Reviews - Elizabeth (elsasdaughter)

1 to 20 of 116 - Page:
Arabian Mistress (Presents Passion) (Harlequin Presents, No. 2182)
Arabian Mistress (Presents Passion) (Harlequin Presents, No. 2182)
Author: Lynne Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 12/17/2008


"It was not bad."


Ascension (Guardians of Ascension, Bk 1)
Ascension (Guardians of Ascension, Bk 1)
Author: Caris Roane
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 5/4/2011


"This book was a breath of fresh air. I love the Brotherhood series from J.W. Ward, and I think they are a little similar but in a good way. Ascension is about a group of vampire warriors called Warriors of the Blood. They are an elite fighting unit of usually seven powerful warriors, each with phenomenal preternatural ability and capable of battling several death vampires at any one time. So you ask what are death vampires? Well they are any vampire male or female who partakes of dying blood automatically becomes a death vampire AKA the bad guys. This book is about Alison a woman who is an ascender and does not know how powerful she really is. She knows she's been different all her life and she has to answer the call of ascension. When she ascends she will become permanently a part of a dimension where she will fight of death vamps. So of course Kerrick has to be the hero and help her ascend. In J.W. Ward's book my only complain is the endless stories about Lash and the Omega. I browse through some of those sections, they are important for the book because they are the bad guys however IMO it's too much info. Here Greaves the main death vamp makes appearances but they are interesting and to the point. Also both writers have the whole smell thing going on when you find your brethren. This book is a great start to what I think will be a great series. It has potential to be right there along with the Brotherhood series."


At Grave's End (Night Huntress, Bk 3)
At Grave's End (Night Huntress, Bk 3)
Author: Jeaniene Frost
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 460
Review Date: 10/22/2010


"I could not get past the fourth chapter. This is my first time reading a Jeaniene Frost book but I thought it would not make a difference. Well it did, I was so lost. All I knew was that Bones is Cat's boyfriend and she's a half vampire. It does not give a brief synopsis of who they got together, why she left him and came back. Bone's and Cat seemed like the oddest couple. I did not feel a connection between them at all. To me all she cared about was killing and then all of a sudden Max comes in the picture who is her father. I stopped reading it when it got to her and Max fighting. It made no sense. Maybe I do need to read them in order. I recommend reading the first one to hopefully understand the story."


Atlantis Unleashed
Atlantis Unleashed
Author: Alyssa Day
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/5/2009


"This book was a good book. I liked the concept and it was different. Although I don't think this was the first book in the series. The only thing that I did not like is that the author did not make it an easy read for a first time reader if the books were to be read out of order. Things were happening that did not have any explanation. I'll read the first one, but this was a good book from a New to me author, and it won't be my last. I also liked that the sex scene did not happen until way over half the book and the alpha male was not to overbearing and the heroine was not whiny and clingy, she was smart. Nice for a change."


Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 3)
Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 3)
Author: Alyssa Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 7/9/2009


"This book was a good book. I liked the concept and it was different. Although I don't think this was the first book in the series. The only thing that I did not like is that the author did not make it an easy read for a first time reader if the books were to be read out of order. Things were happening that did not have any explanation. I'll read the first one, but this was a good book from a New to me author, and it won't be my last. I also liked that the sex scene did not happen until way over half the book and the alpha male was not to overbearing and the heroine was not whiny and clingy, she was smart. Nice for a change."


Atlantis Unmasked (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 4)
Atlantis Unmasked (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 4)
Author: Alyssa Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 1/19/2011


"I just could not get into this one. I liked the previous Unleashed but this one was hard for me to read. The concept seem the same and it was boring to a point where I skimmed through it."


Bad Moon Rising (Dark-Hunter, Bk 14)
Bad Moon Rising (Dark-Hunter, Bk 14)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 283
Review Date: 10/23/2011


"I had not read a Dark Hunter book in a while. I think my last one was Acheron. I loved the premise but it was a bit confusing with all the different demons, animals, hunters and so forth but she does do a good job of explaining things. Fang was an uncomplicated character and Aimee was a good fit. Sometimes I think the characters in the Dark hunter books can get a little too complicated but Fang was easy to follow and had good intentions. I really liked this story and it makes me want to start reading her books more often. My favorite book is the first one Fantasy Lover and Acheron."


Be Mine Tonight (Brotherhood of Blood, Bk 1)
Be Mine Tonight (Brotherhood of Blood, Bk 1)
Author: Kathryn Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 9/1/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a really good book. I have never before read anything by Kathryn Smith and it will not be the last. This book was different from your typical love stories. It flowed really well and the characters were decent. Chapel just sounded dreamy and Pru was just his right fit."


Bite Me If You Can (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 6)
Bite Me If You Can (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 6)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 727
Review Date: 6/30/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was my first book from Lynsay Sands and I loved it. This was light and refreshing. I loved that Leigh was not a whiny character and that Lucien was a good character for her. They both made such a good couple. I also liked that this book really did not deviate from the main characters. Yes, there is someone trying to "steal" Leigh but the book was not consumed by that. The book was really about a girl who gets bitten by a vampire and has to learn to deal with it and is being taught how to by a grumpy, crusty thousands years old sexy vampire. Such a great read. Will read more of this author."


Broken
Broken
Author: Megan Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 10/8/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I was excited to get this after reading all the reviews. I have mixed feeling about it. Sadie is a very well put character however Joe just does not come off right to me. It's a sad tale with love,sex, and dissapointments. It was good to a point but also depressing at the same time."


Burning Skies (Guardians of Ascension, Bk 2)
Burning Skies (Guardians of Ascension, Bk 2)
Author: Caris Roane
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 5/4/2013


"I loved the first Angel book from Caris Roane. And I wanted to continue reading this series. She does not disappoint and in my opinion she brings new life to the vampire romance series. Havily and Marcus are strong characters. They both have romantic pasts and are trying to understand their feelings for each other. Havily does not think that he's such a noble man because he left the group and has to come to grips with her emotional and physical desire for him. I can't wait for the next one."


Captive Dreams: Bound by the Dream / Bound by the Dragon
Captive Dreams: Bound by the Dream / Bound by the Dragon
Author: Diane Whiteside, Angela Knight
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 5/27/2009


"This book was actually pretty good. I liked the first story better than the second one. Although they tie in together the first one IMHO was a better story. The characters are dreamy."


Chased by Moonlight (Moonlight, Bk 2)
Chased by Moonlight (Moonlight, Bk 2)
Author: Nancy Gideon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 5/12/2011
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is my first book from Nancy Gideon. I had not realized it was bk 2 in the moonlight series, but decided to give it a shot. In the beginning I thought it was a little slow, Cee cee and Max already knew each other and the courtship was not there. It got really good in the middle. I fell in love with Max because he really loves Cee Cee and he kept telling her he did. Cee Cee seemed aprehensive about being with him and committing. But they don't only have to worry about their feelings, someone is killing women and it's up to Cee Cee to find out if the man she loves is behind the murders. I do think this series needs to be read in order and I will read the first book to see how Max and Cee Cee met. Overall a very good book. I really did like the suspense and finding out who is the killer was a shock."


Club Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 3)
Club Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 3)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2658
Review Date: 9/12/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Well I have to say that these books are getting better and I'm glad they are. This is the best one so far. How much more beating up can Sookie take? Can't wait to read the next one and I want Sookie and Eric to end up so bad that hopefully it happens in the next book."


Colters' Woman (Colters' Legacy, Bk 1)
Colters' Woman (Colters' Legacy, Bk 1)
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 239
Review Date: 3/10/2010


"This book was pretty good. A fast and easy read."


The Conquest (Peregrine, Bk 2)
The Conquest (Peregrine, Bk 2)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 1/19/2011


"I've read this book three times and I have to say I don't get tired of it. In my opinion JD's earlier books are her best. Zared is such a wonderful and fresh heroine in the book, and when she finds love it just gets better."


The Courtesan's Daughter (Courtesan, Bk 1)
The Courtesan's Daughter (Courtesan, Bk 1)
Author: Claudia Dain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 3/25/2009


"I did not like this book. I could not get passed the third chapter. The book sounded like it should be of Sophia rather than it did of the daughter Caroline. Caroline sounded so dumb, like I said Sophia was a lot more interesting. Maybe the author should have started with a book about Sophia and how she became a coutesan, unless there is one and I did not read it first which I probably should have."


Covet (Fallen Angels, Bk 1)
Covet (Fallen Angels, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 524
Review Date: 5/7/2010


"I love the Black Daggerhood series. So I thought I'd give this J.R Ward one a try. I got to page 183 and just could not read it. Too many people, too much going on. Jim is not the main guy but is always there, apparently there might be 6 or 7 books left but Jim just did not do it for me as a hero or character or anything. Vin was Ok and Marie was Ok too, not a keeper."


The Cursed (Vampire Huntress, Bk 9)
The Cursed (Vampire Huntress, Bk 9)
Author: L. A. Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/11/2011


"I could not get into this book. I did not understand what was going on. This was my first book from L.A. Banks but I did not think I had to read them in order to understand the plot. Apparently you do have to read them in order. She does not give any leads as to why these people came to be. Most books that have a series at least explain the premise and most do not have to be read in order. I'm dissapointed in this author and don't think I will be reading any of her books anytime soon unless I find the first one to this series."


Dance of the Crystal (Dance, Bk 3)
Dance of the Crystal (Dance, Bk 3)
Author: Cris Anson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 9/16/2011


"It wasen't too bad but it did have an actual story line. Sorensen is a man tortured about his past with women and Crystal is a naive woman who falls in love with Sorensen. Throw in a psycho stalker and you have yourself an ok read."


1 to 20 of 116 - Page: