John M. (johnmc) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 6/17/2010
Helpful Score: 4


This novel was pretty lame. I had put this on my wish list before I read the last one so when it arrived, I read it despite my notion that this series is spent. Even the other reviews on this web site mention the way it "slows down" and is "repetitive" yet they still give it good reviews. If I wanted to read a slow, repetitive book I would at least expect skillful prose or insightful commentary. The 61 hours of the title is an amateurish writing trick to try to instill some excitement for the reader. It is like Lee child watched Jack Bauer but didn't get the idea. Would I read the next one? Maybe. I sure would not buy it. I do not even think I would use a PBS credit for it. Sounds harsh, but that is my unvarnished opinion.


The Color of Magic (Discworld, Bk 1)
The Color of Magic (Discworld, Bk 1)
Author: Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 425
Review Date: 6/25/2008


pretty funny stuff, reminds me of hitchhiker's guide fused with the cowardly hero from the Flashman (G.M.F) series or maybe a Tom Robbins book.


Coyote Wind and Specimen Song (Gabriel Du Pre, Bk 1, Bk 2)
Coyote Wind and Specimen Song (Gabriel Du Pre, Bk 1, Bk 2)
Author: Peter Bowen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/25/2007


quick fun reading


Edge of Danger (Sean Dillon, Bk 9)
Edge of Danger (Sean Dillon, Bk 9)
Author: Jack Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 10/7/2009


Just an awful novel, the plot makes no sense. The book moves from one action scene to another without any thought behind what is driving the action. Characters are not developed beyond the fact that Dillon likes Bushmills whiskey, alot. Even the action scenes are lame. The whole book feels like it was written using index cards that were then stitched together quickly.


Fierce Invalids Home from Hot Climates
Fierce Invalids Home from Hot Climates
Author: Tom Robbins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 6/25/2008


Second tier Tom Robbins


Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
Author: Barbara Ehrenreich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1090
Review Date: 3/25/2007


excellent


River God (Ancient Egyptian, Bk 1)
River God (Ancient Egyptian, Bk 1)
Author: Wilbur Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 4/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


The first person protagonist was a little hard to get into, but after that I loved the book. It was a good mixture of history and storytelling, I probably would have preferred a little more emphasis on the history ala Patrick O'Brian's novels. I will definitely read more of Wilbur Smith


The Visitor (Jack Reacher, Bk 4) (aka Running Blind)
The Visitor (Jack Reacher, Bk 4) (aka Running Blind)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 6/15/2008


Pretty good thriller. Wordy. I figured it out about 1/4 through and after that it got pretty dull. I am usually not too great about figuring these things out, so then I had to wonder why Reacher can't solve it. The other thing that was implausible was the leverage used by the FBI to get Reacher to help. Maybe slightly more plausible if you consider the FBI/Whitey Bulger fiasco.


Way of the Peaceful Warrior: A Book That Changes Lives
Way of the Peaceful Warrior: A Book That Changes Lives
Author: Dan Millman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 3/23/2009


I was disappointed. It seemed that the narrative was simply a clumsy means to string together a bunch of literary tropes. While it was nice to be reminded of these old stories, parables etc, it didn't make for an very entertaining novel OR a good old self helper. Sort of like Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, which was kind of boring plus you still had to buy Chilton's anyway.


The Woods
The Woods
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 429
Review Date: 9/9/2009


Very good book, could barely put down.


1 to 10 of 10