Alison H. (Alison-H) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 55 - Page:
Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness, Bk 1)
Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness, Bk 1)
Author: Tamora Pierce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 218
Review Date: 7/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A great beginning to an epic fantasy tale for anyone who ever wanted to live in a world of magic and mystery. I reread this book and its sequels at least once a year growing up. Tamora Pierce is a MUST read for any YA fantasy enthusiast.

As an adult reader the book remains a swift entertaining read with intricate plotting, but it is not as detailed or developed as some adult focused fantasy stories.


Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 317
Review Date: 2/2/2009


A light easy read that will probably delight the younger audience for which it was written. As an adult I found it a satisfying if not particularly memorable read.


The Bone Doll's Twin (Tamir Trilogy, Book 1)
The Bone Doll's Twin (Tamir Trilogy, Book 1)
Author: Lynn Flewelling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 7/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A deftly plotted well told story about a young child caught up in a game of thrones. Mystery, magic, and sword fighting abound.


The Books of Great Alta : Sister Light, Sister Dark, and White Jenna
The Books of Great Alta : Sister Light, Sister Dark, and White Jenna
Author: Jane Yolen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/18/2007


I really enjoyed "Sister Light, Sister Dark" (which was one of my favorite books growing up), but I was disappointed by "White Jenna".


Cast in Peril (Chronicles of Elantra, Bk 8)
Cast in Peril (Chronicles of Elantra, Bk 8)
Author: Michelle Sagara
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 11/26/2012


I like this series, but I was disappointed by this book. It added some interesting characters and information to the series but it was a lot of words and little actual progress. After finishing the book I couldn't help but wonder why it was made into a novel and not wrapped into the larger story of the West March. I think the author and her editors made the wrong choice here.


Changeling (Otherworld, Bk 2)
Changeling (Otherworld, Bk 2)
Author: Yasmine Galenorn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 395
Review Date: 4/14/2009


This is the second book in the series and the author seems to have hit her stride this time. Deliah is more sympathetic than Camille which makes the book flow a little better.


Coyote Dreams (Walker Papers, Bk 3)
Coyote Dreams (Walker Papers, Bk 3)
Author: C. E. Murphy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 4/29/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Yes, Joanne spends a large (possibly larger than necessary) portion of this volume dreaming. This is not an action packed, explosion a minute story. However, what I liked about "Coyote Dreams" is that Murphy takes this down time to allow Joanne to learn about herself and her friends and to grow in ways that will probably lead to much for action-packed sequels, if that's what you want in your books.

I enjoyed the book and thought the character growth more than compensated for the dreaming time.


Darkling (Otherworld, Bk 3)
Darkling (Otherworld, Bk 3)
Author: Yasmine Galenorn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 325
Review Date: 4/14/2009
Helpful Score: 5


I liked Darkling better than Witchling, but not as much as Changeling. I've put in requests for the next book in the series, but I'll be reposting my copies and I wouldn't buy them

The stories aren't bad, but the author seems to be settling into some habits that I'm not sure I appreciate. Each story takes a long story to start into the real plot and each sister is being pushed into a triangle. I'm not against character driven multiples but these seem forced and unnecessary.


Darkly Dreaming Dexter (Dexter, Bk 1)
Darkly Dreaming Dexter (Dexter, Bk 1)
Author: Jeff Lindsay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 4/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I waited to read this until after I'd watched the first season of the TV show because I'd heard that the main plots are the same. I'm glad I did. There's enough of a difference between the two that it didn't ruin the book, but might have ruined the show.

The book was shorter and lighter than I expected based on the show, but I think there are somethings that work better in print and some that worked better on screen.


Daughter of the Forest (The Sevenwaters Trilogy, Bk 1)
Daughter of the Forest (The Sevenwaters Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Juliet Marillier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 222
Review Date: 7/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this book. It drew me in completely. A stunning retelling of a classic tale.


Dragonriders of Pern (Pern)
Dragonriders of Pern (Pern)
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 8/31/2011


This omnibus compiles the first 3 stories of McCaffrey's sweeping Pern series: Dragonflight, Dragonquest and The White Dragon. Each is an excellent story in its own respect and together they make for a great introduction or refresher to the world of Pern.


Ecstasy (Shadowdwellers, Bk 1)
Ecstasy (Shadowdwellers, Bk 1)
Author: Jacquelyn Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 368
Review Date: 7/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


In the first book of her new series Frank steps away from the characters developed in the Nightwalker series but not the general world. The Shadowdwellers are a race of Nightwalkers only recently emerged from a vicious clan war with interesting characters and lots of potential.

Unlike many of the other reviewers; this is my favorite of Frank's books so far most likely because bad guys and connecting plot arc in the Nightwalker books never really grabbed me.


Ender's Game (Ender Wiggin, Bk 1)
Ender's Game (Ender Wiggin, Bk 1)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 7/27/2007


This is classic science fiction at it's best. The tale of Ender and the children surrounding him is interesting, entertaining, and emotional. Here the moral is subtle, not mind-numbingly over-powering as in some of the sequels, keeping the book fast paced and meaningful.


Eon: Dragoneye Reborn
Eon: Dragoneye Reborn
Author: Alison Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/29/2011


EON tells the story of a well-built world, populated with great characters. It was very nice to see a story with magic and mysticism built around Asian themes as opposed to the more common witches, wizards, etc.

I took away a star because while the story was well plotted and the characters were intelligently written, I spent about 50 pages cursing the main character for being slow to realize the "twist".


Eona (Dragoneye, Bk 2)
Eona (Dragoneye, Bk 2)
Author: Alison Goodman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 5/5/2011


I confess I was a bit disappointed by this book. I enjoyed "Eon" and thought there was a lot of potential for "Eona", but for me it never quite got there.

The pacing of the story felt off. A lot of things happen to and around Eona in very quick succession. As you'd expect everything builds towards a big climactic battle but then the story ends a page later.

After all the buildup to the bonding/union in the first story, Eona spends relatively little time actually working with her dragon in this book and I found it disappointing that none of the revelations come as a result of the interaction between Eona and her Dragon. Most of the forward momentum to the plot comes from Eona being told things by others, not from anything she learns herself.

Further more I don't really feel like Eona experienced true character growth. Yes, she does a lot of new things, but there doesn't seem to be any of the internalization, acceptance, understanding that I would consider to be indicative of actual character growth. In fact almost every time someone points out that she's changing, Eona stubborn rejects the idea.

I don't mean to say that the book isn't worth reading; it is, if Eon left you curious. I suppose its more to say that I'd recommend borrowing it from the library or a friend over buying it yourself in hardcover.


Fragile Eternity (Wicked Lovely, Bk 3)
Fragile Eternity (Wicked Lovely, Bk 3)
Author: Melissa Marr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 4/29/2011


This book falls well in line with the rest of the series, but I found myself disappointed by the ending. Very little is settled by the end of this book, other than the fact that I'm starting to worry about Marr's characterization of Aislinn.

Yes, Aislinn is young and has dealt relatively well with a lot of recent changes but her continued wallowing and waffling has me questioning whether or not to pick up the next book.


The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials, Bk 1)
The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials, Bk 1)
Author: Philip Pullman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 507
Review Date: 7/18/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A strong opening into a new world and story. This book is listed as YA, but it is one of those rare fantasy stories that will capture readers both young and old on several levels.


Her Best Friend's Lover
Her Best Friend's Lover
Author: Shiloh Walker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 8/1/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A rather cliche storyline, but compellingly written with characters you'll want to cheer for. Sweetly erotic, which is not to say that all the sex scenes are slow and tender.


Hidden Warrior (Tamir Trilogy, Bk 2)
Hidden Warrior (Tamir Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Lynn Flewelling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 7/27/2007
Helpful Score: 4


One twin was killed so that the other could live to save a kingdom. In the second book of the Tamir Trilogy Tobin must come to grips with that awful truth as well as his true identity as a woman and his destiny to betray those who have helped to raise him as he claims his rightful place.

This well written story draws you in and will leave you waiting eagerly for the third book.


Hunting Ground (Alpha and Omega, Bk 2)
Hunting Ground (Alpha and Omega, Bk 2)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 563
Review Date: 10/1/2009


"Hunting Ground" was a likeable book with some interesting insights into Briggs' greater werewolf community. However, it is noticeably lighter, in both pages and content, than the previous entries in the Mercy or the Alpha series.

I was slightly disappointed because the characters are not as well fleshed out as I'm used to in Briggs' work and for me there seemed to be little actual progress in the development of Charles and Anna's relationship or Anna's abilities.


1 to 20 of 55 - Page: