Linda S. (punchbuggy27) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 52 - Page:
Accused (Rosato and Associates, Bk 12)
Accused (Rosato and Associates, Bk 12)
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 9/2/2014


I started this book full of interest, since I've read many of her other books & I've enjoyed them (except for the non-fiction stuff; didn't like those at all). This one kept my interest until a little over 1/2 way thru. After that, until the end, there was too much 'fluff' (as I call it); tangents not really making the story better, just filling the pages with words.


The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 332
Review Date: 3/23/2009
Helpful Score: 9


Her first novel, Lovely Bones, is one of the books in my favorite books list. So I couldn't wait to read this book. Well, I am very disappointed. It was a slow plot, I just couldn't get into the story or characters.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 977
Review Date: 1/5/2010


What a wonderful, wonderful book. I really enjoyed the telling of the story from the dog's point of view. Every dog lover should read this book!


Ask Again Later
Ask Again Later
Author: Jill A. Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 7/24/2008
Helpful Score: 5


On the page for this book on PBS, there is one good review & one bad review; I feel like I need to break the tie! I 'm glad I didn't heed the negative review & skip this book, cuz I thought it was a good book. Not intense, not alot of characters, no deep story line, just a good story about a family & its quirks. I thought this book had some great one or two lines of insight, such as "when you don't know what you're searching for, its hard to know you've found it." I read it in a day or two and now I'm going to try another book by her. Enjoy!


Beholding Bee
Beholding Bee
Author: Kimberly Newton Fusco
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/21/2016


What a wonderful book! I got this book with plans on giving it to my 13 year old niece, but the 'write-up' sounded interesting, so I decided to read it first. I'm glad I did! I read it cover to cover in a couple of days. I found it enchanting but heartbreaking, wonderful but sad at times. I will give this copy to my niece, but get another to keep in my library. And I'll also look into getting the other books by this author.


Betrayal of Trust (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 20)
Betrayal of Trust (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 20)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 8/28/2011


I just love the way she writes! Another great book!


The Book of Joe
The Book of Joe
Author: Jonathan Tropper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 3/22/2008


Well, what a book! A great read! Interesting story, memorable characters. I really liked this book and will now be reading others by the same author.


The Bright Forever
The Bright Forever
Author: Lee Martin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 5/23/2008
Helpful Score: 2


My, oh, my!! What a book! I couldn't put it down. . . first book I've read by this author and now I'll read others.


The Camera Eye
The Camera Eye
Author: Dan Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/19/2009


I thought this was a really good book!


The Cat Sitter's Nine Lives (A Dixie Hemingway Mystery)
The Cat Sitter's Nine Lives (A Dixie Hemingway Mystery)
Author: Blaize Clement, John Clement
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/13/2017


The original author of the Cat Sitter books passed away in 2011 and now her son, John, has taken over. I've read at least one other book he wrote, and it wasn't that good. I wasn't sure what to expect with this one, but figured I'd give it a try. I'm reluctant to give up the series! Well, it was good! I read a few books simultaneously, and found myself picking up Nine Lives before the others.


Certain Girls (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 2)
Certain Girls (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 2)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 365
Review Date: 9/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Oh my, oh my!! What a wonderful book! I couldn't wait to get back to reading it (when I had to put it down)! A great sequel to Good In Bed, I thought it was just wonderful all around.


Change of Heart
Change of Heart
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 479
Review Date: 3/29/2008
Helpful Score: 6


Well, she's done it again! Jodi Picoult has written another great book. I read it fast the first time and felt like I might have missed stuff, so I read it a second time and it was just as good! The plot has twists & unexpected turns; that's one great thing about her; you don't see 'it' coming! My Sister's Keeper is still my favorite, but this is a close second.


The Condition (P.S.)
The Condition (P.S.)
Author: Jennifer Haigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 9/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I was looking forward to reading this book. I had heard so much about it! And it was good, until I finished the first section (1976). After that, it was too many details, lost my interest.


Dead Simple (Roy Grace, Bk 1)
Dead Simple (Roy Grace, Bk 1)
Author: Peter James
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/11/2008


I couldn't wait to get back to reading this book. . . it was good! Likeable characters, and not too many, a good story with a few twists, kept me guessing and wondering.


Defending Jacob
Defending Jacob
Author: William Landay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 4/21/2012


What a great book! At first, it wasn't holding my attention, so I almost put it down (and brought it back to the library). I decided to give it a few more pages, and boy, am I glad I did! It was wonderful. Great story, great read, great characters. The story takes us from the day of the murder, then to gathering evidence, arrest, waiting six months til the trial, the trial itself, afterwards; and all the stuff in between. The story held my interest and I couldn't wait to get back to (reading) it. The author tells a great tale!


A Dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans
A Dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans
Author: W. Bruce Cameron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/13/2017


I really, really enjoyed this book! It is written from the point of view of the dog. I think the author must have been a dog in a past life, because he plays the part so well!


Entombed (Alex Cooper, Bk 7)
Entombed (Alex Cooper, Bk 7)
Author: Linda Fairstein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 6/13/2017


Sections of this book were good, left me feeling like reading more. Other sections left me wondering why I was reading the story at all! Dragged in some places, not in others. Too many characters,so many that I couldn't keep track of the suspects. I skimmed thru some pages and eventually finished it.


Frog Music: A Novel
Frog Music: A Novel
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/27/2014
Helpful Score: 2


I have read quite a few stunning reviews of this book, but personally, I don't see what all the hub-bub is about! After reading the first 50 pages, all the while hoping it would get better, I stopped reading it and brought it back to the library. Room is one of my favorite books of all time, but this story I couldn't even finish.


Get Me Out of Here : My Recovery from Borderline Personality Disorder
Review Date: 7/17/2016


a long, drawn out story that could have been told in half the pages.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3374
Review Date: 12/6/2007


My, oh, my!! What a book! I read this book in only a couple of day, it was an amazing book. I am always astounded by what some people live through; I've heard & read many stories about people growing up with alcoholic parent(s), but this one takes the cake.


1 to 20 of 52 - Page: