Susan P. (badmom5) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 40 - Page:
1000 Questions and Answers
1000 Questions and Answers
Author: John Cooper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/18/2006


From the back:
Have you ever wanted to find out more about dinosaurs, ancient times, explorers, planet Earth, the sea, the weather and space.

Find the answers, in this fact-filled book, to one thousand of ther most fascinating and fun questions ever.

RL:5


Adam Raccoon and the Flying Machine (Keane, Glen, Parables for Kids.)
Review Date: 4/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Adam Raccoom learns an important lesson on how important following the instruction manual. A great way to share the importance of God's instruction manual, the Bible, with your kids.


Adam Raccoon and the King's Big Dinner
Adam Raccoon and the King's Big Dinner
Author: Glen Keane
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/5/2007


Adam Raccoon learns a lesson about love. One of the questions asked is: Does God love the people we think are important more than He loves the people we think aren't important? This is a great story and a wonderful way to share your faith with your kids.


Adam Raccoon and the Race to Victory Mountain (Parables for Kids)
Adam Raccoon and the Race to Victory Mountain (Parables for Kids)
Author: Glen Keane
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/5/2007


Adam Raccoon learns a lesson in perserverance.


The Blood of Strangers : Stories from Emergency Medicine
The Blood of Strangers : Stories from Emergency Medicine
Author: Frank Huyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/23/2007


A collection of short stories from an ER doc. Fast and enjoyable read.


Body of Knowledge: One Semester of Gross Anatomy, the Gateway to Becoming a Doctor
Review Date: 8/6/2007


This has to be one of my favorite "medical" books. I loved not only seeing what it was like for a medical student for the semester but the book addresses a bit of the life of the donor. A peek into the heart of a cadaver and into the hearts and minds of several students, each one on a personal journey. Each reaction to the situation unique and touching.


Boggin Blizzy and Sleeter the Cheater: A Book About Fairness
Boggin Blizzy and Sleeter the Cheater: A Book About Fairness
Author: Michael P. Waite
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/18/2006


From the back:
Do you know anyone like Boggin and Blizzy? When Sleeter cheated at Icy-Bop Ball, they did too.

You and your children will smile at Boggin's and Blizzy's dilemma. But at the same tine, your famly will be learning an important lesson: Playing fair is the best way to play.

Interest level ages 4-7


Can't You Sleep, Little Bear?
Can't You Sleep, Little Bear?
Author: Martin Waddell, Barbara Firth (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/18/2006


From Amazon:
Little Bear is afraid of the dark. He tries and tries to go to sleep, but he just can't. To stop Little Bear being scared, Big Bear sets a tiny lantern next to Little Bear's bed. But the tiny lantern only lights up a small part of the cave, and there is still lots of dark. So, Big Bear brings out a bigger lantern. Still, Little Bear is not satisfied, and Big Bear is forced to bring out the Biggest Lantern of Them All. After some time though, Little Bear has not fallen asleep. "Can't you sleep, Little Bear?" asks Big Bear for the fourth time. When Little Bear points to the darkness outside, Big Bear is puzzled. How can Big Bear show Little Bear that there is nothing to be afraid of?


The Cruelest Miles: The Heroic Story of Dogs And Men in a Race Against an Epidemic
Review Date: 1/31/2012


I almost kept this book for my keeper shelf. WOW, what a great story. I thought it would be the true tale behind one of my favorite movies, Balto, but it was so much more than that. The story of the serum run had me cheering, crying and holding my breath. Even though I knew the outcome I still worried. And on top of that story the book weaves in the history of Alaska, its people and its dogs. Fabulous story!


Dawdling Dora: A Book About Obedience (Castle Tales)
Review Date: 8/18/2006


From the back:
Does your household harbor a dawdling Dora? If it does, both you and your dawdler will have fun reading about the precarious predicament Dora's dawdling leads to. Dora learns that those we serve are pleased when we obey.

Tucked in these tales are tidbits of truth that teach timeless Christian values. You as well as you kids will enjoy learning with the Queen, her servant James, and the other characters who appear in Castle Tales. These stories open the door for your children to discover more about what it means to live as part of the Kingdom of God.

Theme: Obedience
Interest level Ages 4-7


Delivering Doctor Amelia : The Story of a Gifted Young Obstetrician's Mistake and the Psychologist Who Helped Her
Review Date: 5/7/2007


Great book. I loved seeing a different view of medicine. Dr. Amelia made a mistake and it changed her forever but it did not need to be the end of who she was.


Dogs Don't Wear Sneakers
Dogs Don't Wear Sneakers
Author: Laura Numeroff, Joe Mathieu (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/18/2006


From School Library Journal
PreSchool-K-A jaunty, rhymed text provides a litany of unlikely scenarios- sheep in the shower, hens in the swimming pool-some of which work better than others. It's Mathieu's wacky and inventive illustrations that really carry the show. His expressive animals lift weights, dangle off diving boards, and cavort in a variety of crazy outfits.


Earth Abides
Earth Abides
Author: George R. Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 2/18/2007


I really enjoyed this book. An interesting look at a possible future for earth. Nice twist that it is set in the Bay Area.


Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
Author: Jonathan Safran Foer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 3/18/2012
Helpful Score: 3


ACK!! Two days I will never get back. This was the most convoluted, poorly written, hard to follow book I have read in years. I was going to see the movie but I fear it will be as badly written as the book. What a waste.


Geisha of Gion: The Memoir of Mineko Iwasaki
Geisha of Gion: The Memoir of Mineko Iwasaki
Author: Mineko Iwasaki, Rande Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/3/2008


Ten times better than Memoirs of a Geisha. Mineko was real. This was her real life. She shared her daily life, all the good and the bad. I saw into her heart as she made choices in her life and ever so interesting to see why she left the life. I really appreciated the distinction she made between a Geisha and woman who added sex to their goods. A true geisha did not sell sex. Loved how she had to throw away her favorite fan because Prince Charles ruined it with his autograph, which he assumed she would want, and she didn't. Awesome book.


A Gift for Grandpa
A Gift for Grandpa
Author: Angela Elwell Hunt, Terry Julien (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/5/2006


Back Cover:

Grandma's trust in her heavenly Father never waivers - even when it appears He is providing things she doesn't need, like baby pigs or Smith's Miracle Vitamin Tonic. She knows God will provide a way for her to give Grandpa just the right birthday gift.

Young and old alike will enjoy this story, told through the eyes of Grandpa and Grandma's young grandson.


His Imprint, My Expression: Changed Forever by the Master's Touch
His Imprint, My Expression: Changed Forever by the Master's Touch
Author: Kay Arthur
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/14/2006


From the back:
Among the most precious times are those spent quietly in the Lord's presence. Reading His Word, stopping to pray as He speaks to our heart, and listening to His voice bring a special beauty to our lives - the unmistakable imprint of the Master.

In these candid and deeply personal devotions, Kay Arthur speaks with warm honesty about the trials we face and the uncondional love of God that sustains us.

His Imprint, My Expression beautifully identifies the soul's deep longig to be shaped by the Master's own hand. Wonderfully filled with the promises of Scripture, these daily meditations focus on Jesus Christ as the answer to every question and the joy of every heart that is completely surrendered to Him.


The Hollyhonk Gardens of Gneedle and Gnibb: A Book About Forgiving (Building Christian Character)
Review Date: 10/5/2006


Card catalog description
Petty arguments almost cost two gnomes their friendship and their beautiful gardens. Includes a related Bible verse.

Back:
Do you know anyone like Gneedle and Gnibb? They need to forgive but build walls instead.

You and your children will smile at Gneedle and Gnibb's stubbornness. But at the same time, your family will be learning an important lesson: Forgiving others can tear down even the highest walls.


In the Country of Hearts: Journeys in the Art of Medicine
In the Country of Hearts: Journeys in the Art of Medicine
Author: John Stone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/1/2006


Poet and cardiologist John Stone has written a compelling collection of essays and stories from his practice regarding his care of the human heart. The two disciplines not only get equal time but are beautifully juxtaposed in his writing. His tremendous love and appreciation for his patients and for medicine are easy to read between almost every line in the book. His warm sense of humor and keen eye for irony keep the stories from becoming maudlin, something that can happen easily in the telling of medical tales. This is a book for non-medical as well as medical people, a great traveller that can be read a few pages at a time; some of his stories are only one or two paragraphs! But even the shortest are thoughtful and provocative. Dr. Stone's deep humanism restores faith in the medical profession!


Katie's Adventure at Blueberry Pond
Review Date: 10/5/2006


Card catalog description
Katie disobeys a family rule in going to the pond without adult supervision, not realizing that grownups' rules are like God's rules in that they represent love and protection. Includes discussion questions at the end of the story.

Back of the Book:
Katie loves to play at Blueberry Pond. But why won't her parents let her go to the pond without a grown-up?
As Katie learns that her parents have a good reason for the rules they make, she also realizes they (as well as God) make rules because they love her.
Katie's story is an invitation to share the reasons for your family rules with your child. At the end of the story, you'll find questions to help get the conversation started.


1 to 20 of 40 - Page: