Jill (beaderchick) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
The 10th Kingdom: Do You Believe in Magic?
The 10th Kingdom: Do You Believe in Magic?
Author: Kathryn Wesley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/15/2010


Unfortunately, this book was probably the silliest book I've ever read. I rented the movie after I read the book hoping for some improvement, but I couldn't even finish watching it. I realize this book was a basic retelling of the movie, but it just seemed to get sillier and sillier as I ventured deeper into the book. The characters were weird and I couldn't identify with any of them. The premise has a lot of promise -- too bad it was never fulfilled.
One good thing: I liked the way they worked the "old" fairy tales into this story. That was the only neat thing about the whole wretched affair.


Auralia's Colors (Auralia Thread, Bk 1)
Auralia's Colors (Auralia Thread, Bk 1)
Author: Jeffrey Overstreet
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 6/23/2010


I really liked this book -- wasn't sure I would but once I started, I couldn't stop reading. Overstreet's writing is beautiful, very lyrical and full of imagery. It is not a quick read that you can blow through in a weekend, but worth the time. There was some Christian imagery in it, but I did not find it to be overdone and still thought the book was an engaging story.
If I had to find a fault with this story, I would agree with a previous reviewer who said the made up language was overdone (just a touch), but the characters are so engaging and the story interesting enough, that I really didn't give it much thought until I read these reviews. So highly recommended and definitely worth your time if you'd love to read a beautifully written fantasy.


Bengal's Heart (Breeds, Bk 19)
Bengal's Heart (Breeds, Bk 19)
Author: Lora Leigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 286
Review Date: 11/24/2010


I picked this book up at a book sale, and although it is well-written, it is STEAMY (I was not aware it was an erotic romance). I'm not a prude, but this is definitely graphic sex and swearing. The book about humans and Breeds (kind of like a genetic blend of animal and human)is a good unique plot with good characters that I was rooting for.


The Crossroad (Amish Country Crossroads, Bk 2)
The Crossroad (Amish Country Crossroads, Bk 2)
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 3/9/2009


I really liked this book -- thought I knew about the Amish, but learned more about their way of life and beliefs. Really liked the characters and would recommend it to most readers.


Donna Kooler's Cross Stitch Inspirations
Donna Kooler's Cross Stitch Inspirations
Author: Donna Kooler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Classic Kooler artistry! Wonderful designs, some with Bible verses, as well as some beautiful patterns including angels. Anybody who likes Donna Kooler's books will like this book.


Flights: Extreme Visions Of Fantasy, Volume II
Flights: Extreme Visions Of Fantasy, Volume II
Author: Al Sarrantonio (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/28/2015


Ubfortunately, did not enjoy this as much as I had hoped. 25% of the book was good, another 25% was okay and the last 50% of these stories seemed to be penned for shock value only. As a person of faith, I didn't enjoy reading about gay sex, a field trip into hell or a perverse twist on Lewis' The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe. If you like that kind of thing, this book will fit the bill. Otherwise, life is too short to read stories like these.


Halos
Halos
Author: Kristen Heitzmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 4/5/2009


A really good book -- although the idea of "signs" guiding someone's way seemed a little weird to me at first. Still, a book I would definitely recommend.


Healing Stones (Sullivan Crisp, Bk 1)
Healing Stones (Sullivan Crisp, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Rue, Stephen Arterburn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 6/5/2009


Really good novel -- has stuck in my mind long after reading it. Very heavy beginning (not surprising since this deals with adultery), but still found that I read the whole story in one day. I liked it alot.


The Last Boyfriend (Inn BoonsBoro, Bk 2)
The Last Boyfriend (Inn BoonsBoro, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 237
Review Date: 10/3/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book! She's expanded on the first book of the series and this one is even better. It is a straight love story (no creepy stalker!)and even though I couldn't entirely identify with the heroine, I liked her alot. She fills out the paranormal aspect of this story to make the reader want more and learn the history.
I am eagerly awaiting book 3!


Lost & Found (Rocky Pelligrino, Bk 1)
Lost & Found (Rocky Pelligrino, Bk 1)
Author: Jacqueline Sheehan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 489
Review Date: 7/31/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This book was not what I expected -- but I liked it anyway. I found Rocky interesting and her friend Tess REALLY interesting, and I couldn't help but love the black Lab. I was thrown when I read one of the chapters from his point of view (yes, the dog actually shares with the reader what he thinks -- a little weird for me...) Nevertheless, I was pulling for Rocky and loved the little mystery/thrill at the end. A good book -- I would have loved for it to continue for several more chapters.


A Mile in My Flip-Flops
A Mile in My Flip-Flops
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 3/11/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I really liked this book -- it felt different than a traditional romance novel, although I'm not really sure why. Still I definitely would recommend this book -- an easy enjoyable read.


A Month of Summer (Blue Sky Hills, Bk 1)
A Month of Summer (Blue Sky Hills, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Wingate
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 3/11/2009
Helpful Score: 4


What a great book -- a typical Lisa Wingate novel (I haven't read one I didn't like...) Take time for this one -- it will be difficult to put down.


My So-Called Love Life (Love Inspired)
My So-Called Love Life (Love Inspired)
Author: Allie Pleiter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 10/6/2009


Surprise, surprise -- I loved this book! I don't usually read Love Inspired, but I laughed out loud and loved the fact that the book wasn't preachy. Yes, there is faith involved, but the author didn't beat you over the head with it. I liked both the main characters and even found myself getting fond of some of the others even though they were slightly messed up(because aren't we all?)
All in all, a good story, a quick read & one of the more enjoyable Love Inspired books I've tried.


Naughty but Nice Cross Stitch
Naughty but Nice Cross Stitch
Author: Claire Crompton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/26/2010


I love this book -- I've already completed one of the patterns in here and am almost done with a second one. They are cute and a little smart -- no sappy sayings here. Perfect for a girlfriend or a younger (or young at heart!)female. There are pithy sayings referring to the office, to the home, to relationships, to food, and probably a few I've missed. I personally have been impressed how quickly they work up. I took one of the projects and used the design shown for the border, but changed the "font/alphabet" for the saying and loved the way it turned out. I'm planning on giving as a gift for Christmas.


The Next Always (Inn BoonsBoro, Bk 1)
The Next Always (Inn BoonsBoro, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 306
Review Date: 10/3/2012
Helpful Score: 4


Nora Roberts is a master. This book is classic N.R. and the story is engrossing. She gives great details on how the renovations of the inn progress (I found out she's renovating an inn herself!) and throws in a ghost story too. Lovely -- I couldn't put it down. One note: if you dislike any violence in your stories, be aware this one has a creepy character who takes an intense interest in the heroine. I didn't mind so much, but those who like straight sweet romances might find this addition disturbing.


Of Bees and Mist
Of Bees and Mist
Author: Erick Setiawan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 3/15/2010
Helpful Score: 5


This is a weird book. I'm not sure whether I like it or not. It is very well written. But there are a lot of things that show up in this book that,(even after reading it), I'm not sure whether they are metaphors or actual things the characters saw (mainly the Bees and the Mist -- hence the title...) There just seemed to be several things happening that were "magical," but no explanation given as to why those things happened that way, rather than in a conventional way. (I'm sorry if this is vague -- I just don't want to give anything away.) Maybe I'm just being dense or too literal, but I expected a little more.
If you're looking for an unusual book, this is a good choice. I doubt I'll ever forget it.


Once In A Blue Moon (Harlequin Next, No 64)
Once In A Blue Moon (Harlequin Next, No 64)
Author: Lenora Worth
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/10/2009


A little slow to start -- but after the first chapter or two, I really started to like these characters. And by the end of the book, the plot really started to move. Lots of fun!


Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon's Near Death Experience and Journey into the Afterlife
Review Date: 10/24/2014


Just okay. Although the story was kind of interesting, it didn't really do anything for me. It seems like just another NDE story (near death experience).


A Rush of Wings (Rush of Wings, Bk 1)
A Rush of Wings (Rush of Wings, Bk 1)
Author: Kristen Heitzmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 4/5/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Loved this book -- it was the first one I read from this author and it turned me into a fan. A good book with tension woven into the story, but not too scary. Definitely worth reading.


Say Uncle (Halo Hattie's Boarding House , No 1)
Say Uncle (Halo Hattie's Boarding House , No 1)
Author: Suzy Pizzuti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/11/2009


I truly loved this book -- and I wish the publisher had continued to publish a bunch of them (instead of only 2!) Still, I enjoyed this one and Raising Cain -- I found myself LOL. Cute, Christian romance.


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: