Rebecca S. (Becky43) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Blue Highways: A Journey Into America
Blue Highways: A Journey Into America
Author: William Least Heat Moon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 7/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


The subtitle reads, "A Journey Into America," and that's exactly what it is--a travelogue of his trip around the U.S., staying mostly in his van. He met some interesting people, and I'd still like to know what happened to the spider(!), but I just decided this isn't my kind of book.


The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next, Bk 1)
The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next, Bk 1)
Author: Jasper Fforde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 714
Review Date: 5/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I was impressed by the imagination of the author--the ideas he came up with I never would have thought of. I kept thinking he's as imaginative as J.K. Rowling. Others have described it well enough, so I'll just comment that it is difficult to classify, & I think if it was classified only in the fantasy section, it would miss people like me who don't generally read fantasy, but being a lover of books, really enjoyed this. Some of the humor is subtle (e.g., if you've noticed the unusual names in this Britain, then the following is funny: "Hi, my name's John Smith." "Huh--unusual name.") Some familiarity with British lit is helpful, but I think if you've at least seen the movie, that's probably enough. What I would've found helpful is a British-American glossary put into the American version.


Healing Heart
Healing Heart
Author: Norman Cousins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/30/2006


"A heart attack survivor tells you how to overcome panic, release your body's miraculous healing powers, and rediscover living."


Jonathan Livingston Seagull
Jonathan Livingston Seagull
Author: Richard Bach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/30/2006


I read it a long time ago, but re-reading the last few pages just now, the general theme is mind over matter; you can be anything you think you can, anything you give yourself the power to be; we haven't begun to tap the possibilities of what we can become.


Journey
Journey
Author: R. Massie
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 7/30/2006


"[The authors] retrace their steps as they search for a way to live with the mysterious disease--hemophilia--which has struck their only son."


The Lawless (The Kent Family Chronicles)
The Lawless (The Kent Family Chronicles)
Author: John Jakes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/15/2006


FYI this is Volume VII (7) of the series.


The Memoirs of Richard Nixon
The Memoirs of Richard Nixon
Author: Richard Milhouse Nixon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/17/2006


This is Volume 1.


Memoirs of Richard Nixon
Memoirs of Richard Nixon
Author: Richard Nixon
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 10/17/2006


This is Volume 2.


The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency (No 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 1)
Review Date: 8/21/2006


This is the first book in this series.


Red Dragon (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 1)
Red Dragon (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 1)
Author: Thomas Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 684
Review Date: 8/21/2006


My copy has a different cover.


Red Heroin
Red Heroin
Author: Wade Curtis
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 10/17/2006


"The most convincing and realistic counterespionage story I've read in a long, long time--and besides that, a hell of a good yarn." --Robert A. Heinlein.


Time and Again
Time and Again
Author: Jack Finney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I thought it was great fun, especially the description of the sleighs whipping around on the new-fallen snow. (I've always wanted to go on a sleigh ride, now I almost feel like I have!) I kept thinking it would be even more interesting to someone who knows New York City, & would know the places and buildings he mentions. It's kind of science fiction and historical fiction, both.


The Titans
The Titans
Author: John Jakes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/15/2006


FYI this is Volume V (5) of the series.


Winesburg, Ohio
Winesburg, Ohio
Author: Sherwood Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/17/2006


It's a series of portraits of the people in fictional Winesburg, so it's not a plot-driven book, but rather one that invokes a sense of place & time.


1 to 14 of 14