Ellen T. (nellen) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Cecil Murphey, Don Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 873
Review Date: 3/8/2012


I love this book! While the description of Don's experience in heaven is brief, it is a wonderful reference for him (and me) as he recounts his lengthy, grueling, painful journey through recovery over the next couple of years (he will never recover completely). As someone who has experienced a lifetime of chronic pain, I found Don's testimony particularly relevant for my own experience. The spiritual message of his book is that our earthly lives are intentional: God has a plan for our lives, no matter what twists and turns life may take. Life here is temporary, and the promise of heaven for the believer makes this life not just tolerable but joyful and meaningful even in the midst of pain and suffering. I highly recommend this book for anyone who is suffering or has suffered a major injury, recovery, surgery or long term illness. Very inspirational!


All Churches Great And Small: 60 Ideas For Improving Your Church's Ministry
Review Date: 6/25/2007


an idea book written for pastors and church leaders of smaller congregations. It can be used as a small group study; there are theory sections, lists of ideas, and discussion questions for groups. Covers the gamut of small conservative protestant church life and makes practical suggestions for every aspect of church life.


Baby and Child Care
Baby and Child Care
Author: Benjamin Spock, Michael B. Rothenberg, Dorothea Fox (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/11/2007


The classic baby care text; this one was published in the 1980s. The cover has some creases in it and one of my kids put a small sticker on the cover long years ago. Other than that it is in good reading condition.


The Borzoi College Reader
The Borzoi College Reader
Author: Charles Muscatine, Marlene Griffith
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  ?
Review Date: 9/5/2007


older copy, yellowed but in good reading condition


Come and worship
Come and worship
Author: Michael Coleman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/25/2007


a very conservative charismatic viewpoint on incorporating praise and worship music into church life.


Contact
Contact
Author: Carl Sagan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 6/25/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Carl Sagan's fictional account of what it might be like if SETI finds evidence of extraterrestial life. Classic sci fi tale. I wish Sagan had written more novels!


Creative Wedding Florals You Can Make
Creative Wedding Florals You Can Make
Author: Terry L. Rye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/14/2012


I first bought this book years ago when my daughter was getting married so I could help do her wedding flowers. With the info in this book, I was able to do all the boutonnieres, corsages, and bouquets for her wedding. It is clear and easy to follow with lots of photos. I go back to this book again and again for ideas.


Fit for Life ll
Fit for Life ll
Author: Harvey Diamond, Marilyn Diamond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 6/29/2007


The follow-up book to "Fit For Life", this volume reviews the material from the first book and adds a lot of "living healthy" advice, recipes, and exercises.


The Greatest Skits on Earth
The Greatest Skits on Earth
Author: Wayne Rice, Mike Yaconelli
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/31/2007


I went ahead and posted this book, because it is filled with great youth group skits, and I thought there might be someone out there who wants it. BUT before you order you need to know it is NOT in new condition. The book is readable, but there is red magic marker on the bottom binding, part of the cover is worn, has folds and a slight rip in it. It has been lovingly used and it shows. So if you require a NEW or nearly new book, do not request this one. Thanks.


Here Comes the Snow (Hello Reader!, Level 1)
Review Date: 6/25/2007


This is a level one reader with delightful drawings, and about one sentence per page. There are some initials inside the front cover, but the book overall is clean and nearly new condition.


Homeschooling for Excellence
Homeschooling for Excellence
Author: David Colfax, Micki Colfax
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/11/2007


"how to take charge of your chid's schooling -- and why you absolutely must" -- the Colfaxes provide accessible, meaty advice on how to homeschool your child(ren). Published in 1988, this volume is still one of the classics on how to home school.


The Irrational Season (Crosswicks Journals, Bk 3)
The Irrational Season (Crosswicks Journals, Bk 3)
Author: Madeleine L'Engle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/11/2007


Book #3 of a three part series called, collectively, The Crosswicks Journal.


the partner
the partner
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  ?
Review Date: 9/7/2007


12-cassette set of The Partner by John Grisham; all the tapes are there and in good condition; the box has some wear on it. This set is narrated by Frank Muller. Bantam Doubleday Dell Audio Publishing, 1997.


Politics at the Margin : Historical Studies of Public Expression outside the Mainstream
Review Date: 10/12/2007


this copy has quite a bit of underlining and comments in the margins (blue pen), but is otherwise in very good condition. The markings do not detract from or obscure the text at all.


Raising Rabbits the Modern Way (Garden Way Publishing Classic)
Raising Rabbits the Modern Way (Garden Way Publishing Classic)
Author: Bob Bennett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/25/2007


Handbook for raising rabbits -- a very helpful handbook for the 4-H student or homesteader getting into rabbits. I raised rabbits for over ten years and used this text as a reference. Good used condition.


Summer Promise (Christy Miller)
Summer Promise (Christy Miller)
Author: Robin Jones Gunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/25/2007


Christian romance novel.


Surprise Endings (The Christy Miller Series, Book 4)
Surprise Endings (The Christy Miller Series, Book 4)
Author: Robin Jones Gunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/25/2007


Christian romance novel.


Sweet and Sugarfree: An All-Natural Fruit-Sweetened Dessert Cookbook
Review Date: 9/5/2007


This is an older copy (copyright 1982) with a slight stain on the cover and binding, but still in very good condition and highly usable in the kitchen. The recipes are fairly simple without a lot of hard-to-find ingredients. The main sweeteners suggested are fruit sauces and fruit pieces. A very good dessert cookbook for vegetarians and vegans.


A Time to Cherish (Christy Miller, Bk 10)
A Time to Cherish (Christy Miller, Bk 10)
Author: Robin Jones Gunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 6/25/2007


Christian romance novel.


The Unicorn
The Unicorn
Author: Iris Murdoch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/9/2007


I got this copy from a member here, read it, loved it, and am passing it on again. recycled library book in good condition.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: