Amy S. (amyshatt) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
The 19th Wife
The 19th Wife
Author: David Ebershoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 10/5/2009
Helpful Score: 11


I'm one of the rare people that didn't enjoy this book at all. I didn't even bother finishing it, placing it back on PBS almost a week after receiving it. I felt Ebershoff was a gruff author, writing at a 6th grade level and in a very choppy manner. While there was definitely a story to be told here, it merited refined words written in more eloquent ways. Neiter refinement nor eloquence can be found in this book. Save yourself the time and look for a better book to read.


Across Five Aprils
Across Five Aprils
Author: Irene Hunt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 4/7/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This is an excellent book, bringing the Civil War into a sharp focus for mid to late elementary students. Hunt provides ample detail to give the reader a clear picture of the battles/skirmishes, life of the soldier, and life of those left behind as their husbands/brothers/sons went off to fight. However, the detail is provided in a tasteful manner without including the full attrocities of the battles themselves. This book really brought home the lessons that the Civil War had/has to teach us. And the manner in which it was done was engaging and thought-provoking. It is a must read for all kids studying the Civil War as it goes beyond mere dates and names to really bring the reader alongside the characters.


The Book of Mordred
The Book of Mordred
Author: Vivian Vande Velde
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/23/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This book is a twist on the classic tale of Arthur. The characters are very engaging as they interact with the environment and with each other.

Mordred helps save a noble lady's young child who is wanted for her magical powers from a wizard who intends to use those powers to sustain his own life. Mordred is a rather withdrawn character with a steely-gaze and a persistence that pays off in the end. The enemies he must defeat include his own father, King Arthur.

This book takes some unexpected twists and turn within the pages, deserving a second read to fully appreciate all the intracacies therein. The Book of Mordred will surely not disappoint!

(wtitten by Ian S. - age 16)


The Child's Story Bible
The Child's Story Bible
Author: Catherine F. Vos
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/7/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Wow!!!

This book was suggested to me by a friend. She just would not shut up about how great it was ... literally, she talked to me for 20 minutes, singing it's praises! Upon her insistance, I finally broke done and BOUGHT it from Amazon since PBS had a full wish list for this book.

We simply could not be happier with it. These are Bible stories retold for the young child. While they are not watered down, they are told in a gentle manner. We find these stories have a tendancy to bring out questions and opportunities for conversations with our children regarding faith matters. While we have shelves upon shelves of books (we are home educators), we turn to this book very frequently for a bedtime story. It is well-loved by parents and chilren alike.

Parents, if you are waiting for your number to come up on the wish list - I suggest you skip that and go directly to Amazon.com. Don't let your children grow old without having had the gift if this Bible!


Chiropractic First: The Fastest Growing Healthcare Choice Before Drugs or Surgery
Review Date: 3/25/2009
Helpful Score: 2


What an incredible book this is! The author takes the reader through the first several chapters assuming no prior knowledge of chiropractic care, yet never talks down to those of us that are well-versed in this area of healthcare. He includes many case examples of those that have been helped by chiropractic care including the young, elderly, and even the learning disabled. Terry Rondberg also compares the current trends (drugs and surgery) to chiropractic care, sharing the end results of both and shows clearly how chiro care succeeds where modern medicine often falters.

There is an eight-page glossary included in the back of the book that defines chiro-terms clearly to the lay person.

Interestingly, this author (Terry Rondberg) references the author of How to Raise a Healthy Child in Spite of Your Doctor in his book. The How to Raise book is another favorite of mine, and the authors of both books seem to share a very similar viewpoint.


The Deadliest Monster: A Christian Introduction to Worldviews
The Deadliest Monster: A Christian Introduction to Worldviews
Author: J. F. Baldwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/13/2009


This book is currently unavailable on PBS, but it is a book that I believe should be on the wish list of every Christian person! This book explains, in a very captivating manner, the fundamental difference between Christianity and all other worldviews. The author utilizes literature (Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde and Frankenstein) to portray the two monsters of the world - the *Christian Monster* of Dr. Jekyll (who realized the duplicity of his nature, having both good and bad residing within himself) and the *Non-Christian Monster* of Frankenstein (who felt that he was born good and influenced in a negative manner by society).

There are profound truths within the pages of this book that will make you expell your breath in a "why didn't I think of that?" manner! This is one book that I really feel is a must read! Get on the wait list for it now so you don't miss it when someone decides they want to give up their copy!


A Family Guide to the Lion, the Witch And the Wardrobe
A Family Guide to the Lion, the Witch And the Wardrobe
Author: Christin Ditchfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is an incredible guide for children and adults alike! After introductions of both the famed author and the storyline, the guide continues to guide the reader, chapter by chapter, through the land of Narnia while drawing Biblical principles and parallels. Each chapter that parallels the actual book puts forth Scripture references regarding the subject matter of the chapter in The Lion, the Witch, and The Wardrobe.

I have seen the movie several times. I have also read the entire series, complete with an in-depth study of the books with my high school students. This guide, however, casts additional light on the many parallels to Scripture. Each chapter has a black & white illustration depicting the main topic of the chapter. As a fun endnote, the author includes recipes for English tea, English scones and Turkish Delight!

This is a gem of a book!


Meet Me At the Movies (Meet Me at the...)
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is a quick little book to read to young ones. Because the text is short and rhyming, young children can pick up the words and memorize the book in short order, leaving them with the feeling that they can read long before they are actually able to decipher the words on the page! My five year old son used to sit for extended periods just studying the peek-through windows which he absolutely adored.

This book has three other companion books that look and feel very similar ... Meet me at the Zoo, Meet me at the Aquarium, and Meet me at the Picnic. It also came bundled with four other books that are also peek-throughs ... Talking Toucans, Swinging Monkeys, Zany Zebras and Laughing Lions. All eight books are equally captivating for children ages 2-4.


Susanna of the Alamo: A True Story
Susanna of the Alamo: A True Story
Author: John Jakes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/13/2014
Helpful Score: 1


What a gem of a book! My 10yo son had expressed interest in the history behind the Alamo. We found the encyclopedia entry to be extremely dry. The documentaries were long and complex for a boy his age. This book hit the mark. It had ample explanation of who the major players were, where battles took place (with a map provided in the beginning pages for those that are visual learners), and the outcomes of those battles - yet it did all this in the setting of a story which held even the interest of my 7yo son (who is very hard to impress!). While my 10yo son LOVES history, I do not - but I still need to teach it. Books like this make teaching history a pleasure!


The Times of Joshua and the Judges
The Times of Joshua and the Judges
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/7/2011


This book was given to me by a lady who was going to otherwise donate it to a thrift store. I hesitated because it appeared to be a somewhat dry book, lacking in illustrations (1 per chapter). I was mistaken and this turned out to be a book that could NOT be judged by its cover!

Kids are walked through the book of Joshua and Judges in a story format, made alive by character development, rich descriptions of the settings, and plenty of action! I have been reading a chapter a night to my 7yo and it has been a WONDERFUL segway into further conversations about God, His attributes, how He works through both ordinary and extraordinary people, and the consequences of sinful choices!

This is an EXCELLENT choice, and while it is an older book not often found on PBS, I would highly recommend adding it to your wish list!


1 to 10 of 10