Lisa M. (LisaMorgan) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
The Amateur Marriage
The Amateur Marriage
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 1/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Great book. Overall the story is about a marriage and how the two very different spouses interact with one another throughout their marriage. I felt like I could see bits of myself in both of the characters. It gave me new insights into how others may perceive me or how I perceive others incorrectly.


Back Roads
Back Roads
Author: Tawni O'Dell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/13/2007


Really good. If you are looking for a light, pleasant story, this is not it. It is emotional and sometimes dark, but you will not want to put it down.


Back Roads
Back Roads
Author: Tawny O'Dell
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 1/20/2008


Really good. If you are looking for a light, pleasant story, this is not it. It is emotional and sometimes dark, but you will not want to put it down.


Batman, Play-a-Sound Book
Batman, Play-a-Sound Book
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/25/2007


Good book to get little boys into wanting to read. Sounds are Batman,the Joker and the Batmobile.


Bergdorf Blondes
Bergdorf Blondes
Author: Plum Sykes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 403
Review Date: 3/27/2007
Helpful Score: 6


I found this book to be a really fun read. There is not much of a plot - and the one it struggles with is very predictable. But Ms Sykes does a great job with satire and the book is extremely amusing. Her descriptions of the lives of NY socialites kept a constant smile on my face.


Catalina Magdalena Hoopensteiner Wallendiner Hogan Logan Bogan Was Her Name
Review Date: 11/11/2008


I think this is a great book for kids to read aloud. It is funny and a bit challenging. You can see your kids make improvements in pronunciation.


Fly Away to Dragonland (Nifty Lift-and-Look)
Fly Away to Dragonland (Nifty Lift-and-Look)
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/9/2007


My kids loved this book when they were younger.


I Heart You, You Haunt Me
I Heart You, You Haunt Me
Author: Lisa Schroeder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 11/5/2010


Loved, loved, loved this book so much that I am writing a review for it! I read it in a day. Gave it to a friend - she read it in 3 hours. Great story. Well written in a unique, perfect way. I was even thinking that it should be on high school reading lists. Cannot wait to read more from this author.


Lipstick Jungle
Lipstick Jungle
Author: Candace Bushnell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 196
Review Date: 5/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The three main characters are all extremely successful women living in NYC. Despite the fact that they are part of social circles that most of us will never know, the women are so likeable and real, you end up feeling like you want them to be your best friends too. Girlfriend relationships are different from other relationships. Girlfriends support you without trying to solve your problems for you (or fix them); they accept you and do not judge; and they are truly happy for you when good things happen rather than being envious. A fun read that made me have a new appreciation of the gift it is to have girlfriends. I can see why they are thinking of making it into a series this fall.


Little Children
Little Children
Author: Tom Perrotta
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 3/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this was a great book. I was pleasantly surprised - I could not put it down. The author used unfiltered thought processes to develop his characters so well, that even if you believed that the character was nothing like you, you could still relate to what they were going through with similar emotions. They seemed real - you got in their heads. He even got the female thought processes on target and gave me insights on how a male thinks. Even if you do not think you would like the story, you should check out his writing style when you get an opportunity.


Mermaids in the Basement
Mermaids in the Basement
Author: Michael Lee West
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/10/2008
Helpful Score: 1


From Publishers Weekly
Ripe with Southern charm and sultry atmosphere, West's diverting and funny latest unravels the tangled gossamer web of an eccentric extended Southern family. At the heart of the novel is Renata DeChavannes, who has a pretty full plate: a tabloid ran a story about her longtime film director boyfriend's possible on-set fling with an actress; her mother and step-father died in a plane crash five months ago; her father is about to marry his fourth wife (a squeaky-voiced young thang named Joie); and she's just found a letter written by her mother instructing her to ferret out her mother's dirty secrets. So Renata heads to her Gulf Coast Alabama hometown, where her indomitable grandmother Honora DeChavannes; steadfast former nanny Gladys Boudreax; and Honora's longtime friend and former actress, Isabella D'Agostina McGeehee, live. The story flies by, loaded with grand parties, sumptuous Southern meals, multiple affairs and harrowing calamities. West's storytelling talent shines when she's following around the fiery belles, though she has trouble getting convincingly into the head of Renata's father, Louie, and the profusion of subplots can feel overwhelming. On the whole, it's a joyride, if a sometimes bumpy one. (Jan.)


The Other Man: A Love Story
The Other Man: A Love Story
Author: Michael Bergin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/24/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I thought the book was an interesting read. Bergin's writing style is simple - much like he wrote the book for an undergraduate college course. But he wrote from his heart about his life and vulnerabilities - the good and bad. He explains how he came into his career, his relationship with Carolyn, and his struggle to achieve emotional peace in order to get the family he wanted. Their lives were not as easy and glamourous as they seemed. Good story if the subject matter interests you.


Prep
Prep
Author: Curtis Sittenfeld
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 5/21/2007
Helpful Score: 8


This book was so good - I was tempted to keep it for my daughter to read when she grows up. It was a slow start, but after I got into it, I could not put it down. No matter what cliche you were part of in high school, you will be able to relate to the characters. All the things you thought and felt no one else was going through - this author clearly understands. She did a great job capturing the turbulent emotions of teenagers. If you have a teenage girl - you should definitely check out this book. Excellent read!


Rise and Shine
Rise and Shine
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 1/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Good book. Not too fluffy but has elements of popular culture (could be a beach read). I think the thing that makes this book shine is that it is apparent that Ms. Quindlen is very smart and does not write just to fill up space. She offers insights into worlds which we only think we know. I think most of us have feared making a mistake and having it have an enormous impact on our lives. The story also gives us some idea of what it must be like to be a celebrity and delves into the relationship between sisters and the roles they adopt for each other.

I kept a pen and paper handy - some of her writing contains a scattering of vocabulary words I should probably know (being a bookworm) but need to lookup. Entertaining but has some depth. What most authors try for and she actually does with this book. I will definitely read more of her work.


Running with Scissors
Running with Scissors
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2412
Review Date: 3/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I bought the book thinking that it would be funny. While parts of the book are amusing, as a mother I just kept feeling incredibly sorry for the main character as well as some of the other children in the household. I was definitely saddened that a child would have to grow up the way he did. Amazing tale - just not hilarious like the jacket described.


The Secret Life of Bees
The Secret Life of Bees
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5494
Review Date: 1/20/2008


I have wanted to read this book for some time since there has been a lot of hype about it. I guess that is why I was a little disappointed. It is good - but not incredible like I expected. Read it as an interesting story - not a life changing book.


The Starter Wife
The Starter Wife
Author: Gigi Levangie Grazer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 5/9/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Fun, humorous read! Ms. Grazer provides an insightful view into the personal relationships of the power brokers in the entertainment industry. She does a great job making you feel like a fly on the wall while adding a huge dose of satire to keep you smiling. I can't wait to read another one of her books. It was a nice escape.


Time of My Life
Time of My Life
Author: Allison Winn Scotch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 1/10/2009
Helpful Score: 4


One of the best books I have ever read - and that is saying a lot considering how much I read. If you have ever been in a long term relationship or are even thinking about it - you should check out this book.


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 4726
Review Date: 1/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Ms. Gruen is a very good story teller. I can't say that the book was lacking in any way - it was captivating. It felt very real. But it was just so depressing! I almost felt beaten up by the time I finished it. I have read Grapes of Wrath and many other "non warm and fuzzy" books. I think this one was different for me in that it was not just the circumstances that were tragic, but also just the pure cruelty of people towards each other and animals. Not for survival, but ego and greed. That said, the author paints a vivid, interesting tale.


You'll Never Nanny in This Town Again: The True Adventures of a Hollywood Nanny
Review Date: 1/20/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This book was surprisingly good. It has a little bit of everything - Hollywood gossip, Hollywood lifestyle insights, parenting techniques and most of all the ups and downs of being a nanny. The writing style is also wonderful. Ms Hansen wrote from her heart. I did not come away from it with a feeling that she was trying too hard to write a gossipy bestseller. It was more a snapshot of her life after she graduated high school when she became a nanny. It was what she pursued as she was trying to figure out what she wanted going into her adulthood. The insights of her particular position being a nanny in the entertainment industry is something most of us are curious about. But she also writes about that transition age as a young adult. Fun read!


1 to 20 of 20