Reviews - Tammy H. (bluesooner)

1 to 20 of 40 - Page:
Beloved
Beloved
Author: Toni Morrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 479
Review Date: 4/10/2009


"Toni Morrison is one author who understands the heart and soul of a woman. Beloved is a journey of a mother and daughter like no other you will ever read about. I loved this book and won't ever forget the images brought to mind....love, loss, yearning, loyalty, and the road to self-discovery found in the most unlikely places. Open this book!"


Between Sisters
Between Sisters
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 7/8/2009
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"An easy summer read. But with enough story-line and engaging characters to keep the pages turning....it's easy to understand the relationship between the sisters--even though they are so different. I have a sister, and it's not often that an author gets the nuances so right in the way two people relate to one another....Hannah does here. These two women are struggling as adults to find the innocence in their relationship that they once had--before it's too late. It made me want to call my sis' right up..."


Cherry
Cherry
Author: Mary Karr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 4/10/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"After reading her first novel, The Liar's Club, and loving it, I had high hopes for this one. It didn't disappoint. The author takes us on a wiiiiiiild ride as she reminisces about her growing up in the '60s and surviving it (barely)! She has a way of saying the obvious like no body else, she names names, rats out her mom, her mom's boyfriends, her old boyfriends, her old girlfriends, and anybody else who made for a good story. And there are a lot of 'em! I laughed out loud, I went, 'oh, yea' at times, and I felt like I had a friend when I finished this one. Go for it."


Comfort and Joy
Comfort and Joy
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/2/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"You really have to stretch your imagination to believe the end of this love story of Hannah's, but what the heck. A woman is in a plane crash and journeys to a fishing lodge where she meets a little boy and his dad who win her heart......or is it all in her head? She meets a cast of characters that resourface when she "comes to" from her coma. I know, it's confusing. But somehow, it makes sense in the end. This is far from predictable....kinda hokey, but that's love!"


Dark Paradise
Dark Paradise
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 411
Review Date: 7/2/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really enjoyed this book. It drew me in right from the beginning with a murder mystery, then developed into an interesting (and I must say satisfyingly slightly smutty!) love story involving a cowboy and a court reporter in Wyoming. But I'm not doing the story justice....this has really well-drawn out characters that engage and surprise. This book is a thumbs up for sure!"


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 4/1/2009
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Who knew that the country's first serial murderer was at Chicago's World's Fair? Not me, and that's just one of the gazillion little facts you're gonna come away with. I was expecting a book about the world's fair overcome by a serial-killer. Not so. The author's focus is more on the journey the planners and architects undertook to make this event happen against enormous odds at the turn of the nineteenth century. The author certainly did his research on how the contracts were awarded for where the world's fair would take place, designing the fair, the months and months and years that went by from one deadline to another. You really feel like you know Chicago by the time you finish. Although the details about the serial murderer were interspersed throughout the book and you felt that drama building up as the fair was coming to life, it all seemed anticlimactic. Something about this book just didn't work for me. It gets so bogged down in all the minutia of the planners and the architects relationships that drags on for years. But if the World's Fair is your thing then this is the book for you. I can't imagine a question about the history of Chicago or the planning of the fair that's not answered. But if you want a really good book about serial killers, read The Dante Club."


The Doctor's Wife
The Doctor's Wife
Author: Elizabeth Brundage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 654
Review Date: 3/29/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I had such high expectations for this one. Every review I had read was glowing. But I just couldn't get into it. In the first few lines, we're told that the doctor's wife has committed a murder. The doctor's wife did it.....and she is one crazy woman. It starts with her telling us that she's killed her husband, and then splits off into a backstory I just didn't follow. I quit after 60 pages.....close the book on this one."


Dr. Atkins' New Carbohydrate Gram Counter
Dr. Atkins' New Carbohydrate Gram Counter
Author: Robert C. Atkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 4/16/2009


"This is the perfect companion to figure those carbs for you. Atkins lists page after page of NOTHING BUT CARBS! Especially appealing: it's handy to take with you to restaurants and the grocery store. I carried it with me when I went out to eat and was able to select wisely from the menus rather than having to guess what I was ordering/eating. This is worth it!"


Firefly Lane
Firefly Lane
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 971
Review Date: 7/8/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Written for my generation of women, I found so many references to the good memories of growing up. It was a well-written, memory-lane of my youth as well as an outstanding novel about two best friends who lived a lifetime together sharing everything...simply put. Hannah weaves so many dead-on references of the '70s (crochet vests and bell bottom jeans) that I had flash-backs to my own closet. She takes us on the friends journeys together as little girls all the way through adulthood.....every time-frame is like you are there. Get ready to weep, this one is a tear jerker!"


French Women Don't Get Fat: The Secret of Eating For Pleasure
French Women Don't Get Fat: The Secret of Eating For Pleasure
Author: Mireille Guiliano
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 295
Review Date: 8/8/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The first 35 pages held my interest with the author's homey little storey of her journey to America in her youth, how she gained 30 pounds, returned to France, followed the advice of her French physician (ala weight watcher's style) and lost the weight. But after that, the book was just a rehash of a hundred other books on "how I lost weight", in my opinion. French women don't have the inside edge on keeping weight off any more than any other nationality......maybe they just have better clothes designers!"


The Girl's Guide to Starting Your Own Business : Candid Advice, Frank Talk, and True Stories for the Successful Entrepreneur
Review Date: 7/2/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book has been a godsend to me pointing out a few minor details I wouldn't have thought of but are so obvious when you see them on paper. These two women walk you through the obvious but with a sense of humor and wit. They throw in a few funny stories about how they "flopped" as well, just to show you how to pick yourself back up and get going again. This is a thumb's up!"


Hot Plastic
Hot Plastic
Author: Peter Craig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/9/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a total departure for me and I LOVED IT! It was fast-paced right from the beginning with a great storyline about 3 grifters making a living off small-time and not-so-small-time heists on folks. That's the short version... The author weaves a great story about a father-son duo, the girl/woman who makes up the 3rd whom they both love, and how they perfect their scams, grow up and move on. I thought this was gonna be a "guys book" at first, but it's for both, chicks and guys and that's so rare. This author really has it going on with how to turn a phrase and making you feel a part of this slick, illegal, slightly dirty and murky and sexy underground world. Hold on for all their adventures....there are some surprises here....and you might learn how NOT TO BE HAD! I say OPEN THE BOOK, on this one. It's good......"


How to Be Good
How to Be Good
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 313
Review Date: 7/2/2009


"I had a rocky time getting into this one. But once it settled in to the Brit's humor (sorry folks), I had a great time! The dialogue here is soooooo good it just carries you and the premise of the story is, well, so absurd it's almost believable. Can't wait to read another Nick Hornby!"


I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being A Woman
I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being A Woman
Author: Nora Ephron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 361
Review Date: 7/2/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"What's not to love about Nora Ephron? None of us should take ourselves so seriously, and she chimes right in with all the personal anecdotes to remind us why: from using night cream on your neck to never having enough insurance. I loved her self-deprecating humor, it reminds me of her touches in "Something's Gotta Give" and "Who's Got Mail"...how can you go wrong with this one?"


Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose
Author: Robin McGraw
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 7/2/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I'll read just about any memoir to find out how other people "tick", and when I came across this book, I was expecting to find just another "stand by your man", good 'ol girl story. And while I did find Ms. McGraw to be completely and absolutely devoted to "her man", she also appears charming and genuinely likable here. While the book is full of anecdotes about who else?....Dr. Phil! (every other story is about the sainted dr. and his impact on Robin's life and her great love for him), she tells a heartfelt story of her life up to their first couple of years in LA after the start of his talkshow. As large a role as he plays in her life, she reveals so much more in her stories about her mom and her dad and her two boys. This woman has some fortitude. She didn't have it easy at times, but she doesn't come across as woeful or histrionic. It was a quuiiiick read...did it in a couple of hours one evening."


Jackson
Jackson
Author: Max Byrd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/2/2009


"One of the better biographies of Jackson I've read. Easy to get into....the writing syle is narrative. He was a buttoned-up kind of guy, for sure."


Julie and Julia : My Year of Cooking Dangerously
Julie and Julia : My Year of Cooking Dangerously
Author: Julie Powell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 295
Review Date: 7/24/2009
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I tried. I really tried to like this, but the author's style just didn't work for me. Maybe this book wouldn't have been such a disappointment if I hadn't been looking for more of a tie-in to "Julia" than what was there. There's only the briefest actual reference to Child at the beginning of each chapter, and then it's these obscure premarital dalliances that really tell us nothing of the real Julia Child. The overall writing style of Powell was just not for me....she uses page after page of useless personal anecdotes of her friends unraveling lives when all I wanted to read about was COOKING for crying out loud! I skipped lines, then paragraphs, then pages....made no difference. There wasn't enough detail about the recipes, the cooking, Julia Child. Too much drivel about drunken friends, going home to Texas, and her unhappy job. And I never did understand the title: just how did her year of cooking become dangerous, exactly????? I was disappointed, to be sure."


Kate Remembered
Kate Remembered
Author: A. Scott Berg
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/25/2009


"This would be more appropriately titled "Kate and Friends, Remembered," as Berg delves into so much detail about every aspect of Hepburn's life. LOTS of information here, so hunker down. You really have to be a a Hepburn fan to stick with all 8 cds. Berg weaves in details of all of her films, personal relationships, friendships, friends of friends, divorces, Old Hollywood, Hollywood Royalty. My cat and I listened to this on a long drive, and Tony Goldwyn's voice(narrator) was so soothing that Jimi(kitty) was asleep the entire trip. Yeah, she's a Hepburn fan as well."


Lost & Found
Lost & Found
Author: Jacqueline Sheehan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 471
Review Date: 5/12/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book had me right from the get-go. It's poignant, funny, mysterious, sad, and a bit of a thriller in the end! Best of all....it made me feel good. The heroine of the book loses her husband, picks up stakes and moves away telling no-one the truth of what she's just gone through or who she really is. She "rediscovers" herself on an island in Maine as an animal control warden through the love of a motley crew of a wounded dog, a nutty cat, a woman who has special gifts with colors, and an anorexic girl who learns to eat again even if its only dogfood. There's a few twists and turns in here that you won't see coming....yet it's not sappy or formulaic. Call me crazy, but something about this book kept me up at night to finish it. It's a winner. I give it a 4 out of 5."


The Lost Continent: Travels in Small-Town America
The Lost Continent: Travels in Small-Town America
Author: Bill Bryson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 263
Review Date: 7/2/2009


"The guy is funny....what more can I say. His powers of observation when he tours those tiny little rat-trap towns along the way are dead-on hilarious! Some places did drag...you can't read this book nonstop....it needs a breather. In it, Bryson goes solo driving through most of the country, and if you have ever spent your summer vacation in the back of the chevy or station wagon with mom and dad up front driving, stopping to read the historical markers, eating at the local dives and sizing up the locals themselves....well, you've got the picture, sort-of. Thumb's up!"


1 to 20 of 40 - Page: