Gayla G. (gongwer) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
8 Minutes in the Morning Kit: A Simple Way to Shed Up to 2 Pounds a Week Guaranteed
Review Date: 7/21/2009


The exercise part of this is great - flexible, and truly only takes a few minutes a day. AND Jorge includes a nice CD with motivational messages. The diet plan requires keeping track of what you eat on a chart - a great idea, but I'd need more details about expectations than what he includes. But if you are a true beginner to exercise and healthy eating, this book is a good place to start.


Air Ferrets Aloft (Ferret Chronicles, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 9/12/2008


Just like "Jonathon Livingston Seagull" and "Illusions," this book takes the unexplainable and puts it in a story that warms your heart and gives you hope for the world. What a wonderful way to spend a couple hours..... more than once! :)


Away (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Away (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Amy Bloom, Barbara Rosenblatt (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/11/2008
Helpful Score: 2


The title, or even the cover, don't give a hint to the subject matter, or how you'll be engrossed in this story. from start to finish. unpredictable..... yet when all is said and done, you may tell yourself "of course, it had to be that way." a truly enjoyable read.


Blasphemy (Wyman Ford, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 3/22/2009


I picked up this book on a fluke. Once I started listening, it "had" me right away, and I couldn't stop listening until I was done. I think I need to read more of Preston's work....


The Boleyn Inheritance
The Boleyn Inheritance
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 5/10/2008


I particularly enjoyed listening to this book, as opposed to reading it. As the story was told from three decidedly different points of view (two Queens and a Boleyn), it was narrated by three different people - making it realistic. and absolutely spellbinding.


The Christmas Train
The Christmas Train
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/21/2008


A nice story of karma and second chances....


Code to Zero (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Code to Zero (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Frank Muller (Narrator), Ken Follett
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/28/2008


I decided to try this book because I loved "Pillars of the Earth" so much, and wanted to see if I would Follet's style as much in this thriller (a genre I usually don't read.) Well, I loved it - couldn't stop listening until it was over.......and wanted more.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 2/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


My version of this book was on CD - which added a whole new flavor to a really great book. Hearing the dialog expressed with such perfect intonation had me smiling the whole time I listening. This was a great read/listen!


Don't Kiss Them Good-bye
Don't Kiss Them Good-bye
Author: Allison DuBois
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 11/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Narrated by the author (the woman the TV Show "The Medium" is based on), this book is much more practical that you would guess. Allison tells us of her real life experiences - and the REAL life of a medium. Her matter of fact approach to the subject is really appealing, and she gives excellent tips for the rest of us....


Father Joe: The Man Who Saved My Soul (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Father Joe: The Man Who Saved My Soul (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Tony Hendra
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/4/2008


I can't put to words how much I enjoyed listening to this book. Narrated by the author - who has been there and back again, working at the National Lampoon and on TV - this introspective journey never disappoints. brutally honest from beginning to end, Tony tells how this humble man, Father Joe, walked with him down the path of life.


Leeway Cottage (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Leeway Cottage (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Beth Gutcheon, Elizabeth Marvel (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/12/2009


While I did enjoy the book, to me the title had suggested something a little "fluffier" than that what this way - especially with the way it begin. While the story seemed a little choppy, I think that may have been due to the abridgement - it's still a good read with interesting characters, to be sure.


The Mermaid Chair (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Mermaid Chair (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Sue Kidd, Eliza Foss (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 6/12/2008
Helpful Score: 3


A truly well-written story detailing the many paths a marriage can take, and how we got there to begin with..... This was especially well narrated with a Southern accent to match the locale of the story. Two thumbs up!


Never Be Lied To Again (Abridged) (Audio CD)
Never Be Lied To Again (Abridged) (Audio CD)
Author: David J. Lieberman
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/12/2008


The relatively short book (2 CD's) offers practical and sound advice on how to deal with those around us that are less than honest. Useful advice for both personal and business situations.


The Pilot's Wife
The Pilot's Wife
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/18/2008


A poignant look at life from the eyes of a pilot's wife - as she find that everything around you, and people you love, are always more than they seem....


The Power of Intention: Learning to Co-Create Your World Your Way
The Power of Intention: Learning to Co-Create Your World Your Way
Author: Wayne W. Dyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 12/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book will change your life, if you're ready for it. You can create the life of your dreams, following the simple steps Dr. Dyer has set out for you. This book on CD is also wonderful.


The Righteous Men: The End of the World is Coming--One Body at a Time (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 7/7/2008
Helpful Score: 1


What a great read/listen! I couldn't turn it off....even when I should have been doing something else. :)


The Secret Life of Bees (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Secret Life of Bees (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Sue Monk Kidd, Jenna Lamia (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 11/9/2008


For once, a book as good as the hype. The narration is exceptional, and the story is universal. Set in the South in the 60's, right after the passing of the civil rights act, this story is a particularly good one to read now - as our country takes another giant step forward....


Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Author: Lisa See
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 11/4/2008


A touching, poignant, yet intense story of the timeless bonds between women - and how they truly guide they passages of our lives, contrary to what men think they understand. :) Set in the time of foot binding and strict social obligations, this beautifully narrated story transports you to life in a society where rules guided every minute of every day for women - if not their thoughts.


That Old Ace in the Hole
That Old Ace in the Hole
Author: Annie Proulx
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/12/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed the homespun way this story unfolded - and the narration was spot on, bringing you into the panhandle hog ranch drama. Prior to starting this book, I knew nothing of this kind of prairie angst - but I'm ever so much smarter now, and I surely did enjoy my time with Bob Dollar and the folks of Woolybucket.


The Time Traveler's Wife (audio)
The Time Traveler's Wife (audio)
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 3/11/2008


This is the kind of book you never want to end......and I'm sure it will just as good the second time I read it!


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: