Reviews - mjsocd

1 to 9 of 9
Bad Blood (Virgil Flowers, Bk 4)
Bad Blood (Virgil Flowers, Bk 4)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 2/6/2011


"Good story with lots of momentum as is typical of John Sandford. Love the Virgil Flowers character. Warning that it is disturbing with content dealing with child abuse."


Before You Know Kindness
Before You Know Kindness
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 260
Review Date: 4/16/2011


"This story was well written, but I sort of had to force myself to get through the middle of the book. Interesting subject and tension in the story, but it felt a little drawn out and slow moving."


Bespelling Jane: Almost Persuaded / Northanger Castle / Blood and Prejudice / Little to Hex Her
Review Date: 11/19/2011


"Didn't finish - which isn't surprising since I don't like anthologies and I don't like paranormal. It was fluffy and corny."


City of Shadows: A Novel of Suspense
City of Shadows: A Novel of Suspense
Author: Ariana Franklin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 10/12/2011
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Enjoyed it! Great characters, well written, interesting historical detail and unexpected twist at the end."


Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter
Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter
Author: Tom Franklin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 1/30/2011
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I understand why this book has received high praise - it is well written and deals with "heavy" issues. It's a fairly quick read and kept my interest. It is one of those books you appreciate having read, but it is not a cheery story and I can't picture wanting to re-read."


The Dead Travel Fast
The Dead Travel Fast
Author: Deanna Raybourn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 1/30/2011


"Enjoyed this Raybourn gothic story. The mystery wasn't obvious and kept me guessing and Deanna Raybourn writes more interesting characters and better dialogue than your average romance novel."


The Sealed Letter
The Sealed Letter
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/13/2011


"Well written. Good character development. Didn't particularily fall in love with any of the characters, but it was an interesting historical novel. I didn't have any trouble finishing it, but it's not a "keeper" for my shelves."


The Serpent Garden
The Serpent Garden
Author: Judith Merkle Riley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/20/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Couldn't finish it - couldn't handle the supernatural giggling angels disappearing into walls, etc. Also didn't connect with the characters. It wasn't badly written, just not my style."


State of Wonder
State of Wonder
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 8/6/2011
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Beautifully written. The story starts out a bit slow, but then leaves you with lots to think about and discuss. It's a good book club selection..."


1 to 9 of 9