Tom H. (JTsDad) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
Alan Moore's Neonomicon
Alan Moore's Neonomicon
Author: Alan Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/1/2016


I'm a longtime Lovecraft fan. He wrote of the horror of the insignificance of mankind in the vast uncaring universe. He wouldn't have approved of this hypersexualized,disturbing, shock for shock value adolescent fan fiction crap. A low point for Alan Moore.


The Alexandria Link (Cotton Malone, Bk 2)
The Alexandria Link (Cotton Malone, Bk 2)
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 283
Review Date: 1/20/2009


An ancient storehouse of forbidden knowledge.
Secret cabals of powerful men.
Conspiracy and murder.
Oh yeah! Give me more of that. Better than Dan Brown. Loved it.


Apocalypse 2012: A Scientific investigation into Civilizations's End
Review Date: 11/12/2012


This is a humorous but serious take on all the 2012 legends and myths. It is NOT gay erotica as the cover illustration suggests. What the HELL Paperbackswap?!!


Book of the Dead 2: Still Dead
Book of the Dead 2: Still Dead
Author: John Skipp
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/14/2009


WARNING: The stories within contain graphic depictions and paint pictures of highly disturbing images across your cerebral cortex. Have you ever read something and wished later you could UN-READ it? This is hardcore stuff. I loved it! I first read this book back in the early 90's and recently went through it again. Scared the crap out of me all over again. Seriously...you've been warned.


Brother Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 3)
Brother Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 3)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 555
Review Date: 1/20/2009


If you haven't read the Odd Thomas series, you're seriously missing out. This one is the best so far to me.


Darwinia
Darwinia
Author: Robert Charles Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/26/2010


Darwinia is full of wonder,discovery, and imagination. This is one of the best works of science fiction I have ever read. AND I'VE READ PLENTY. Robert Charles Wilson paints pictures with his words that are almost cinematic in their effect. After reading this, I began seeking out his other titles. If you like DARWINIA you should also check out BLIND LAKE. Both books linger in your mind even after you're done.


Darwinia
Darwinia
Author: Robert Charles Wilson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 3/6/2009
Helpful Score: 6


Robert Charles Wilson has surpassed Arthur C. Clarke as my favorite science fiction writer. His writing is rich with wonder and discovery. I absorbed this book like a sponge and it lingered on in my memory long afterward. If you like this one, I also recommend Blind Lake.


Darwinia
Darwinia
Author: Robert Charles Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/3/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Darwinia is full of wonder and imagination. This is one one the best works of science fiction I have ever read. AND I'VE READ PLENTY. Robert Charles Wilson paints pictures with his words that are almost cinematic in their effect. If you like this you should also check out BLIND LAKE. Both books linger in your mind even after you're done.


Echo Burning (Jack Reacher, Bk 5)
Echo Burning (Jack Reacher, Bk 5)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 227
Review Date: 1/20/2009


You can't beat the Jack Reacher books for action and suspense to keep you turning the pages. I'll be seeking out others in the series.


Evil Genius (Genius, Bk 1)
Evil Genius (Genius, Bk 1)
Author: Catherine Jinks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 1/17/2012


This was an entertaining read but not quite what I expected. It comes across a little Harry Potterish and I think it might appeal to younger readers. The HIGH IQ character, Cadel while smart did not act all that ingenius to me in that he seemed rather naive and easily manipulated by the adults in his life.Then again...I suppose it's a common stereotype of genius that they have book-smarts but no common sense. Not necessarily a view I support.


Ice: The Ultimate Disaster : Revised Edition
Ice: The Ultimate Disaster : Revised Edition
Author: Richard W. Noone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/9/2010


Hmmmm...apocalypse on 5/5/2000. Guess he missed his deadline. ;)


In the Courts of the Crimson Kings (Lords of Creation, Bk 2)
In the Courts of the Crimson Kings (Lords of Creation, Bk 2)
Author: S. M. Stirling
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/2/2011


Let me preface by mentioning that I am a fan of the works of the writer, SM Stirling and science fiction in general. Mr. Stirling has written some mind blowing, action packed stories with memorable characters and fascinating worlds. I highly recommend the Island in the Sea of Time trilogy and Conquistador as well as the first book in this series, The Sky People. They are unforgettable reads.

Having said that,I find it regrettable to report that Courts of the Crimson Kings is just not up to Mr. Stirling's usual standards. Unlike his previous titles, this book's undeveloped characters don't emotionally invest the reader in their fates. You don't know these people so you don't fear for them. They are like strangers on the bus. There's not a lot of plot here either. Stirling becomes so bogged down in the details of describing the people of Mars,their culture, and animal based technology that he leaves little room for plot development.

The Martian society is heavily based on a chesslike board game that all citizens play as practically the only form of entertainment in their every spare minute. This game permeates every aspect of their lives and pretty much every page of the book. These people talk about the game constantly since much of their language references the game. It gets kind of tedious after awhile. As far as the afore-mentioned genetically engineered animal based technology...remember Wilma's kitchen appliances and other household items on THE FLINTSTONES? The bird beak record player and such? Yep. Welcome to Bedrock.

I forced myself to finish it but this book just wasn't for me. I look forward to better works from Mr. Stirling.


In the Courts of the Crimson Kings (Lords of Creation, Bk 2)
In the Courts of the Crimson Kings (Lords of Creation, Bk 2)
Author: S. M. Stirling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 11/17/2010


Let me preface by mentioning that I am a fan of the works of the writer, SM Stirling and science fiction in general. Mr. Stirling has written some mind blowing, action packed stories with memorable characters and fascinating worlds. I highly recommend the Island in the Sea of Time trilogy and Conquistador as well as the first book in this series, The Sky People. They are unforgettable reads.

Having said that,I find it regrettable to report that Courts of the Crimson Kings is just not up to Mr. Stirling's usual standards. Unlike his previous titles, this book's undeveloped characters don't emotionally invest the reader in their fates. You don't know these people so you don't fear for them. They are like strangers on the subway. There's not a lot of plot here either. Stirling becomes so bogged down in the details of describing the people of Mars,their culture, and animal based technology that he leaves little room for plot development.

The Martian society is heavily based on a chesslike board game that all citizens play as practically the only form of entertainment in their every spare minute. This game permeates every aspect of their lives and pretty much every page of the book. These people talk about the game constantly since much of their language references the game. It gets kind of tedious after awhile. As far as the afore-mentioned genetically engineered animal based technology...remember Wilma's kitchen appliances and other household items on THE FLINTSTONES? The bird beak record player and such? Yep. Welcome to Bedrock.

I forced myself to finish it but this book just wasn't for me. I look forward to better works from Mr. Stirling.


Khai of Khem
Khai of Khem
Author: Brian Lumley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 11/17/2009


This is the EPIC tale of a privledged child in an ancient land and his rise to power as a commander of the armies of Kush,his soul journey to another lifetime, and his quest for revenge against the mad Pharoah who destroyed his family. This one's a real page turner especially if you have an appreciation for long-forgotten civilizations.I lost some sleep reading Khai Of Khem because I simply couldn't put it down. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!


Relentless
Relentless
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 11/6/2009


Wow. I've been reading Koontz for years and I've enjoyed the science fiction elements inherent to many of them. I have a very flexible imagination when it comes to horror, sci-fi, or thriller literature. However, this book was asking a bit much from my ability to suspend disbelief. The latin phrase, deus ex machina came to my mind as I read the ending. Over the years, this author has made me accept cloned killers,psychic rescuers,and time traveling Nazis. However, Relentless lacked the exposition required to convince me of the more improbable elements of this story.


The Return
The Return
Author: Bentley Little
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 6/11/2015


Little's best one of the five I've read so far by the author. He's my new favorite.


Seven Deadly Wonders (Jack West Jr., Bk 1)
Seven Deadly Wonders (Jack West Jr., Bk 1)
Author: Matthew Reilly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 1/20/2009


INTENSE, ACTION-PACKED, AND OVER THE TOP. Hairs-breadth escapes abound! The characters are constantly out of the frying pan and into the fire. Very cinematic story-telling but a little more character development wouldn't have hurt.


Sick Puppy
Sick Puppy
Author: Carl Hiaasen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 335
Review Date: 1/20/2009


They say all the nuts roll down to Florida and this book is determined to prove it. Chock full of kooky characters the off-beat predicaments they find themselves in. Loved it. Great beach reading.


Skeletons
Skeletons
Author: Al Sarrantonio
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/13/2009


An excellent twist on the living dead apocalypse theme. I read it years ago and liked it so much I recently re-read it.

From the back cover -
In Moscow, the sound of bones echo across Red Square. In America, Skeletons patrol the streets of Manhattan and blood stains the cornfields of the Midwest. While in Washington D.C.,Abraham Lincoln is heading for his third term in the White House.

The best and worst of humanity are back with a vengence, a skeletal army hell-bent on conquering the living and uniting the world under the banner of the dead. Against this global backdrop of gobal horror, a small group of refugees find themselves drawn together by a single vision and a shared fate:to determine whether the last two humans on earth will survive-or join the ranks of the newly risen.


Spin
Spin
Author: Robert Charles Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/20/2010


Robert Charles Wilson first won me over with DARWINIA. Since reading that one, I've sought out his other books like BLIND LAKE and CHRONOLITHS. Each one becomes a new favorite. From this writer's imagination come stories of regular people caught up in the cogs of vast often universe spanning circumstances. Spin weaves a tale of wonder and discovery with a strong romantic subplot. Books like this are the reason I read SCI-FI.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: