Bonita M. (lovescoffee) - Reviews

41 to 51 of 51 - Page:
Slow Man
Slow Man
Author: J. M. Coetzee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 4/7/2009


The characters in this novel are anything but typical. An amputee, an intrusive (putting it mildly)elderly woman, a blind stranger (really strange), and a family of immigrants who are either poor or shrewd... hard to tell. The writing style is different from any I've ever encountered. It was an interesting novel that kept my continuous attention.


Sula
Sula
Author: Toni Morrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 4/13/2012


messed up!


Sula
Sula
Author: Toni Morrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 221
Review Date: 4/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Creepy, sick and twisted.


The Things They Carried
The Things They Carried
Author: Tim O'Brien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 477
Review Date: 4/16/2009


A book of short stories which combine to create a panoramic view of a hell many of us couldn't imagine. It gave me greater insight into the experiences of Vietnam vets and their aftermath. Left me wondering how anyone could cope with these memories. If these particular stories aren't all true for this author, they were true for someone.


The Third Eye
The Third Eye
Author: T. Lobsang Rampa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I can count the books I've read more than once (in adulthood) on one hand, and this is one of them. I learn something every time I read it. Outstanding and mind-blowing!


Time of the Singing of Birds (Grace Livingston Hill Series, No 23)
Review Date: 4/1/2009
Helpful Score: 2


so bad I threw it away


To Kill a Mockingbird : The 40th Anniversary Edition of the Pulitzer Prize-Winning Novel
Review Date: 4/4/2009


Riveting. One of the best novels I've ever read.


Treasury of American Horror Stories
Review Date: 4/13/2012


I'm glad I didn't judge this book by the story set in my home state! I hated it! I loved about forty of them, liked a few, didn't like a couple, but the one from my home state was awful! So, if you turn first to your own state, don't judge the whole book if you hate that one.


Typical
Typical
Author: Padgett Powell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/4/2009


Couldn't find this book by itself, but found it in "The Pushcart Book of Short Stories," ISBN# 1888889233. I got it at the library. The description above has nothing to do with this book! It's a funny, though bigoted rambling from a narrator who is probably drunk. This guy isn't prejudiced, he doesn't like anyone, not even himself. And yet.. funny!


Vanishing Point
Vanishing Point
Author: David Markson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/7/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I didn't care for it. I'm not into trivia, and these disjointed note cards seem like random facts. Kinda like reading a book of lists, or maybe something like the Guiness Book of World Records. I lost interest before it all tied together.


Wittgenstein's Nephew : A Friendship (Phoenix Fiction Series)
Wittgenstein's Nephew : A Friendship (Phoenix Fiction Series)
Author: Thomas Bernhard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/16/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Hated the whining of the main character. He bounced between "poor me" and "poor him."


41 to 51 of 51 - Page: