Meghan G. (meghan1943) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 56 - Page:
Beauty and the Spy (Holt Sisters, Bk 1)
Beauty and the Spy (Holt Sisters, Bk 1)
Author: Julie Anne Long
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 4/15/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Impressive... sort of. The idea behind the book is amazing, and I was glad to hear this is the start of a trilogy. On the whole the story was interesting, the characters enjoyable, and the writing fun. Aside from that, there was nothing special about this book. The one real upside, Sussanah wasn't a twit. She used her skill in art just like anyone else was. As opposed to other romance novels, it wasn't her saving grace that "freed" her from her world. It was just a skill and hobby she enjoyed. Also, I like how she just jumped the Kit.


Believe (Heartspell)
Believe (Heartspell)
Author: Victoria Alexander
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 7/29/2006


This was a cute story and I really don't have much to say other than that.


Beyond Temptation (Templar Knights, Bk 1)
Beyond Temptation (Templar Knights, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Reed McCall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 8/22/2005


I've not read many books set during this time period. For a book that was suppose to be about a Templar Knight there was very little in the way of Templar Knights. I was disappointed. Despite the summer on the back cover I was expecting more action. Particularly more action involving swords. This book could have used some action.

While the plot was interesting, there was just something lacking (and I think it was action - as mention previously). I got bored reading this and my mind wandered. There were so many directions McCall could have taken this book but she chose the tried and true romance novel method. Blah. Even a romance novel can be inventive from time to time.


Beyond the Pale (Darkwing Chronicles, Bk 1)
Beyond the Pale (Darkwing Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Savannah Russe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 5/27/2006
Helpful Score: 7


Honestly, I did not like this book very much. That being said, I was almost overly intrigued by the idea of a vampire spy. Plus, the chemistry between the two main characters was just hot. I will try the second book, just because I'm curious. But, the simplistic writing and cardboard characters really does kill the story.


The Black Diamond (Black Diamond, Bk 2)
The Black Diamond (Black Diamond, Bk 2)
Author: Andrea Kane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 8/23/2005
Helpful Score: 3


Thank goodness this was a short read because it wasn't that great. The dialog was way to explanatory for my taste. And, while the lead characters had chemistry, they were boring everywhere else. The plot could have been good but it was too slow. The side characters were dull. Overall, this book left me wanting.


Blow Me Down
Blow Me Down
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 406
Review Date: 1/8/2006


I *did not heart* MacAlister in this lackluster work. The plot was flat and extremely unbelievable. It takes a lot to get me to say that. The characters were boring and so was the story. I just keep reading in hope that MacAlister's usual wit would shine through. While there were a few lines that made me laugh, this book, overall, was not worth the read. I was disappointed. I just wish she had written a pirate novel set in the usual pirate times. Turning it into a video game world doomed the story from the start. All the modern storylines just made me want to gag. They were useless, poorly devised, and poorly written.


The Captain's Lady (Harlequin Historical, No 785)
The Captain's Lady (Harlequin Historical, No 785)
Author: Margaret McPhee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 3/11/2006


Great cover, boring and canned plot.


Carnal Gift
Carnal Gift
Author: Pamela Clare
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 12/2/2005
Helpful Score: 4


This was not as good as the other Clare book I read, but it was till enjoyable. The writing was fine and the characters were well developed. I thought the book was a tad bit drawn out, but it didn't really hurt the story. I only wish that Clare spent more time in the colonies. She created this great back story and I would have loved to see it carried over into the future.


A Christmas Carol (Dover Thrift Editions)
A Christmas Carol (Dover Thrift Editions)
Author: Charles Dickens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 12/15/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I've done a staged reading of this book so many times that it was nice to just sit down and read it. I love this classic tale. It's the only Dickens I've actually been able to make it through thus far. Dickens may be overly word (in my opinion) but I can't get enough of this story. I may have to make it a tradition to read it every holiday season.


The Cobra and the Concubine (Khamsin Warriors of the Wind, Bk 3)
The Cobra and the Concubine (Khamsin Warriors of the Wind, Bk 3)
Author: Bonnie Vanak
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 6/10/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I want Vanak to write more books. I have not read something by her for over a year, and now I want more. This book continues the tales surrounding a bedouin tribe in Egypt. Vanak continues to throw great characters and their romances together. What I found most enjoyable about this book is that it showed the recovery from sexual abuse in what I took to be a very realistic way.

The chemistry between the two main characters was so palpable that I found myself panting. Vanak has skill, great great skill.

The one downside to this book: it was not long enough. It also fizzled out a little bit at the end, but not enough for me to care.


The Courtesan
The Courtesan
Author: Julia Justiss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 2/16/2006
Helpful Score: 5


This book was not bad for me not reading the back blurb. I bought this book solely because the heroine was holding a sword on the cover. The plot was a bit contrived to keep the characters together, but it worked in the end. I was actually surprised how much I enjoyed the story. Justiss was not afraid to put unsavory twists in. That made the book more realistic and less romance cliche. Those quirks also helped me enjoy the story more because I was never sure what would happen.

The writing was good but nothing exceptional. The characters lacked a bit of depth but they worked well together. The leads had chemistry and they were bagged up by a hilarious rag-tag of servants.


A Deal With the Devil (Lorimer Family and Clan Cameron, Bk 4)
A Deal With the Devil (Lorimer Family and Clan Cameron, Bk 4)
Author: Liz Carlyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 4/22/2006
Helpful Score: 3


The chemistry between Aubrey and Walrafen left off the page from the first instance their characters met. There was more than one moment I found myself wondering if the room suddenly got hotter. While the sparks did indeed fly between the characters, I felt that the mystery part of the plot was overly contrived. It just did not flow as well as the characters did. I felt that the two parts of the book never meshed. The mystery was background to the romance, instead of being intertwined with it.


Devil Takes a Bride (Knight Miscellany, Book 5)
Devil Takes a Bride (Knight Miscellany, Book 5)
Author: Gaelen Foley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 10/3/2005


This was not as good as Lord of Fire of Lord of Ice but it was still enjoyable. I had a hard time believing the tension in the plot, but overall it was an enjoyable read. I think that comes from my love of wounded male lead characters. I'm such a sucker for those. I think this story merely served to wrap up the loose ends of "Lizzie." Had this been a stand alone book I might have enjoyed it even more.

I do like how Lizzie refused to give in. Some of the scenes were hilarious, like when Dev kidnapped Lizzie from her school using a ladder. That was just plain comical.


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 8/5/2006


I don't know why people call Andrea Sachs character whiny. She's not whiny. She's intensely selfish and oblivious. That is why this book is bad - there is no way on earth you cal like the main character. Weiserberger may have tried to create a naive and idealistic character, but what she ended up with was a snob. She may have been a snob in reverse, but she was a snob nonetheless. While there is no excuse for the way Miranda Priestly behaves, that does not make Sachs attitude okay. Between the two of them, I was ready to throw the book across the room.

To make matters worse, the unlikeable characters were mixed in with insufficient description and horrible writing. The story is flat, the plot and narrative are all over the place, and, to make matters worse, Weisberger seems to have no idea how horrendous her prose is. Weisberger makes so many attempts to "sound" like a writer, that she complete forgets shes writing a book. This books reads like it was written by a High Schooler over summer vacation. Weisberger shows glimmers of talent here and there, but they're so faint that I was left wondering why any editor would let this book slide.

The only reason I continued to read this book was for the supporting cast. Andrea's roommate, boyfriend, and fellow Priestly assistant were the most fascinating characters of the novel. They had stories. They had substance. They had emotions. Too bad they were pushed to the periphery while Weisberger's yawning headliners took center stage.


The Devil You Know (Rutledge Family, Bk 3)
The Devil You Know (Rutledge Family, Bk 3)
Author: Liz Carlyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 2/16/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Wow, this was a good book. The writing and multiple story levels were amazing. Carlyle had a web of intricate plots going that, instead of falling into chaos, meshed quite nicely. Her writing seemed to be more sophisticated than most other romance novels and the book benefited because of it. The two lead characters were written with such depth that it was difficult not to be drawn into their lives.

The one critique I had with this book is that Carlyle introduced characters left and right with little time left for the reader to remember the role they play. This book had so many characters that I almost had trouble keeping up with the role they played in the plot.

Overall, a great read. I'm glad that I have one more book by her waiting for me at home.


The Devil's Waltz
The Devil's Waltz
Author: Anne Stuart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 3/25/2006
Helpful Score: 6


There are so many reasons to hate Christian Montcalm, and, yet, I still fell in love with his character. He was so evil that he should have been easy to hate. He didn't care about anyone but himself (most of the time) and he had no problem ruining the reputations and feelings of others. However, there was something redeeming about his character. He just narrowly avoids being classified as an arrogant jackass. I don't know what Stuart did to make me love this character, but I do love him. The rest of the characters and plot were just "meh" to me. It was Montcalm that made this a highly enjoyable read.


Double Standards
Double Standards
Author: Judith McNaught
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 8/23/2005
Helpful Score: 6


Judith McNaught was not her best with this one. Aside from the fact that I devoured this in one sitting without thinking, I found myself outwardly cringing. The roomie had already read this one and we got a kick out of how bad it actually was. We both enjoy Judith McNaught tremendously, but this is the worse book of hers that we've read. It was cheesy, overly dramatic, completely unbelievable, and just plain silly.


The Duke (Knight Miscellany, Bk 1)
The Duke (Knight Miscellany, Bk 1)
Author: Gaelen Foley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 12/5/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I should have read the series in order. This book, while a decent read, paled in comparison to the other books in the series, namely Lord of Fire and Lord of Ice. The plot was inventive and the characters were fine, but it just seemed lackluster. Not Foley's best work, but still enjoyable. Some of the scenes *coughlibrarycough* will stick with me merely because they were written quite well. Foley has a knack for writing emotions.


The Elements of Dramatism
The Elements of Dramatism
Author: David Blakesley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/15/2005


Blah. I struggled to keep my eyes open while reading this one. The only parts I found intriguing were when the author puts Burke's thoughts to use. I could understand and enjoy the book when the information was made relevant to a specific case. Aside for that, this was a dull read.


The Elusive Flame (Birmingham, Bk 4)
The Elusive Flame (Birmingham, Bk 4)
Author: Kathleen E. Woodiwiss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 1/13/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book was not as good as the first. The characters seemed bland, as if they were card board cut-outs. The plot was the usual; there was nothing unique about it. I didn't feel any passion or chemistry between the characters and, for me, that is a key point of a romance novel.

That being said, Woodiwiss' writing is still very enjoyable. Her skill with words makes up for the lack of everything else.


1 to 20 of 56 - Page: