Veronica A. (grangle) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
The 13th Juror (Dismas Hardy, Bk 4)
The 13th Juror (Dismas Hardy, Bk 4)
Author: John Lescroart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 8/24/2010


This was a great book! The question under consideration is, did the beautiful Jennifer Witt kill her abusive husband and her little boy? We don't find the answer until the last day of the trial. But we do get a glimpse into the thought processes of abused wives, and we see the inner workings of the legal system. I never did quite figure out the importance of the title to the story, but it was a great story nevertheless.


An Unstoppable Force: Daring to Become the Church God Had in Mind
Review Date: 2/10/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book gives a clear picture of what the church should look like--that is, the picture God has in mind for it. There is flexibility to bend with the culture while not compromising its truth; there is self-sacrificing love, both for one another in the church and for a lost world; there is an accurate understanding of Scripture. Anyone who wants his church to shine with God's light should read and heed this book.


Black (Circle, Bk 1)
Black (Circle, Bk 1)
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 4/8/2010


This trilogy by Ted Dekker is awesome! Like all his books, this first book of the trilogy is a page-turner--hard to put down. I began reading this trilogy with the third book, "White," and I still like it the best. But this one gives the history of Tom's alternate reality world. I love the way Tom's alternate reality draws such a great picture of true spiritual reality as revealed in the Bible. His books give me a more vivid understanding of spiritual truth.


Blessed Child
Blessed Child
Author: Ted Dekker, Bill Bright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 4/6/2010


This is an awesome book for anyone who is interested in walking with God. It's a fascinating portrait of the pure faith of a young boy, which results in amazing healings and other acts of God. I love it that the boy experiences the intimate presence of God at all times, and that this often results in a spontaneous joy that cannot be suppressed. I also love it that through the boy God shows up in human affairs in amazing ways. Unfortunately this is not a true story--would that it were!


Blink
Blink
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 4/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Ted Dekker's books are always page-turners, and this is no different. Seth, an exceptionally brilliant young man, starts experiencing precognition events, one of which warns him that a young Arab woman in a bathroom will be attacked by a man. Rushing to that bathroom, he saves her, and that begins a wild journey of evading her enemies. Called into question during this journey is God's very existence, based on whether or not there is only one possible future or many, depending on the choices people make. Seth eventually loses his power of precognition and has nowhere to turn but prayer. A fascinating book peopled with vivid characters involved in a world-changing plot.


Dangerous Surrender: What Happens When You Say Yes to God
Dangerous Surrender: What Happens When You Say Yes to God
Author: Kay Warren
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/26/2011


This is a fabulous book if you want to know what surrender to God means in everyday life. Kay relates her own experiences of radical surrender in an open and thoroughly honest way that gives the reader a clear picture of what that kind of surrender looks like. I've already put the book on my wish list so I can get another one to give away.


The Elements of Style
The Elements of Style
Author: William Strunk Jr., E. B. White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/12/2012


This is the fabulous, concise world gold standard for proper English usage in writing. It should be a required tool for every writer.


The Face of God
The Face of God
Author: Bill Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 11/28/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book is a graphic treatment of the contrast between legalism and God's life. An Islamic Imam is driven by his legalism to an act of terror that intends to destroy numerous large cities and millions of people; and a successful Christian pastor finally realizes that his legalism is what has separated him from the relationship he longs for with his son. When these men locate the stones that had been embedded in the ancient Israeli high priest's breastplate, they each come face to face with the very presence of God. Will they allow His presence to purge them of their sin, or will they resist and pay the ultimate price? This is a page-turning adventure, with a deep and life-changing message.


The God Chasers
The God Chasers
Author: Tommy Tenney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 5/6/2012


This is a great book about the essence of the Christian faith, which is knowing God. It is not going to church, or being active in ministry,although those things should naturally flow from knowing God. It is too easy for us to do all the good things, and neglect getting to know God Himself. This is a great reminder of what must come first for all the rest of our Christian experience to work.


The Good Life
The Good Life
Author: Charles Colson, Harold Fickett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/29/2012


Charles Colson gives a reasoned argument for what and what does not truly constitute the Good Life. It is NOT fame, power, money, or deciding for yourself what is true and good. It is, in fact, living life God's way. He incorporates examples from all over the world, including his own Watergate and prison experiences. Very rich and well-argued.


Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back
Review Date: 6/10/2012


I don't know how anyone could construe this little boy's visit to Heaven as anything but authentic. Everything he told his pastor father squared with Scripture, and was related in a typical, childlike, matter-of-fact way. I was glad for this glimpse of eternity.


The Hole in Our Gospel: What Does God Expect of Us? The Answer That Changed My Life and Might Just Change the World
Review Date: 7/20/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book challenges Christians to take the Bible seriously when it tells us to care for the needy. The story of Mr. Stearns' journey from corporate America to president of World Vision is extremely compelling and genuine. The hole in our gospel is that we have generally neglected caring for the very poor. Stearns points out that this is not a side issue for God--it is central to our faith. Read and be challenged.


Holiness, Truth and the Presence of God
Holiness, Truth and the Presence of God
Author: Francis Frangipane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/12/2011


Although small, this book is packed with powerful thoughts about experiencing a close walk with God. Frangipane minces no words, and offers a loving challenge to Christians to live what they believe. This book can be viewed as a flashlight that houses the laser beam of God's searchlight. Don't read this book unless "search me, O God, and know my heart today" is your prayer.


Intimacy With The Almighty
Intimacy With The Almighty
Author: Charles R. Swindoll
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/24/2011


This little book is packed with four principles that will change the life of anyone who practices them. The closer we can walk with God, the more fulfilled our life will be, and these four principles provide a dependable pathway for building that close walk. Briefly, the principles are silence, simplicity, solitude, and surrender. It will take you 30-60 minutes to read the book--a lifetime to develop these four disciplines.


Life Beyond Measure: Letters to My Great-Granddaughter
Life Beyond Measure: Letters to My Great-Granddaughter
Author: Sidney Poitier
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/19/2010


Sidney Poitier is probably my favorite actor of all time, but I was not greatly impressed with his book. He is all about deep connections with the ancient past, when humans were still emerging from ape-hood. While I do appreciate the value of connections with our ancestors, I believe in creation, rather than evolution, and the sovereignty of God, rather than the supremacy of man's struggle to survive and improve. The thrust of Poitier's life's meaning, therefore, says little to me about purpose, and seems like a struggle that's hardly worth it.

It's good that his great-granddaughter has this written account of Poitier's life and philosophy, but I have to hope that she will find something eternal and solid on which to build her life. She won't find that in this book.


A Man Called Blessed
A Man Called Blessed
Author: Ted Dekker, Bill Bright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 4/10/2010


This book is the sequel to "Blessed Child," and continues the saga of young Caleb. This book takes place about 10-15 years after the first book. Caleb has finished his childhood years in the rebuilt monastery which had been destroyed when he barely escaped its bombing as a child. Now he is experiencing a spiritual dry place. When a young Israeli woman leads a team to his monastery in search of the Ark of the Covenant, he embarks on a journey that leads him back to his childhood faith. This is a book well worth reading, but it is not nearly as compelling as the first book.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5391
Review Date: 11/23/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a very good book about a doctor who delivered his own twins. Afraid of his wife being terribly hurt by the Downs Syndrome with which one of the twins was born, he immediately gave the child to his nurse and asked her to take the baby to a home for retarded children. He told his wife the girl baby had died at birth.

The story follows both the family as the boy baby matures, and the nurse as she disappears and builds a life in another city, raising the girl baby as her own. There is the wall that rose between the doctor and his wife; her continuing sense of the girl's presence; the son's feeling that his father didn't love him; the doctor's obsession with photography, trying to capture each moment forever; and the development of the girl as the nurse eventually marries.

It is a realistic picture of the human condition, with redemption and hope at the end. Truly a book worth reading.


Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
Author: Barbara Ehrenreich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1090
Review Date: 9/29/2009


This is a great first-hand study of what it's like to try to live on minimum wage or less in our affluent country. It's actually pretty depressing, but eye-opening. None of the people the author encountered in the first chapter (as far as I've read so far) have been people of faith or connected with a church. I would be interested to know how that added dimension in a person's life helps them deal with their low-income situation.


Operation: Firebrand (Operation: Firebrand, Bk1) (Large Print)
Operation: Firebrand (Operation: Firebrand, Bk1) (Large Print)
Author: Jefferson Scott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/15/2010


This is a great action book, combined with an excellent portrayal of a man's struggle to know God's will. Because of Jason's hesitation to shoot in a Navy SEAL operation, his best friend loses the use of his legs. Was his hesitation from God, or was it his own cowardice? After some years of civilian work, Jason is chosen for another operation--this time a Christian team going into danger to rescue orphans from a war zone. Will he hesitate again and endanger his team and the mission? Read the book and find out.


Red (Circle Trilogy, Bk 2)
Red (Circle Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 6/8/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Red is the second book in Dekker's trilogy which includes "Black," "Red," and "White." As is the case with all his books I've read so far, this one is a page-turner. Lots of action, lively characters, and an unusual, absorbing plot pull you in and keep you eager to know what happens next. This trilogy is an apt analogy of Christ's redemptive work on the cross and what that does and should mean in our lives. It paints a vivid picture of His amazing love for us and what He has designed redemption to do in us. I highly recommend it for anyone who wants an exceptionally good read!


1 to 20 of 28 - Page: