Reviews - Kathleen A.

1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
Animal Dreams
Animal Dreams
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 472
Review Date: 6/20/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved Poisonwood Bible and Prodigal Summer but this book really did not do much for me. I didn't really get into the characters or the story at all."


Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Author: Kris Radish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 292
Review Date: 6/20/2007
7 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really enjoyed this book. One of the best I've read in a while. A times a bit too sappy but it was very heartfelt, well written and thought provoking."


Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Author: Laurie Notaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 289
Review Date: 6/20/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Very amusing. I read it one night and laughed out loud through most of it."


Beautiful Lies (Ridley Jones, Bk 1)
Beautiful Lies (Ridley Jones, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Unger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 6/20/2007


"I loved this book. The narrative made me feel like I was right there. It kept my attention all the way through and was very well written."


Best of Temp Slave!
Best of Temp Slave!
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/16/2006


"This is an amusing book to read for anyone who has been a temp..or for that matter worked in a miserable dead end job."


Bitch Goddess
Bitch Goddess
Author: Robert Rodi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 6/20/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I didn't really like this book. I pushed on through and the ending was pretty amusing but overall it was too much work to get through to have the last 30 pages be good."


But Enough About Me: How the Girl Next Door Got Behind the Velvet Rope Using Shameless Flattery, Fake Laughter, and a Few Other Tricks
Review Date: 6/20/2007


"I enjoyed this book. It was very funny. The chapters would alternate between the authors life and childhood to her encounters with celebrities during her MTV VJ and Rolling Stone reporter days."


Conversations With The Fat Girl
Conversations With The Fat Girl
Author: Liza Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 6/20/2007
13 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a good book about a woman trying to hold onto her no longer fat childhood friend. It follows her prepartions for the wedding as a maid of honor in her newly ungrateful and shallow friends wedding but also major life changes for the main character as she stops living in the past frame of mind as a fat girl and discovers the woman that she has always been and all that she is capable of regardless of the scale. A good summer chick lit read!"


Crooked Little Heart
Crooked Little Heart
Author: Anne Lamott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 6/20/2007


"I really enjoyed this book. It had a lot more depth to it that I wasn't expecting."


Dedication
Dedication
Author: Emma McLaughlin, Nicola Kraus
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 7/23/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was pretty good for some light summer reading. If you grew up in the 80's it's was worth the read just for all the 80's references. Without them I probably wouldn't recommend it. It was nice to see an ending that wasn't the typical chick lit ending!"


The Devil in the Junior League
The Devil in the Junior League
Author: Linda Francis Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 6/20/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The book was cute typical chit lit but overall I liked it."


Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Ya Yas, Bk 2)
Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Ya Yas, Bk 2)
Author: Rebecca Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1475
Review Date: 5/16/2006


"I love this book. One of the few I re-read. The movie did not do it justice!!"


Eating Chinese Food Naked
Eating Chinese Food Naked
Author: Mei Ng
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/20/2007


"This was a good book that provoked strong feelings about the characters. Personally I hated the main character and her actions. It made me sad to see how she and her family chose to live their lives and deal with their interpersonal realtionships but I think that if a book can stir up such a reaction in the reader than it must be a good read although not a pleasurable one."


Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum, Bk 11)
Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum, Bk 11)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1198
Review Date: 6/20/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a good one! I as so disappointed with #10 I was ready to give up on the series but she has redeemed her self with this one."


Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life
Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life
Author: Amy Krouse Rosenthal
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 6/20/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I enjoyed this book. IT was a cute read of observations of her life and reaction to common things. It kept me amused."


Found : The Best Lost, Tossed, and Forgotten Items from Around the World
Review Date: 6/20/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I didn't really like this. I read b/c it was also bought by people who read Post Secret but it can't compare. Just basically looking at pictures of trash and half written notes with a couple of really intersting things but most of it was not worthy of making it into the book."


Gone With the Wind
Gone With the Wind
Author: Margaret Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 5/16/2006


"How could you not love this book?! One of my absolute favorites!"


Happiness Sold Separately
Happiness Sold Separately
Author: Libby Street
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 6/20/2007


"I enjoyed this book. It was typical chick lit but I found it to be better than most! The main character did force herself to do some pretty amusing things that kept me entertained."


Help Wanted, Desperately
Help Wanted, Desperately
Author: Ariel Horn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 6/20/2007


"I thought this was a cute chick lit.It was a pretty amusing reminder of what it's like to look for a job. The best part was the lessons learned section at the end of each chapter which would crack me up more than the actual writing."


He's Just Not That Into You: The No-Excuses Truth to Understanding Guys
Review Date: 6/20/2007
12 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really wanted to read this after seeing him on Oprah... a year later it was a let down pretty much chapter after chapter of the same thing. That was probably the point, sometimes guys aren't into you get over it and move on. There aren't 100 explanations or ways to analyze their behavior it just made for a redundant read. It is a great book to give to someone who just can't get it through their head that sometimes he's just not that into you!"


1 to 20 of 42 - Page: