Reviews - Maureen M. (MsMaureen)

1 to 11 of 11
Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 264
Review Date: 3/19/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book is beautifully written. Like some others have said, it is a little slow in parts, but it's done for effect. The story is heartbreaking and really makes you feel for all of the main characters."


A Bend in the Road
A Bend in the Road
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1092
Review Date: 6/27/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I thought this book was okay. It succeeded in making my cry, but I thought it was a bit too predictible. I also didn't like the main character, Sarah, and was kind of rooting against her for some reason."


Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 505
Review Date: 3/19/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is the second book I've read by Kate Atkinson and I really enjoyed it. I like her writing style a lot and the way that she interweaves so many different lives in this book in genius. This is a great read, although it's pretty dark at times, which isn't usually my style, but I think the plot and writing more than made up for it."


Chasing Harry Winston
Chasing Harry Winston
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 7/15/2008
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I was very disappointed with this book. My review will probably echo what a lot other reviewers have said, but here it is anyway -

I found this book to be incredibly shallow and severely lacking in plot. In fact, I just finished it last night and already I can barely remember the main plot points. I did laugh in a few spots and very occasionally found that I was able to identify with a particular character or situation.

One of my biggest peeves about this book was Emmy's resolution. I literally cringed every time I read the phrase "Tour de Whore" and references to Emmy wanting to "prostitute myself out." Am I the only one who was bothered by this? If you want to write a book about a women's journey to sexual freedom or whatever, then great, I'm all for it. But does she have to refer to herself as a prostitute and whore throughout it? Also, it was clear throughout her "affairs" that she was not comfortable with what she was doing. Apparently it's not okay for a woman to want to know someone on a deeper level before sleeping with them...

Another big problem that I had with this book was the fact that the characters were entirely unoriginal. Samantha, Miranda and Charlotte, anyone?

I also felt like there was a serious lack of organization and flow. There were also characters who appeared to be important and then pretty much disappeared (the hairdresser, Emmy's sister and her family,) situations that never got resolved or explained. The narrative was often confusing and jumped from present to flashback to internal monologue and back again with little to no transition.

The ending was ridiculous and boring at the same time. I also don't really understand the title, it really doesn't fit the story. As soon as I finished reading this book, I wondered, "WHAT was the point of that?" As I said earlier, I finished it less than 12 hours ago and I've already forgotten what it was supposed to be about."


Citizen Girl
Citizen Girl
Author: Emma McLaughlin, Nicola Kraus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 4/15/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Here's how I reviewed this book on Amazon:

After looking through all the reviews, I'm left with the feeling that a lot of readers didn't "get" this book. Tons of reviewers have called it "unrealistic" - it's a satire! It's not supposed to be completely realistic. And even so, I don't think that there was anything that happened in the book that made me think, "No way, that would NEVER happen!" Sure, some situations and characters were a little far-fetched, but there was nothing that was completely impossible. And as I said, it's a satire! Do you think Jonathan Swift really intended to eat babies? (That's not to say that these authors should be compared to Jonathan Swift, but you know what I mean.)

There are a few legitimate complaints that I do have about this book, though. The first is the writing style, which I found to be confusing and clunky. There were a number of times where I had to reread sections two or three times before I understood what was going on. I will also agree with the reviewers who said that the characters lack depth. On top of that, there were some characters that I was interested in who would disappear on an off (Jack, Buster) without any real explanation. And then there were really unnecessary characters whose purpose I couldn't figure out (Buster's friends, Stacey.) I enjoyed the storyline and felt that I could relate to Girl on some level, which is why I gave the book three stars, but I really feel that this story could have been SO much more than it turned out to be. This seems like the first draft of a really great novel, in my opinion."


Dear John
Dear John
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 281
Review Date: 10/16/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is definitely the worst Nicholas Sparks book that I have read. He's following his formula too closely (young, energetic, happy lovers who can't be together and get seperated, only to be reunited years later - basically, if you've seen The Notebook, you don't need to read this book, it's the same thing, only more annoying. I actually noticed the same exact lines being used in this book that were used in The Notebook. "It was real, wasn't it? You and me? If you've seen the movie as many times as I have, you know what I'm talking about.) The ending is heartwarming, although predictable. Another good thing about this book is the fact that it incorporates some psycology and gives a view of military life, which is different for Sparks (although I don't know how accurate it is.) The narrator, John, is likable enough but I honestly found myself hating Savannah. I just didn't feel like she was a believable character at all, and found myself literally laughing aloud at some of the things she said."


How to Be a Budget Fashionista : The Ultimate Guide to Looking Fabulous for Less
Review Date: 3/18/2008


"This book was entertaining and gave me different ways to think about my spending habits, but honestly, it didn't tell me many things that I didn't already know. Still a good read though."


A Little Commonwealth: Family Life in Plymouth Colony
A Little Commonwealth: Family Life in Plymouth Colony
Author: John Demos
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/18/2008


"I had to read this book for a class, and although it's not something I would pick up and read again or read on my own, it was interesting and gave me a different perspective on life in the colonies."


Pretty Little Dirty
Pretty Little Dirty
Author: Amanda Boyden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 6/28/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I LOVED this book. I could not put it down. It reminded me of my own days as a rebellious and insecure teenager. It's shocking and sincere, and an excellent read."


Summer at Tiffany
Summer at Tiffany
Author: Marjorie Hart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 1/15/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book was a light, fun memior. I did enjoy it, although honestly I was a bit disappointed. I found a bunch of mistakes (most gramatical, spelling, extra word, etc.) in the book, which I think is pretty distracting when reading. Also, the author would switch from past tense to present tense throughout the book, and although I think it was done purposely, I found it a little bit confusing. Overall, I think the story was good and simple, though maybe a little corny. It was almost too wholesome for my taste. It did contain an interesting description of the author's experience of VJ Day in Times Square- I think that was my favorite part of the book. The writing could have flowed better and been more polished, but I'd say this book is worth reading."


Target Underwear and a Vera Wang Gown: Notes from a Single Girl's Closet
Review Date: 12/18/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really enjoyed this book. It was a light, easy read - I finished it in about a day and a half, and I'm not usually a quick reader. Adena is very relatable, even if you're not the type of person who goes out and buys a new outfit for every occassion. This book made me laugh and cry, made me want to hug the author and also made me want to shake some sense into her at times. She does reference designers, department stores, and styles of clothing a lot, so if you're not very familiar with those things, some of it might be lost on you, but it's still a really good read."


1 to 11 of 11