John L. - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
Against the Empire (Star Wars Last Of The Jedi, Bk 8)
Against the Empire (Star Wars Last Of The Jedi, Bk 8)
Author: Jude Watson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/25/2011


Great series of books. Love it.


Angels in Our Midst
Angels in Our Midst
Author: Editors of Guideposts Magazine
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/22/2011


Nice little book. Contains different sections with stories, verses, etc. about angels. Many of the stories are very interesting and inspiring.


Catwoman Defiant
Catwoman Defiant
Author: Peter Milligan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/22/2011


I had never heard of this, but picked it up at a craft mall in a box of comic books. Didn't even realize it was a graphic novel when I found it. Good story, especially if you are a Catwoman fan.


Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt
Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 174
Review Date: 9/22/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I was pleasantly surprised. Didn't really know what to expect, but I had always been curious. Captures your attention right from the start. Very imaginative look at what Jesus' early life may have been like. It is told from his perspective, so it also made me think in ways I never had before.


Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana
Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 9/22/2011


This book starts out slower than the 1st one, but it ends up being just as good. These books made me think in new ways about the life of Jesus, both inside and outside of the Bible.


The Colorado Kid
The Colorado Kid
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 308
Review Date: 11/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Very quick and interesting read. I was drawn to this book because of the TV show "Haven." If you are looking for a book that wraps everything up neatly at the end, this is not for you. Otherwise, I highly recommend.


Dark Warning (Star Wars Last of the Jedi Book No 2)
Dark Warning (Star Wars Last of the Jedi Book No 2)
Author: Jude Watson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 12/20/2011


Good follow up to the first book. So far, I'm enjoying this series very much. Nice, quick, easy reads.


The Desperate Mission (Star Wars Last of the Jedi, Bk 1)
The Desperate Mission (Star Wars Last of the Jedi, Bk 1)
Author: Jude Watson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 12/19/2011


Quick and easy read. Recommend for any Star Wars fan. It is nice to see Obi Wan in action after Revenge of the Sith.


Last of the Jedi: Death on Naboo (Star Wars: Last of the Jedi, Book 4)
Review Date: 12/21/2011


Series continues to be great. Highly recommend to any Star Wars fan.


Master of Deception (Star Wars: Last Of The Jedi, Bk 9)
Master of Deception (Star Wars: Last Of The Jedi, Bk 9)
Author: Jude Watson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/2/2012


Excellent continuation of the series.


The Prisoner of Cell 25 (Michael Vey, Bk 1)
The Prisoner of Cell 25 (Michael Vey, Bk 1)
Author: Paul Richard Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/1/2012


Very easy read, and very enjoyable. I could see this series becoming a big hit...not to Harry Potter or Twilight levels, but still big. Highly recommend.


Reckoning (Star Wars: Last of the Jedi, Bk 10)
Reckoning (Star Wars: Last of the Jedi, Bk 10)
Author: Jude Watson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/3/2012


Excellent end to the series. Highly recommend.


Return of the Dark Side (Star Wars: Last of the Jedi, Book 6)
Return of the Dark Side (Star Wars: Last of the Jedi, Book 6)
Author: Jude Watson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/23/2011


Series continues to be great, even though it is written for younger readers.


Secret Weapon (Star Wars: Last of the Jedi, Book 7)
Secret Weapon (Star Wars: Last of the Jedi, Book 7)
Author: Jude Watson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/23/2011


Series getting a little darker. Still very enjoyable.


The Shining
The Shining
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 11/27/2011


I am not a huge King fan (I've read a few things) but I've always been curious about this book. Excellent, but disturbing. Just glad I didn't have weird dreams...there were nights I was reading right before bed.


Star Wars Trilogy: Star Wars / The Empire Strikes Back / Return Of The Jedi
Review Date: 9/22/2011


A classic. Have a different edition now, so I wanted to offer this up.


A Tangled Web (Star Wars: Last of the Jedi, Book 5)
A Tangled Web (Star Wars: Last of the Jedi, Book 5)
Author: Jude Watson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/22/2011


Still impressed with this series, and I'm moving through it fast.


Underworld (Star Wars: The Last of the Jedi, Book 3)
Underworld (Star Wars: The Last of the Jedi, Book 3)
Author: Jude Watson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/21/2011


Excellent continuation of the series. Even though these are written for younger readers, they are very enjoyable to any Star Wars fan.


1 to 18 of 18