clifford Murchison cries out that there is no God and that if there were He would have to be the devil incarnet, he finds himself impelled headlong on an atheistic, amoral quest for what he considers truth.

No man, not even an atheist, Murchison soon finds out, is an island. His godlessness, following the accidental death of his fiancee touches and changes the lives of many people.

This novel of adventure and peril in the realm of faith, is a story to challenge and move those who believe deeply - and those who do not believe at all.


The Attraction
The Attraction
Author: Douglas Clegg
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 9/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book was an easy read, but not the best fantasy/horror book I've come across. It starts off strong, but the author could have added more nuance to it and made it so much better. But for a quick Saturday afternoon read, or something to take to the doctor's office etc. it is worth it.


Autumn
Autumn
Author: David Moody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/20/2011


I really enjoyed this book. It is much different than many zombie books but still falls squarely in the genre. I've read all four books (the original trilogy and the compilation) and they are all well worth the read! You really grow to care about the characters and the author really makes you feel the emotions of the people trapped in this new nightmare world!


Autumn: The City
Autumn: The City
Author: David Moody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/20/2011


David Moody hits it out of the park AGAIN! Great read wonderful sequel to the original book Autumn. A must read!


The Beagle
The Beagle
Author: Marcia A. Foy, Anna Katherine Nicholas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A wonderful book for those who raise Beagles for hunting, showing, or just for fun!


Berserk
Berserk
Author: Tim Lebbon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 9/4/2006
Helpful Score: 5


This book starts off in one direction and then veers off into another totally unexpected one! The book is good for those who like science fiction, horror, military/conspiracy, and vampire/ghoul type story lines. One becomes surprisingly attached to the "monsters" in this story. Great book.


The Best of Germany (The Best of ...)
The Best of Germany (The Best of ...)
Author: Andre Gayot
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A nifty book which includes tons of info for the traveler to Germany. I bet this book would also be great for the service member or their family who are relocating to Germany! Includes maps, price ranges, descriptions, addresses and phone numbers etc. of various restaurants and hotels!


Best Places Vancouver (Best Places Vancover)
Best Places Vancouver (Best Places Vancover)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


cool travel guide with map to star-rated restaurants, lodgings and other neat things to do for every budget in Vancouver.


1 to 20 of 193 - Page: