Michelle I. (shellbaby) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 344
Review Date: 8/21/2008
Helpful Score: 1


have you ever fell asleep reading and couldn't wait to get up reading? This is definitely the book for you!! It was the most suspenseful book to say the least!! It is definitely a page turner!!


Anna Karenina
Anna Karenina
Author: Leo Tolstoy, David Magarshack (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/21/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This is a classic novel. It was a very hard read. It had footnotes of the interpretation into English. This is a great classic novel and very interesting, but be prepared to spend time reading this one


But Inside I'm Screaming
But Inside I'm Screaming
Author: Elizabeth Flock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 8/21/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed this book although it isn't one of my favorites. It was still a good read though.


The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
Author: James McBride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 550
Review Date: 8/23/2008
Helpful Score: 9


This is one of the few books I have kept for my personal library. It is a story about a man's Jewish mother. He is black and she is a white Jew. He frequently asks her in the book "What color am I?" To which she responds the color of water. This story shows the human nature of wanting to be loved and accepted.


The Concrete Blonde (Harry Bosch, Bk 3)
The Concrete Blonde (Harry Bosch, Bk 3)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 8/21/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This held my interest. One of the better books I have read.


Dark Clouds Over Alabama: A Story of Struggles and Triumph in the Old South
Review Date: 3/14/2015


This is an undiscovered jewel! I could not put this book down. The author does such a good job and puts a lot of history in this book.


Divorcing Dwayne (Francine Harper, Bk 1)
Divorcing Dwayne (Francine Harper, Bk 1)
Author: J. L. Miles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/12/2009


I could just picture the characters in my mind. It would make a great comedy movie!!Francine, God love her acts before she thinks and she gets herself in a heap of trouble and she keeps on digging as the book goes on!!


The Good Earth
The Good Earth
Author: Pearl S. Buck
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 8/21/2008


I read this book as a required reading in 9th grade in high school English and it still stands out in my mind after ALL THOSE YEARS!! Highly recommend this one!!!


Honk And Holler Opening Soon
Honk And Holler Opening Soon
Author: Billie Letts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 8/21/2008


This was an interesting fun to read book


Hot & Bothered (The Marine, Bk 3)
Hot & Bothered (The Marine, Bk 3)
Author: Susan Andersen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 412
Review Date: 8/21/2008


This was a fun light hearted easy to read book.


I've Got a Home in Glory Land: A Lost Tale of the Underground Railroad
Review Date: 9/2/2009


I was a little disappointed in this book. It contains a lot of historical information to fill in the gaps of the story, but diverts attention away from the main characters. It was interesting but more like reading a history book than a story.


Jewel
Jewel
Author: Brett Lott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/21/2008


This book pulled at my heart strings and would not let go!! Bret Lott made the characters seem so real. It is a story you will not forget!!


The Kommandant's Mistress: A Novel
The Kommandant's Mistress: A Novel
Author: Sherri Szeman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/5/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a very good read. It details how a Jewish woman survived the concentration camp by having an affair with the Kommandant. It was a very believeable fiction story, however it jumped back and forth from the past to the present and it sometimes was a little confusing. That is why I gave it 3 1/2 stars.


The Last Juror
The Last Juror
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 802
Review Date: 8/21/2008


This is a good read!! It kept my interest!!


Love the One You're With
Love the One You're With
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 500
Review Date: 10/19/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Ellen has the prefect life or does she? This book is about what could have been. I enjoyed this book although I didn't enjoy it as much as Emily Giffen's other books.


Mortal Fear (Mississippi, Bk 1)
Mortal Fear (Mississippi, Bk 1)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 8/21/2008


This was a good read, although it was not one of my favorites by this author.


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4017
Review Date: 8/21/2008


This book has a way that you see all sides to the story from each person's point of view. It has a surprise ending!!


Nights in Rodanthe
Nights in Rodanthe
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 766
Review Date: 8/21/2008


I enjoyed this book. It had a good story line


The Quiet Game (Penn Cage, Bk 1)
The Quiet Game (Penn Cage, Bk 1)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 8/21/2008


Another great read by Greg Iles!!


Rhett Butler's People (LARGE PRINT EDITION)
Rhett Butler's People (LARGE PRINT EDITION)
Author: Donald McCaig
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/21/2008


I enjoyed this version of the sequel to Gone with the Wind more than I did Scarlett. Donald McCaig did a very good job at presenting Rhett Butler's side to Gone with the Wind. The story line goes right along with Gone with the Wind. It has some interesting tidbits of history in this book as well.


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: